We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #46 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

All in all this was a good stay. It is pretty far away from the river and the busy centre (20 minutes on the clock, powerwalking) and the return trip from the center is uphil. However, the subway is very close and I found it to be very useful during my stay. It also very close to the terminal for two companies of hop on/off buses, so you can have a choice between them. The staff was kind, provided me with directions and answers even before checking in and, furthermore, I felt blessed that they managed to provide me with a room when I arrived, earlier than the normal check in time. I booked a standard single room but received a standard twin which overlooked the side street. The windows were great, barely any street noise at the fifth floor (but I always left them closed and the aircon on). The room was spacious, it had two armchairs, a desk, a minibar big enough to fit your own 1L water bottle and a 0.5L one next to it, an iphone dock (which, unfortunately, was fit for older iphones which don't use lightning ports). Both the room and the bathroom were clean and well maintained. The safe in the room was positively huge, I believe it can fit a normal laptop inside. (my netbook fit with plenty of room to spare)

The breakfast may be the only thing I had an issue with - an absolute lack of vegetables. The selection of cold cuts was pretty small and not too mach variety in warm dishes but you could chose enough to have a decent meal each morning. If you are the type that likes some fresh cucumbers, tomatoes or bell peppers with your breakfast, though, you have no luck. There is nothing at all. The juices available also felt rather... not sure how to put it but not too natural.
The pastries selection was fabulous. The serving personnel was very attentive not to let dishes run out.

I didn't spot too many places to eat around and I prefered taking the subway to Restauradores/Rossio/Baixa each night for dinner. I am sure, though, that you can find options closer if you look or ask the reception desk.

All in all, I would recommend this place if you don't mind being a bit out of the way of the busy centre.

Room Tip: The side street was very quiet, not sure if the Avenida ones are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Camelia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Great hotel and a great stay. We stayed here 3 nights. Close to center of Lisbon (within 15 min walk). Reception was fantastic, customer service top notch and breakfast was included. Rooms were very nice and comfortable, very clean.
It was my wife's birthday during our stay and they had left a bottle of champagne with some desert for us as well as a note wishing her happy birthday.
I loved this hotel, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The hotel is right on the Avenida de Libertade and our room overlooked a side street but had a decent view over the city. Noise from the street was an occasional problem but OK if you shut the window and used the air-con. Comfortable room with a good bathroom, mini-bar and satellite TV. There is a gym and spa (We didn't use them so cannot comment) and a restaurant/bar. The bar is OK, at the higher price end but was very quiet when we visited. It doesn't appear to be particularly well advertised and we decided to eat out in the livelier parts of the city. Breakfast is buffet style with a decent choice but gets busy around 9.15 and another room is opened. Staff unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robellcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. We stayed 3 nights before taking a train to Porto. The hotel itself is on the main shopping district, Liberdade. After having lived in Chicago, IL USA, it appeared similar to the Miracle Mile (Michigan Ave). It is also very close to the public train, which we used to get from the airport to hotel and again from hotel to main train station to connect with our train to Porto. It is a little far from the waterfront and Alfama if you are walking, but still only took us 20-30min to walk mostly anywhere. Cabs are fairly cheap and plentiful is walking uphill and distances isn't accessible.

The room itself was nicely appointed and quiet at night; we did not face Liberdade, though we were able to hear adjoining rooms and individuals in the hallways. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great pressure, never got cold. We had complimentary breakfast included with our stay and very much appreciated the choices each day, as well as the early hours of operation as we usually were up early to go touring.

I would stay here again if back in Lisbon!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Piggottk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This is my first visit to Lisbon, and I am pleased to have selected this hotel. After a quick and pleasant check in process, my room was expected and was big, and bright. The safe batteries were low, so I called the front desk for assistance. Within what seemed like minutes, the technician arrived and was already done installing and checking the functionality of the safe. Nice! This hotel is in a great location, clean, and has a very good breakfast selection.

Upon leaving, checkout process was smooth and they kept our bags as we ate breakfast. I would recommend this hotel. Great customer service and hospitality.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hamida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 255 in Lisbon
1,438 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
1,313 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
952 reviews
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 255 in Lisbon
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: €95 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing