We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and relaxing despite the rain”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windmill outside livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Windmill outside
livingroom
livingroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
wc
wc
wc
wc
wc
wintergarden
wintergarden
Almoçageme central square
Local bio market
Praia da Adraga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colares, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yellibear
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing despite the rain”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to stay in a windmill in Portugal after I had told him about my mum staying in one years ago.. After a bit of research he then found this gem.. The windmill is really cute and Susanna the owner greeted us with wine and cheese. Everything is provided but nobody bothers you. Sintra and all the palaces are really close and the beach and the little town of Cascais are close by too and well worth a visit. The village has a little shop and some good restaurants too. There's a market on at weekend where you can purchase local food and "green wine" which is delicious! Although we were unlucky with the weather we still had an amazing time! Thank you Susanna! Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnandre...
Ravenstone, United kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for two nights with our two children. The windmill is lovely, beautifully done and built by the current owners grandfather. The accommodation is comfortable though you couldn't throw a dinner party with the kitchen facilities. Our stay was only marred by the fact that the owner wanted to charge us an additional €60 for our stay over and above what had been agreed up front for 2 adults and 2 children. This because the owner felt our children were more grown up..... They are 15 and 13 so we were both surprised and irritated by this... Take care... We didn't pay any extra.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: The owner trying to charge extra
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
I thank you for your this review and the compliment about the place, i appreciate that, because i really take care my house and make and prepare everything with all attention and dedication to ensure the guests can have the best time there. I really take care about everything, and I'm so sorry about some people who don't have the same honest intentions. About this review i just want thank you for you tell all persons who go read this, the reasons you don't pay me. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home and Village”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend for a week. It was a surprise for her birthday and she couldn't have been happier. The Windmill is truly beautiful inside and out. You can tell it has been built with amazing care.
Every little detail has been thought of. The host Susana was brilliant too. So very accommodating and incredibly friendly.
Almocageme is a pretty little village with beautiful restaurants/cafes, beaches and very friendly people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing