We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Small Rooms”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #217 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Clean but Small Rooms”
Reviewed 18 December 2006

A nice hotel with helpful staff. Rooms were obviously recently renovated, but were quite small. The hotel was spotlessly clean.
Nice Chinese restaurant around the corner (turn right out of the hotel door, then right again, and it's on your left).

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    36
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
22
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

I was in Lisbon for a confernce and this was one of the conference hotels. tt is clean, quiet, and the staff are very helpful. I paid 44 Euros a night, and wuold gladly stay here again. Location is great and there's a cafe with wifi about 10 metres away. Cabs are cheap so it's easy to get to the Alfama and the Bairro Alto. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — No internet access, although it was available in cafe next door.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank drmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We staid 8 nights.
They debited the whole amount of our stay on my credit card one day before we arrived at hotel. (unauthorized as I didn't sign any receipt)
They didn't inform us about this and we paid the total stay before we left.
So we paid twice but they refused to refund us once we found that the same bill was charged a second time.
They are still holding my money. They don't reply to our mail.
Then this is illegal!!
They could only charge one night in advance and not the whole amount.

  • Liked — It is near the city center but not so close to transport means
  • Disliked — they are not able to manage the whole hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — DO NOT RESERVE WITH CREDIT CARD NUMBER AND POSSIBLY PAY CASH
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bolleblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2006

We stayed at the Residencial Italia for three nights in June 2006. I agree with the previous reviewer about the convenience of the location. The neighborhood was pleasant and quiet, and there are several non touristy restaurants nearby. Also, it is surprisingly near to the airport - we got there in a 10 minute cab ride in the early morning.
The rooms are fine - simple and clean, with air conditioning. We had breakfast each day on an outdoor patio.
The front desk staff were all young, friendly, and helpful with directions and other information.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vancouver reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Lovely budget hotel just a little outside the centre of Lisbon. Within 5 mins walking distance to the Gulbenkian Museum, and to a Metro Station (which is located underneath the huge El Corte Ingles dept store) from where its only a short ride to the city centre. The hotel looks very new, my room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is simple but adequate. Polite and friendly service. All for only 50 Euro a night! Great bargain for the budget traveller. Highly recommended for budget conscious travellers to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nexus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 km away
Residencia Capital
Residencia Capital
#224 of 251 in Lisbon
52 reviews
0.6 km away
Residencial Canada
Residencial Canada
#201 of 251 in Lisbon
39 reviews
1.1 km away
Dinya Lisbon Hotel
Dinya Lisbon Hotel
#200 of 251 in Lisbon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#207 of 251 in Lisbon
123 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Nazareth
Hotel Nazareth
#208 of 251 in Lisbon
132 reviews
1.5 km away
Residencial Dublin
Residencial Dublin
#226 of 251 in Lisbon
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Avenida Visconde de Valmor 67, Lisbon 1050-239, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Hotel in Lisbon! Lisbon is a modern city, full of vocations, steeped in history, heritage, traditions and hospitality of its people. Offering a bit of all - from the green hills of Monsanto to the gastronomy and the amusement of its nights. The Hotel enjoys a privileged location, right in the center of Lisbon, close to the Gulbenkian Museum, El Corte Ingles, Campo Pequeno and 15 minutes away from the International Airport We offer a wide range of services and facilities in order to meet your expectations. We hope to be helpful in your journey. Do not hesitate to contact us. We will wait for you! Hotel Italia, Your Lisbon Hotel. Lisbon will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencial Italia
Residencial Italia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing