We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of fraud at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beware of fraud at this hotel!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I just recently stayed at this hotel. Overall service at this hotel was quite good. But two subsequent incidences of identity theft makes us highly suspicous of employees/affiliates at this hotel.

1. Three days after we paid our hotel bill with our Visa card we noticed two separate fraudulent charges to a Rail-line and Airline on the same card. We know the identity theft occured at the Heritage because we did not use the credit card at any other location on our trip and we never lost the actual cards.

2. The only time I checked my email in Europe was at the hotel business center computer. I was careful to sign out of the account when I was done. Two days later my email account was hijacked and a spam email requesting money was sent to all my contacts from my email account. Thankfully gmail shut down my account the very next day due to suspicons of fraud.

We did not have any problems at the Heritage during our visit. But these two incidences have created quite a hassle for us. I would not have written this review if I was not ABSOLUTELY sure that the identity theft occured at this hotel.

Please becareful at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gmnzsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,
It is with great concern that we read your review.
Both situations possibly has nothing to do with us. The duplication of your credit card as well the Gmail hijack could have been done a long time before your stay.
We ask you that you please report this event to the police ASAP in order to proceed with an investigation and come to a conclusion, for which we are totally available as it is also in our best interest.
We will take full responsibility according to the investigation.
We appreciate that you contact us urgently in order to help us clarify this situation.
Diogo Laranjo – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    270
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
168
983
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guildford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for three nights last weekend and it surely has to be one of the best hotels in Lisbon. Firstly the staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful and the location is so central. Gorgeous varieties of tea at the tea bar and port available all day should you wish! The room and bathroom were lovely, a gorgeous bath to laze in after a busy day sightseeing and it was very quiet. Breakfast was delicous with great variety, the custard tarts are amazing!! Lisbon is a lovely city and if you get the chance to visit Sintra for a day do go, it is beautiful! Would certainly recommend this hotel and Lisbon itself, the portuguese people are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busylizzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April before boarding our Windstar Cruise the next day and we quickly wished we'd had more time at this beautiful hotel - and in the charming city of Lisbon. Upon arrival the staff quickly checked us in and informed us that there was "good news" and we were upgraded to a large room facing the avenue with 2 balconies and a good sized bathroom with double sinks. (Very spacious by European standards!) We had wonderful views of the avenue from the balconies, and since they close completely with wooden doors when you're ready to sleep, we didn't find street noise to be a problem. The room itself was spacious with wood floors, a queen sized bed, a loveseat and a nice closet area with a safe and mini-bar. And clean - the entire hotel was meticulously clean.

We were traveling with another couple and we all enjoyed the common area for wine in the evening and breakfast and coffee the next morning. The orange juice at breakfast was the best I've ever tasted! The variety of breakfast food was very nice, with both European and American standards: fresh pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, assorted meats and cheeses, etc.

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful with recommendations. Since we just had one night, we wanted to make the most of our short time, and the hotel sent us to a wonderful restaurant called Faio, where we had amazing local seafood and were entertained by Portugeuse Fado musicians.

The hotel is perfectly located and within walking distance of the central area, as well as the afore-mentioned restaurant. I highly recommend the Heritage and if we find ourselves in Lisbon again (and I hope that we do!), we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the avenue for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we enjoyed our 8 days in this nice hotel. the staff was great! always friendly, recommending us great restaurants, were interested and always smiling. breakfast was in the lobby, needs getting used to it... but very near the centre. clean and nice rooms. unfortunately the church was near our room, and even as a catholic I am not used to it anymore. I do not live near a church. therefore it was quite strange at the beginning for me ;)
My next trip to this great city, will certainly be in this hotel! I can recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexico1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Well located, nice rooms, friendly staff (by Portuguese standards!). But the combined reception/breakfast/lounge area lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAWELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing