We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
29
56
44
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
56
44
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location nice hotel rooms are small train prom euro
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Best thing about our room was the view to the sea (make sure you get one) and to the city of Estoril. Location a big plus with nice beaches and Estoril train station very close by. Reception staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean but very basic and perhaps already a little retro. The hotel itself was fairly quiet but unfortunately the noise from a beach disco or club woke us up a few times almost every night. The bass thumbing was very disturbing and didn't stop until small hours. Free breakfast was very simple with only cold choices and below average coffee. All and all, we felt we get our moneys worth and fortunately good coffee is always easy to find elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JourneyFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in an ideal spot by the train station in.Estoril which was brilliant The buffet breakfast is very nice and sets you up for the day The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank gretal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Great location at the top of the town of Estoril, lovely walk along the prom into Cascais. Very very basic accommodation, very clean hotel. Fine if just looking for somewhere to sleep at night but you wouldn't spend much time in the place! Staff friendly, breakfast very basic, bread rolls/croissants and a couple of cereals, yogurt available. Tea and coffee. Right beside taxi rank and train station, three minute walk to beautiful beaches.

Room tip: I was on 2nd floor and train running past window was very noisy, plus view would be better from top floor!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillianm784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The staff was unpollite and malorganised. Yet they asked for paying 2 fotocopies. There was dust in the room. The breakfast was very nice. The position is very nice to relax and jogging, but very far from traditional places.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vincenzor128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This place seemed a nice little hotel near the beach, but for the price we pay it was a disappointment. But let’s star from the beginning;

Positives points:

The hotel is located in the outskirts of Lisbon in the very touristic county of Estoril, were the Estoril Casino is located.

Very close to the Tamariz beach.

Near the Estoril Casino

Close to several restaurant’s and bars.

Decent Wi-Fi signal

All rooms (we were in) had (small) bathtubs.

Very kind hotel staff (front desk and cleaning ladies).

Negative points:

The “Continental breakfast” that is included is totally fake publicity. In fact the breakfast it’s just a regular low-end breakfast of: bread, cheese, factory ham, mini croissants (they had to be mini…really??) , some horrible yogurts, a totally tasteless cereals, coffee, milk and some really bad juice. There were no toaster, no fruit, no eggs, no pastries.

The person that worked in the breakfast area had a totally bad way of working, sometimes she dust empty/dumped the bread and other stuff in the trays. That’s no way to behave/work with food in front of hotel customers…or any other place for that matter.

The hairdryer in the bathroom was broken in our first room….but the hotel front desk (very nice and helpful people in the front desk) found us a room in the next day. Still…. for people with wet long hair, that was a pain; don’t understand how a hotel, , in this day and age, don’t have an hand hairdryer in the front desk, to cover this types of situations.

The bathroom, had no electrical outlets (!!!); according to hotel staff, when the bathroom were renovated, some years ago, the legislation did not allowed electrical outlets for safety reasons…. however the current legislation, does allow now, electrical outlets in hotel bathrooms, but they did not correct this situation.

No welcome bath utilities kit (it’s an hotel remember?)…just some low-end soap e shower gel.

No mini-bar or mini-fridge in the rooms.

Terrible TV reception in the rooms…and it was cable TV (!!!)

No safe for values in the rooms.

Another important point worthy of mention is that this hotel is “glued” to one of the major suburban train lines of the capital of Portugal, so if you are light sleeper, this hotel is not for you. Of course, it’s not like the walls shake with a passing train or anything like that, but you hear the train pass quit clearly.

Bottom line:

The São Mamede Hotel is in a decent location, (if you don’t mind the noise of the trains passing by) but is basically a B&B, charging high season 4 star hotel prices (note that the hotel is outside the city of Lisbon), even in low season.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.
The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.
We express It’s very pleasing that you remarked our Very kind and helpful staff.
We are also very happy that you noticed the central location of our hotel (very close to the Tamariz beach, to the Estoril Casino and to several restaurant’s and bars.)
as well as our decent Wi-Fi signal.
We take pride in our simple, fresh and delicious breakfast, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay.
Our continental breakfast is a breakfast that consists of food such as daily fresh bread and croaissants, butter, 3 types of jam, hot chocolate, coffee, milk, orange juice, pineaple juice, 2 up to 3 types of tea, ham , cheese, fruit or fruit salad, choco cereal and corn flakes. There is no cooked food, like scrambled eggs on the standard rate (but you can add it on, paying an addiction cost.)
Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and good facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
The train station and also anothers public transports are close to the hotel, this proximity is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer quieter rooms on our south and east side that can be reserved upon request.
We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do not have safe box on the Room, but on the reception is in fact available, free of charges the service from 24/7.
We were surprised to read your comments regarding our employee, who is one of our best.
We are thankful for your suggestion regaring the hairdryer. We will take note and leave a hairdryer in the front desk, to cover this types of situations.
The bathroom, problem, (no electrical outlets) will be fixed as soons as possible, is on our plans to correct this situation. As well the misunderstood of the bath utilities.
We do not offer mini-bar or mini-fridge in the rooms as everyone can consult previusly the booking process, like on our oficial webpage or on the partners webpages and brochures.
Anyway we always free to keep some guest itens on our bar support fridge.
We didn´t received any complaints about the terrible tV reception in the rooms recently, but we will check with our maintenance department what had happened .

We really hope you will give us a second chance to cut a better figure.

Yours sincerely,

Nadir Nunes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews