We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very simple and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #246 of 256 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Location: far away from city center, but metro station is 5min walking and it works quite fine. Its a business district. Under Campo Pequeno there is big shopping area with supermarket.
Rooms: very outdated, like in the 1950s-60s, small odl TV (that really did not matter to us), dark room with terrible view - we asked to change it but receptionist said that neither one of 240 rooms is free! Any attempt of closing room door is very loud, which bothers a lot in the morning when people go to breakfast and you still want to sleep, any noise from the corridor is very easy to hear. Positive - it is very very clean, cleaning ladies are very nice and doing a great job! Bathroom has a big tub. Elevators are very small and slow, so if you are on upper floors you have to wait a lot, or exercise.
Breakfast: simple and boring - everyday the same, with low quality coffee, only scrambled eggs (no boiled), only fruit jogurt, nice bagels. There is not enough stuff, as you see them working, but we often had problem to find a table without other peoples leftovers.
Price of 100 eur for double room with breakfast was too much for location, design and food quality!

Room Tip: 1st floor room convenient as you do not have to wait very slowly elevator, but our had terrible view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank takilaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

I was booked into this hotel by my hosts. I suppose they were on a tight budget, though the prices given at the front desk are pretty steep. This is part of the VIP chain which owns several hotels in that part of Lisbon (a business district), and - having stayed in three of them - I can honestly say that this one brings the VIP chain into disrepute. The room contained the bare minimum - a very ancient TV with a handful of not very interesting channels, a couple of beds, a bathroom where the enamel was peeling off the bath. Even worse was the breakfast, which apparently costs €7:50 and consisted of uninteresting bread rolls, cheap jam, a couple of hot dishes badly prepared, tinned fruit salad and weak coffee barely worthy of the name. And worst of all was the attitude of some of the staff. For instance, I went to the front desk with an enquiry and the man there just carried on chatting to a housemaid and showed no interest in his clients. Oh, there's the lift too, actually two small ones, which take about 5 minutes to arrive and are then packed with people because they too have been waiting aeons for one to arrive.Don't be surprised that I moved out after a couple of nights. This characterless hotel recalls the 1950's. Three stars? That's a joke. VIP should close this place down.

Room Tip: If you want a good room go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

The first day we tried finding our way to room, it was all dark at first.. Not even a single light was there l.. The room smelt of dust.. Our key was deactivated twice within a week in spite of all the charges paid for. We got the corner most room dark and dingy.
Breakfast was the same thougout our stay.. Not a single thing changed

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank MOMODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The hotel is in a very good location just 200 metres from the metro station. The city centre is just 10 min by metro.It is located in a quiet street.A big market is close to the hotel, about 100m from it. The room is spacious and clean and the bathroom is cleaned daily as well as the room itself. The towels are changed every day. WI FI is very fast both in the room and the lobby. Breakfast is ok with a variety to choose from.The safe is free, but there is no fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dragoljub T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night as I was coming from Madeira to see Benfica match.
Had a good promotion through our travel agent.
Check in was at 1100, room was ready at 1400 as normal procedure, so we went for lunch and by 1400 rooms were ready.
Clean, good size and decent.
Staff very helpful and relaxed.
Calling taxis, wake up calls nothing missed.
For the price can't complain.
To return

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 km away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
1.5 km away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#199 of 256 in Lisbon
318 reviews
1.3 km away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#223 of 256 in Lisbon
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#190 of 256 in Lisbon
590 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
2.3 km away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#170 of 256 in Lisbon
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 256 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: €51 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing