We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa
Ranked #81 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for a city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We chose this hotel for a city break from Monday to Friday. All in all we have no regrets whatsoever about our choice. The place is ideally located just off the Avenida da Libertade (A da L), far enough out of town to avoid the noise but just a 10 minute walk from the action.

The reception staff all spoke English (as do many people in Portugal) and were very friendly and helpful. We arrived just before 11am but were able to leave our case there and have a coffee round the corner whilst a room was prepared. Similarly, we had an evening flight home but they again allowed us to leave our case there and even ordered a taxi for us to the airport. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom, and the breakfast buffet was varied and generous - a good thing if you plan walking some of Lisbon's hills.

The aerobus from the airport will cost you about 4 Euros and stops about 100 yards from the hotel on A da L - they run every 20 minutes or so, whilst a taxi will cost you about 10 Euros. Public transport is good and cheap with day passes available. The castle offers terrific views of the city whilst Belem and Sintra are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The hotel has a computer with internet available for guests but charges 35 cents per minute for wire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    376
    90
    9
    5
See reviews for
129
383
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
constanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is absolutely a great hotel.The location is just perfect , few walks away from all the major objectives.The rooms are modern , the bathroom is big .About the breakfast, they should have more vegetables, but all in all it was very good .
We stayed from 5 to 10 January 2011 and booked via Eximtur ( travel agency from Romania) , so we had a very good price -about 200 euros for 5 nights bb,/per double room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razvan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

When we arrived at the hotel the porter who met us was incredibly friendly & helpful & set a great impression of the hotel, check was efficient & the lobby area was very clean. The room was also very clean with a small bathroom and a fab shower, the room itself was small but as were only there to sleep it was fine for our needs. Breakfast in the morning was ok & there was plenty of choice, although I found the coffee had a very strange taste! The location of the hotel was fine, just off the main road & a little noisy with traffic, but good for sightseeing & generally getting about.

My overriding impression was of incredibly friendly & efficient staff who made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsMoravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

tub full of hair and a few bugs crawling on the bathroom floor.
nice breakfast and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gggggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We really liked the Lisboa Hotel. We found it well located for the main sights, and more importantly for restaurants and bars in the evening. A short walk down Avenida and then up the elevador to the barrio alto took only about 15 minutes. Everything in Lisbon is quite spread out, but the hotel is near the tube so easy access everywhere. If you've had a long day on your feet (and you will in this fab city) get off at Pombal and walk down rather than up Avenida.

The room was spacious, well appointed and we thought fantastic value. We booked through Thomas cook and had breakfast in out price. Good selection of food in the morning, it was quite a small breakfast area given the size of the hotel, but food always replenished and a decent selection of hot and cold options.

Spotlessly clean, helpful staff - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bumbletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 km away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#108 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Marques De Pombal Hotel
#41 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.1 km away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 km away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa

Property: Hotel Lisboa
Address: Rua Barata Salgueiro 5, Lisbon 1169-066, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#56 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing