We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensao Estacao Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensao Estacao Central
Ranked #174 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

+ Right in the center, near Rossio metro and train station, clean rooms, English speaking staff.

- Very small rooms, noise from corridors.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    86
    56
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
64
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and founded this hotel clean and cozy. I understood that is family run and very central just near 1º de Dezembro street in center Lisbon, just aside Rossio train station. I highly recommend this place as it did work fine for me. If you wish to be in center LIsbon just a 1 minute walk away from Rossio central square and Teatro D. Maria II this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Small hotel, good for a short trip to Lisbon. Depending on what kind of trip you are doing, this hotel can meet your expectations (of course is not a Kempinski or a Crowne, but it's good in it's range and price). The staff is friendly and helpful, they speak good english. At the reception you can buy very cheap drinks (1-2 euro). The hotel is located less than one block away from Rossio in Chiado district, close to many attractions and restaurants (the Aerobus from the airport drops you almost in front), it is in a second floor and the access is granted electronically from the reception only; there is only stairs so don't bring lots of luggage. I travelled alone in November 2011, and I had a small room with double bed, tv, fan, closet and a small bathroom with hot water. I just stayed one night, but as I was going to spend most of my time outside, I needed just a bed and a bathroom. The bed is not the most comfortable one but it was ok to sleep on, it was clean and with enough blankets for a cold night. The bathroom was also clean, with clean towels and the usual toiletries. Not sure if they offer any sort of food service or internet. It is a good deal for only 25 euro/night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Good location, just off Rossio. My room had a good view when the window was opened.
Security was spot on as the entrance to the hotel as well as each hallway was buzz thru controlled by the desk clerk.
The room was a little disappointing I'm 5'11, and the bed ended at my ankles leaving me sleeping diagonally on the bed. The room itself was just about a foot each direction larger than the bed. At one point I actually took towels from the bathroom and pushed up to the room door in an attempt to keep out the stench of cigarette smoke- wish it had worked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September this year and the rooms were really small. The 3 piece bathroom I couldn't put my knees straight in front of me when sitting on the toilet so had to keep the door open and knees to the right, I'm only 5 feet 6 inches so not very tall. That was a bit inconvenient to say the least and it was a bit of a process to shower in the tiny shower. The room and bedding were clean but the beds were hard as nails.. Location was great though. Right behind the railway station and walking distance to the local walking street and lots of shops and restaurants all within reach. The staff were very helpful and this helped to compensate for the size of the rooms. There was a fan in the room which helped as it was 38 degrees while we were there but it cooled off at night. Also, we could open the 2 big windows which also helped. A tad noisy at night with them both open though as there's bars very close. The main problem was space and bed quality. An older pensione for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynneVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#162 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#64 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Nova Goa
Pensao Nova Goa
#224 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#127 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#220 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Estacao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Estacao Central

Property: Pensao Estacao Central
Address: Calcada do Carmo, 17 - 2o, 3o, Lisbon 1200-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Estacao Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Budget Places so you can book your Pensao Estacao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Estacao Central Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing