We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
40
129
230
135
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
129
230
135
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rato metro station city centre european cities minute walk from the hotel couple of nights walking distance quiet street choose this hotel mini bar breakfast was included ham receptionist checkin portugal castle
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

So we’ve spent 2 nights at this hotel before we go onto Obidos for a week in a villa so we just wanted somewhere reasonably priced and with a swimming pool for the kids.

The hotel entrance and reception area bar and restaurant are all quite pleasant.

The rooms were like stepping back into the 1980’s and I can honestly say that I don’t think they have been redecorated since then either. However they are clean and a great size for a family of 4.

The pool is also on the shabby side but it served a purpose for cooling off after strolling around Lisbon in the hot sun.

The breakfast was pleasantly surprising with lots of choice and great fresh croissants and rolls.

Definitely worth the money we paid for 2 nights but don’t expect too much. I would say the only reason the hotel is a 3 star is because it has a pool. It is definitely more of a 2 Star.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank JoeyHump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

The hotel Amazonia is a very comfortable hotel with a spacious reception area. The staff were very friendly and gave us information about local places to eat and visit etc. We stayed on the 7th floor and our room was good with comfortable beds and the usual amenities. As in many hotels in European cities they do not provide you with an iron, rather advising you to use their services which are not cheap. I recall 2.30 euros to iron a shirt. Best sneak in a travel iron. Breakfast was good and standard but limited if you do not eat pork derivatives. There is also a small bar. The hotel is walking distance to the Fogo De chao which is a lovely eat as much as you can Brazilian meat restaurant. The food was delicious and seasoned well as was the service, and like many restaurants in Lisbon the red wine was top draw. There is a garden area literally 2 minute walk from the hotel which provides a lovely space to relax. There is a cafe in the garden that sells coffee and beer and traditional pastries and small chicken pies which were very nice. Rato underground station is also 5 minutes walk from the hotel as is Sabores de Rato which is a traditional Portugese restaurant with good food and friendly staff. Lisbon is a lovely city with a particular type of lighting that has a calming effect. The locals are very friendly and accepting. It is also very hilly and reminiscent of the series the Streets of San Francisco. Hence after a good walk you would have fulfilled your exercise regime for the day. Overall the Hotel Amazonia is a decent no thrills hotel which is a short bus ride away from the beach, the Castle and Time out market which is an amazing place to visit any time of day.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank conrad528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Really nice hotel and staff that speaks English and French so it was great for my wife and I. We enjoyed the pool a lot and especially the drinks the amazing Renato made for us and we could take to the pool. He's the friendliest bartender I've met! And he knows his stuff, tasty drinks! He introduced us to many classic Portuguese drinks and all the while informed us of the sites to see in Lisbon and the area. Breakfast was decent and very clean.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank NicholasK1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Had a lovely time at this hotel, great location in a quiet neighbourhood with a metro stop a few minutes’ walk away. The breakfast was very nice with a wide selection at the buffet. The rooms were clean and spacious with a balcony providing great views over the City. We made use of the great community park close to the hotel on the way to the Metro station which gave our son the chance to play with the local children while we took advantage of the coffee shop which sold a great selection of food and drink. We would definitely go back to Lisbon and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

The rooms smell absolutely terrible, the rooms are filthy and there isn’t a lot of food choices for breakfast... the only good thing about it is that it’s close to restaurants and shops. The bathrooms are not very well cleaned too...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank jxck_wxrthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews