We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic. No atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #244 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is a a large but very basic hotel. Absolutely no atmospere, (except an unpleasant smell i corridors. The lifts vere horrible, having to wait for many minutes, all day long. The bar is nearly disgusting, the bbe\reakfast is just the minimum of what is needed. It was problematic to get the ratjer outdated airondiition to work, similarly the outdated TV in the rooms. The view (from my room) was towards a backyasrd full og outlets for fans and aircon. The staff did their best, however.
The advantage is a rather short way from the aiirport and the university.

Room Tip: The lift are horribly small and badly organized. Therefore a room in one of the lower floors may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Svein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017

When my daughter and I arrived, we were not even acknowledged by the person at front desk. When she finally acknowledged us, she was rude and surly. The lobby was depressing, I don't know if it was under construction but parts were taped with cardboard. When we got to the room, it was really smelly and depressing. One of the bedspreads looked like there was a semen stain. When we called housekeeping, they brought up a blanket but did not take the dirty bedspread. We intended to spend 3 nights but left after one, and had to pay a one-night fee, per the Booking.com agreement. It was worth it to not have to spend another night there. The only nice thing I can say is the front desk crew the following morning seemed much nicer than the horrid lady who greeted, or rather didn't greet, us. Also, the breakfast was quite decent. The overall condition of the hotel was shabby, worn, and not near anything. We had to take the bus or subway. When I asked the surly front desk lady if we needed a car for the metro, she said, "pay the driver." She obviously didn't listen to what I said since she was talking about buses. If you are desperate, stay here. Otherwise, find another place to stay even if it means paying a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judygr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
71
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very dated and dingy. The rooms smell a little fusty and the bed was made up as a twin room so we had to push them together to make a double.
The staff don't all speak good English so the ones who do seem harassed at having to do all the work while the others appear to look busy so that they don't have to deal with you if they know you're an English speaker. Unacceptable for a hotel in a tourist place in Europe.
Breakfast was adequate although not a huge choice and food doesn't appear to be topped up when it runs out so get there quick!
The rate was rather expensive for the quality of the room and breakfast.
We were told we would park on site no problem even though we mentioned having a 4x4 with roof box. Upon arrival we discovered it's on street parking and security is pot luck.
The plus side is that although the hotel is far from the centre, there is a hop on hop off bus stop up the street (40 euro for two 'day' tickets) or a metro station. Taxis to and from the centre are 8euro ish depending where you get on or off in the centre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I have been to lots of hotels, but I have never been conned as here! So, we paid via Booking, fully in advance except breakfast. First they claimed nothing was paid, but after 10 minutes (!) they found our payment. Then, breakfast: they tried to charge us for 7 days, not for 5 we were staying. And, worst of all, at check-out, they said we needed to pay extra 20EUR! Why?! Booking explicitly states no extra charge. We were late for the airport, receptionist had bad knowledge of English, so we paid just to forget about this hotel forever!!

Other stuff: very shabby rooms, even the door didn't fit into the frame. No water heater, ancient TV set, bathroom had seen better days, elevators are very slow, the design of the rooms and corridors is horrible. So 80's style. Breakfast was mediocre at least, for that money we could get lunch in some restaurants in the center of the city. Noisy room, some rooms are looking at the very busy street.
On the good side, even with extra charge, it was one of the cheapest hotels in Lisbon, so we survived, but it left us with a bad aftertaste. Furthermore, the bus station is close by, so the center is 15 minutes by bus.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I needed a last minute place yo sleep in center Lisbon and went for it without reading the reviews. Big mistake! It's old, dirty, my room had this old curtain that I was disgusted to touch, cleaning is really bad and the cleaning staff is intrusive.Bed was horrible and reception staff made go up and down when my card did not work to open the room. Really, for 60€ per night you can get much better in Lisbon. They give Portuguese hospitality a bad name.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 km away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
1.3 km away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#228 of 255 in Lisbon
377 reviews
1.5 km away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#198 of 255 in Lisbon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
0.4 km away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#188 of 255 in Lisbon
586 reviews
2.3 km away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#172 of 255 in Lisbon
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: €38 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing