We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loft in the sky!”
Review of Happy@Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy@Chiado
Ranked #115 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at this quaint cozy loft in April for a couple nights. It's a good hike to this 5th floor walk up...no elevator...but what awaits you is certainly worth it for the very affordable rate (€25) and super accommodating, kind, cool, and hospitable hostess, Patricia. She is awesome! My room was adorable...nicely decorated....spacious....and comforting. Beds were very average...but again...rates very cheap and I wasn't in Lisbon to sleep too much. There is a great kitchen available to use for all guests if you desire to do so....I prefer to 'eat out' while traveling and indulge in a city/country's cuisine! Room also had a little balcony...view was somewhat limited but it was a cool bonus nonetheless to leave the doors open at night and feel a connection to the outside while sleeping. The balcony really added to my room! (Not certain if all rooms have balconies though) Bathrooms are shared...and very simple...so don't expect much there. But again...I was not in Lisbon to bathe in some luxurious 5 star bathroom. That is what my home is for... The bathroom certainly suffices for a bathrooms intentions! Two major things to point out.... 1st) There is no lighting in the stairway/hallway...so you need to use some sort of lighting to SEE at night. Download a flashlight app to your phone and you'll be fine. 2nd) Signage outside....there isn't any?! Know the address (#) and directions...and just ring the buzzer on the panel...they will answer and your anxieties will subside...lol! If not....go grab an expresso and pastel de nata from anyone of the pastry shops on Loreto up the street to the left of the hotels exit. Happy @ Chiado, which I definitely was, sits between the Bairro Alto and Chiado areas of Lisbon....it is a very short walk from the Baixa-Chiado metro stop on Loreto off of Praca de Camoes square (there are 2 churches off the square for reference). The metro from Lisbon airport takes you there. It is extremely simple to navigate. Enjoy your stay at this little delight in the sky....I did!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony....off of street (rear of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timola26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

The way Chiado is organized I imagined an authentic Portuguese accommodation: old building attic with a small balcony and striking city view, complicated indoors, antique furniture. Bathroom units equipped and clean, the kitchen is fully stuffed with everything one may need. Liked, liked, liked! Best regards to the staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninkhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at Happy@Chiado in January for a few nights on a Lisbon break.

The guesthouse was great. The rooms were massive and amazing value for money, the bathrooms are shared, but during my stay i didn't even see another guest so felt like it was a private bathroom for me.

Location wise, i dont think you could get any better, it was smack bang in the middle of Barrio Alto, granted there was a large hike up about 4 flights of stairs, i really didnt think this was an issue at all, in fact maybe a positive as being higher up you cant hear all the crazy noise from the streets below.

The only slight negative maybe was the thin walls between my room and the next one. you could pretty much hear everything in the next room as if it was in your own room.

Overall though i would for sure recommend this guesthouse to anyone on a budget, it was clean and in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I must admit, I am torn in my review. I think my conclusion is that it depends on what you want in your stay in Lisbon. I stayed in a front room with a single twin bed. Here are my thoughts:

On the one hand, the staff was very nice, the room and bathrooms were clean, it is really close to the subway (Barrio Alto) to get to and from the airport, the location is great, and 25 euros is cheap.

However, on the other hand, the front room was noisy, noisy, noisy, Barrio Alto is crowded and dirty, the stairs after a week of traveling are killers, the single bed is really small (I am 130 lbs and 5'7" and thought I would fall out) and you can hear your neighbors talk, open their closets, and sneeze.

As for the outside noise, they told me that it calms down at about 2am (wasn't thrilled to hear that) but the truth was that it may have calmed down at 2am but then what was left were the drunks screaming in the streets! As for the noise inside, glad no one snored and I had to leave at 6am for my plane. However, sleep was not what I got there.

I stayed in Rossio when I first arrived in Portugal and when I came back, I stayed in Barrio Alto. I think I am probably better off near Rossio. It is calmer and quieter, which is more my style at age 40, and is closer to more of the attractions that I wanted to see versus the night life and chaos.

So, it depends what you want while in Lisbon. It is a great price for a clean space and you are right in the middle of the action. Staying in the back rooms might be quieter, I don't know.

PS. If you stay, the light switches for the stairs are on each landing. Don't forget to turn them on or you are in the dark. They are also timed. Also, you are carrying your luggage. No one there to help you out on the four story climb.

Room Tip: I would ask for a back room and a double bed, even if I were a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Amazing place for only EUR20 a night. I stayed in the huge African theme room, which had a separate lounge, tv and balcony (room 9). Friendly and helpful staff. Kitchen to make food and or coffee/tea. Great location! I'd definitely stay here again and recommended the place to all my friends. In Porto I paid EUR23 for a room per night that didn't even had a window facing outdoors, the window opened onto the staircase, so no privacy.

The shower was blocked, so need maintenance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanineZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,057 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,619 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy@Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy@Chiado

Address: Rua do Loreto N0 13 | 4º e 5º Andar, Lisbon 1200-241, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: €40 - €534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE LIFT.Near of restaurants, pubs, metro (5mts green line and blue line- baixa.chiado) train (cais do sodre) 10 minuts trains (rossio). we have rooms with private bathroom and rooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Happy@Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing