We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Value, non-central location not really a problem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Ranked #127 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Value, non-central location not really a problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

As a Priority Club member I decided to stay here rather in the city centre, the price I got was certainly very attractive too.

You can get a taxi from the airport, don't forget to ask for the metered rate, then it is around €10. From the hotel it is a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro which takes you to the city centre, the metro is very easy to use and the daily ticket can be good value.

The hotel has a big reception area and check in was quite quick, as a PC Platinum I was upgraded to an Executive room on the 9th floor.
The room was spacious and comfortable (although I'm not a fan of the HI pillows) and had a proper double bed (unlike many European beds which are two twins mattresses). Unfortunately I was right by the elevator shaft which created a lot of noise, even late in the evening, and again in the morning. This is room 901, I suggest you avoid it if you are a light sleeper!

Due to the noise I planned to ask to change room the next day, after I returned from the city. However when I returned my key card didn't work and once I returned to reception I was informed there was some problem with the water on the 9th floor and I was upgraded to a suite on the 2nd floor. As I was already packed to move anyway this was no problem!
The suite was very spacious, although could have done with a larger TV considering the distance you could watch it from!
There was some traffic noise on the 2nd floor, but it was the weekend so not much of a problem. Later in the day we noticed a large coach party arriving, so the 'water problem' may have been an excuse to vacate some Exec rooms for people staying longer than one more night...

We ate breakfast the second day, €14 isn't a huge amount for a hotel breakfast but it wasn't very nice and I would suggest eating elsewhere. On the first day we got breakfast from a cafe in the centre and it was nicer and much much cheaper!

Room Tip: Avoid 901, but ask for high floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Mr. BritBronco,

Thank you for stay with us during you stay in Lisbon,

Thank you for the diferent comments posted. We can inform that in fact we had a water problem and we had some noise in that floor and also he had to clean part of that floor.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    531
    234
    43
    24
See reviews for
377
274
47
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Lovely rooftop pool in the middle of the bustling city.
Good food and excellent service. Very convenient for airport and city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathrynS477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Mrs. KathrynS477,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon for your stay in Lisbon.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback

Kind regards
Pedro Encarnação
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel is a short ride from the airport in a taxi, negotiate the fare first as we were ripped off by the first taxi driver, who charged 20 Euros, claiming it was on the meter, the return jorney cost 7 Euros, and we had a written receipt. It's possible to get to the hotel via public transport, an airport shuttle bus to the centre of Lisbon then a Metro ride to Almeida station, but the terrain is quite hilly in Lison generally and the walk from the station to the hotel (around 5 to 10 mins uphill from station) with suitcases could be a bit much for some people, the pavements are cobbled and not suitcase wheel friendly.
As we had an early flight we arrived in Lisbon mid morning and arrived at the hotel before their advertised earliest check in time, we planned to leave the bags in the hotel and go and get some dinner and a drink and return to check in later, but was happy to discover we were able to have our room when we arrived. Check in was quick and we were given a map and told where the local Metro station was and where the "main" part of town was, then we were presented with two room key cards.
The room was great, plenty of room, with two good sized beds and plenty of pillows, there was a sofa, and a table and two chairs. Numerous elecric sockets were located in the room, to recharge phone and camera batteries etc. Useful extras included a TV with wide selection of channels, many in English, with subtitles, a safe, electric alarm clock and a fridge, which housed the mini bar, as with most hotels this was overly expensive, and we didn't use it for that purpose, instead using it to store our breakfast, we bought bread, cold meat, cheese, cakes, yoghurt and orange juice from a local supermarket and kept it all in the fridge. We didn't have breakfast included in our price and it seemed expensive to have it at the hotel. There are numerous cafes etc within a few minutes walk of the hotel, so no reason to go hungry. Tea and coffee facilities were included in the room, but we were only given two sachets of coffee and two tea bags per day, one day we were honoured and given two small milk cartons, but our excitment was short lived when they weren't replaced for the rest of the stay.
The bathroom was spacious, with a bath with overhead shower, complete with panic alarm incase of a fall in the bath, the water pressure was ok and the water temperature was fine. The toilet and bidet were both clean as was the wash basin. A hair dryer is also located in the bathroom, next to a large mirror.
Two lifts serviced the hotel, located by reception but we never had to wait long for a lift. Theres an outside swimming pool at the top of the hotel, but we didn't bother going up as the weather was warmish but not sufficiently warm to go in the pool.
Transportation around the city was easy to reach from the hotel, with two Metro stations within easy walking distance (mainly downhill to the station, uphill on way back), and many local busses go past the hotel also, buy a one day travel card and you'll have access to all Metro trains, busses, trams and the elevator trams going upto some stunning views around the city via some extremely steep streets. There is also a small taxi rank opposite the hotel, handy for getting back to the airport.
No views on the food as we ate out every day, but the restaurant menu was posted in the lifts, and didn't appear to be too expensive, but with many great restaurants in Lisbon, you'll be spoilt for choice, whatever your budget.
If the price was right I would return here in the future, but ideally I'd prefer to be closer to a Metro station, but other than that small point, a good, clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gringo472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Mr. gringo472

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the magnificent description as you did.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were very happy with the room, bed and bathroom-but there seemed to be an issue with either early rising staff or guests throughout our stay. If you have legs and no disability -we did not find the location inconvenient as tourists. In fact we went to an evening concert at Gulbenkian which was easy and safe to walk back from. Staff were very accomdating lending us a sacarolhas...although all english was perfect in all staff, so we did not need to use any rudimentary Portuguese. Sorry to report room service meal was quite dry cooking and nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: One room we were shown had a huge corridor before entering the room proper- ask to change room if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Mrs. pickytwee

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon and for the comments you gave us.

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Room was clean and comfortable but not somewhere you would want to spend much time in. Staff were not friendly - I never saw anyone smile even once. Breakfast was average. Location OK, but not the best for tourists. My friend left her reading glasses in the hotel room by accident. She phoned twice asking them to look and check in her room and each time they insisted they weren't there. Luckily we were still in Lisbon (we'd moved to a more central hotel), so we actually went back to the hotel in person (wasting valuable holiday time). The perseverence paid off as it was clear that she wasn't going away until they checked properly this time and found them fallen by the side of the bed (where she had always said they must be - as the only place she had worn them was in the room). Pretty appalling service really - I expected better from this hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLisbon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lisbon, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Mr. jslux

We hope you'd a very nice trip back home.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lisbon.

we regret that you had to come to the Hotel to collect your friends' reading glasses. By a misunderstanding we didn't found the reading glasses at the time that you contact us.

We hope oh the next visit you may change you opinion

Waiting to receive you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#144 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
2.2 km away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#78 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#97 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
14.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lisbon

Property: Holiday Inn Lisbon
Address: Avenida Antonio Jose de Almeida 28A, Lisbon 1000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is situated in the heart of the citycenter between Av da República and Pr. de Londres by the Instituto Superior Técnico .With several underground stations around and 10 minutes away from the International airport, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the ideal place for your stay should you travel in business or leisure. The Hotel is famous by its spacious standard and executive rooms as well as its suites with direct access to high speed and wireless internet. Each of its 169 spacious rooms, including 17 Executive bedrooms, 13 Family rooms, 2 disabled rooms, 8 junior suites and 1 Presidential Suite, are equipped with cable TV, direct-dial telephone, desk, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, Pay Tv, hairdryer, gives you a good value for money. Business center in the lobby. Rooms with High speed internet on request. The modern meeting space is ideal for business meetings and social events and can accommodate up to 400 delegates Appreciate the Portuguese and Mediterranic gastronomy at our restaurant 'Vasco da Gama'. The 'Almirante' bar is the ideal place to relax after a busy dayTogether with a parking, fitness center and a gift shop, the Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel is the right choice for the right stay. Our rooftop terrace and outsidepool (from May to September) is the perfect place for sunbathing and to enjoy the beautiful view to all Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing