We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$359
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
US$211
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$490
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
US$306
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Londres(Estoril)
US$177
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$279
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
366
338
123
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
338
123
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed suitefamily suitevoyage privenearest townhydrotherapy poolshuttle serviceshuttle buspool areawashing up liquidfully equipped kitchensmall problemseparate bedroombeautiful bathroombreakfast servicelarge gardenbeautiful resortself catering
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed at Vivamarinha for 10 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment (2 adults 1 teenager). The rooms are very spacious and stylish. The hotel seeemed half empy when we were there and was so quiet, which was really nice, especially at night when trying to get a restful nights sleep. We didn't have a car but managed to get around using the hotel shuttle car (only runs till 6.30pm and gets booked up quickly) and taxis, which costs about 6 euros into Cascais town and it was easy to get hold of taxis. I only had a couple of issues with vivamarinha, firstly that there was no bar as such - they had small bar in the corner of the lobby which never seemed to be manned and therefore it lacked atmosphere because everyone seemed to go out. We walked to neighbouring hotel quinta da marinha to use their bar. We ate twice in the restaurant which was very nice, but again very quiet as people tended to go out. This hotel is crying out for a supermarket - as they offer self catering facilities then a shop with papers and food would be spot on. Again, we walked to another hotel (villa bicuda, 10 mins away) to get our supplies. The other gripe is that breakfast needs to go up a notch for a 5 star facility, you could not get a cup of coffee very easily - management please take note - provide a pot of coffee for the guest's table and they can have as many cups as they like. Also, more hot food would be appropriate and the scrambled egg some days resembled rubber! I would like to mention both the reception staff and the guys at the "pool hut" who were extremely helpful and knowledgable, keep up the good work! Overall, vivamarinha was a relaxing place with a lovely pool and garden area - we stayed at Grande Hotel Villa Italia last time we stayed in Cascais and although a stunning hotel it was very noisy. No such problems at vivamarinha, although that means you are a little remote from town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is good if you have a car, appreciate quiet nights and need a big room. The hotel is located some 15 min drive from Cascais city so the services are a bit further away. Good location for exploring the coast and other cities such as Sintra.

The hotel has a restaurant, but I would not recommend it. Food was simple and lacking some taste. Better to drive to the city (good restaurants nearby: Fogo de Chao and Restaurant at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho).

We had a spacious and tidy apartment room with two bedrooms, kitchen, dining room and living room. Kitchen was very well equipped and I could recommend the hotel for longer stay (especially for families). If you decide to stay in this hotel ask for a room on the second or third floor. Our room was on the first floor facing the parking lot. We tried to change it but the staff never replied to our request.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerKesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Absolutely the most outstanding hotel and location "Cascais" It is 45 minutes outside Lisbon, Portugal. Beautiful landscaping around the hotel. Staff is very polite and feels like home. Room interior furniture awesome. Upscale neighborhood.
Breakfast is great with variety of good quality of food. Lunch as well--buffet style or you can order other dishes. Dinner is very romantic.
Ocean is 10 min drive. Downtown Cascais is also very clean and people are extremely very nice. Ride free bike--excellent bike lane and enjoy the cool breeze. Or running/jogging--highly recommend.
Hotel shuttle pickup on time and drop any time. Also shuttle drop off to the nearest train station or city center.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonnyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This hotel is interesting. When we were there, mid-june 2009, the hotel was definately not packed. Most of the time, we felt like we were the only ones in the whole place. Which of course added to the luxury this hotel has to offer.

The hotel feels brand new (still smelled a bit like it) and is located on a huge lot of land, a bit north of Cascais. It lays in the middle of a golf district. The rooms of the hotel are large - we even got a small kitchen with all appliances as well as a large terrace to the garden. The hotel has its own fitness and Spa center, included in the hotel price - but you can pay more for massages or other spa treatments. The pool in the garden is beautiful.

There was one downside to this hotel: the restaurant. The restaurant offers great food, but the range is very limited. Breakfast is too expensive for what you get - as there is not warm food available.

Last thing. The hotel is located about 10 min drive from Cascais station, or 30 min biking. You can get free bikes from the hotel, but don't expect very nice ones. Cascais itself has rental place all over too, and those are nicer. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to the city or to any place of interest you wish, as long as you book this a bit beforehand.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJMDEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Great proprety,
I stayed in Vivamarinha for 3 Nigths with a small group of 10 clients for an Incetive Golf Event.
The rooms are very big and very well decorated, the staff made the diference and allways very helpfull.
Near the hotel you have 2 Golf Courses, and a free shutle that you can use. (allways book 1 day before).
They also have meeting spaces and they are just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews