We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just basic”
Review of Hotel Genesis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Genesis
Ranked #8 of 33 Fatima B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We traveled in a group. Room and bathroom were clean. 3 minutes' walk to the Sanctuary. Staff were not that friendly, maybe because they were overworked. Never saw a smile on there faces and they looked tired all the time. The room had nowhere to put our luggage, there was small wardrobe. The worst part was the very lousy sound isolation in the room. You could hear every word which was said in the rooms adjoining, the flushing of toilets, the noise of the people getting up early morning. Breakfast was very basic, all four days we were in this hotel, we got the one same menu for breakfast and one same menu for dinner. Hygiene is lacking very much in the restaurant, We got this treatment maybe because we were in group and it was too much work for them.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2014

This hotel was a bit hard to find, we had to drive a couple of circles, as the area around the hotel was not updated on our GPS's (take a right turn before all the stalls with souvenirs). We chose this hotel due to its low price (25€ for 2 including breakfast). Open air parking is available at the back of the hotel.
The rooms were small but OK for the price, but don't expect something fancy. The bed was merely a mattress on springs and wasn't very comfortable and was also a bit noisy. The isolation was also poor, we could hear our neighbours flushing the toilet and heard water running down pipes everywhere.
The breakfast is ok, but again not great.
The reason I give this a rating of 3/5 is merely because it was so cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 920fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Firstly, I shall start with the pros. There was free wi-fi in the room and a very good selection of TV channels (around 30) although the TV reception for some channels weren't so good. Room and bathroom were clean. The hotel had a free, private open-air carpark. Location was good - 3 minutes' walk to the Sanctuary and near restaurants. The price per night was below €20 during this peak period, which was the reason we chose the hotel.

Unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros in this hotel. Staff were not that friendly (unlike the other hotels in Fatima), the carpet in the room was dirty, the room had nowhere to put our luggage unless we wanted to put the luggage on the floor or on the writing table. Either place would have inconvenienced us greatly so we ended up stuffing our small bag in the wardrobe! The worst part was the very lousy sound isolation in the room. Granted that most hotels in Portugal have poor sound isolation but this was terrible. We heard very, very clearly the toilet above our room being flushed and the water noisily running down the plumbing. Disgusting!

Breakfast selection was poor but the thing that took away my appetite was witnessing the staff use a cloth to wipe the table where the food was and immediately after, use the same cloth to wipe the dirty, stained floor (black footprints were clearly visible) where some coffee had dripped onto! She went back to the kitchen, came back in a jiffy and continued to wipe the food table with the same cloth!! Given the time that she had taken, she would have probably just given the cloth a cursory rinse instead of a thorough washing. This kind of hygiene is so not acceptable especially when it comes to dealing with food for consumption. I would have at least expected her to use a separate cloth or a mop for the floor. Terrible! I rated cleanliness as 'poor' because of this incident.

Suffice to say, we shall not stay at this hotel again. It is, without a doubt, the worst hotel that we have stayed at in Fatima!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here Dec 6 till 11, 2013. Although this is a two star hotel, it is very clean and a 5 minute walk minutes walk to the shrine / Basilika. Wifi is FREE albeit a bit weak. Food is okay. However, need to change the carpet. Service is good despite limited staff. Staff is kind and friendly

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank degirl0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A bit hard to find due to the road works but worth the frustration.[get to the roundabout with the children on and take the cobbled street just before the car-park turn off]
Real value for money if you want to visit Fatima centre and in a quite location two minutes walk from the shrine. Typical continental breakfast and pleasant but limited lunch and evening meal.
Bedrooms are modern a little small but very clean. One small fault lets the service down, the reception is under staffed in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
1.1 km away
Hotel Santa Mafalda
Hotel Santa Mafalda
#37 of 41 in Fatima
35 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.2 km away
Hotel Coracao De Fatima
Hotel Coracao De Fatima
#10 of 41 in Fatima
94 reviews
0.7 km away
Sao Jose Hotel
Sao Jose Hotel
#16 of 41 in Fatima
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genesis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genesis

Address: Rua de Santo Antonio 41, Fatima 2495-430, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Fatima
Price Range: €24 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genesis 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genesis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing