We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
382
354
137
53
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
354
137
53
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass terrace bed suite family suite hydrotherapy pool voyage prive shuttle bus pool area shuttle service washing up liquid kids club fully equipped kitchen large bedroom steam room self catering breakfast service clean towels coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I'll start off by saying this is a very nice property and I'd probably come back here for a vacation or holiday. However, I was here for a weeklong corporate meeting and unfrotunately the Viva Marinha is severely lacking as a conference facility. To save you some reading time, I would give it 4 stars for vacation and 2 stars for business, so I split the difference in the rating.
PROS: Nice updated rooms, comfy beds, nice bathroom.shower, well kept
CONS: No wifi in rooms, a/c cannot be set below 19C (stuffy when it is mild outside), hardwire PC connection was spotty at best. Lobby wifi was SLOW and unreliable.
There was no wifi in the conference room we reserved for the week, and no attempt to get a hub set up (so easily done).
Food onsite was fairly good, although we usually had to send back one plate out of our group of 12 at our onsite dinners.
The property is way off the beaten path which is a shame -- you can't just walk to the beautiful nearby beachside path or the nearest town (Cascais, a very Malibu-type upscale town). You are slave to taxis or shuttles, although the property has bikes available.
Overall, I would probably try this again on personal vacation but definitley not for corporate retreats.

Room tip: Try to get a room above the ground floor so you can open the windows without dealing with the "garage door" shutters.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pfreakingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights after a week in Praia D'el Rei. We picked it because of a decent offer from Voyage Prive and were not disappointed in any way. We had a lovely room, quite large by normal standards, with very good furnishings and fittings. And a small kitchen area with hob and wash basin which we didn't use. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of dishes (but don't be silly enough to expect a "full English"). The pool area was excellent with 2 large pools one heated and one not although in early Sept the cooler pool was just what was needed to cool off after a spell in the sun. I found the heated one too warm. Sun beds were comfortable with plenty of them. The young lady waitress at the pool bar was extremely helpful bringing drinks and snacks to your lounger. I would recommend you have a hire car if for no other reason than to see the surrounding country/seaside. All the staff were extremely helpful.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel has a wonderfully relaxed feel to it, so much so that it felt as if we were in a luxury retreat. The suites are extremely well designed to a high standard and come complete with all the amenities needed. The satff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the service was excellent all round. The pool is surrounded by the large green garden area, which helped it to feel secluded and private. The local area of Cascais is also very enjoyable with a number of restaurants and bars. Guincho beach is highly recommended. I will definitely be visiting Viva Marinha on my next visit to Lisbon.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just this week returned from a 5 night break here; we cannot speak more highly of this hotel; of all the helpful staff; the huge, beautifully decorated room with comfortable king size bed; the spacious bathroom and large sunny (in am) balcony; there was also a small kitchen area, which was useful. The food at breakfast was delicious and the choice was extensive. We remarked that even though the restaurant doors were open to the garden, there were no flies buzzing around and everything was remarkably well organised, as the waiters cleared as soon your plates were finished. The food in the Glass Terrace Restaurant in the evening was also of a high standard, beautifully presented, and again, delicious! It's a stylish hotel, very peaceful and set in stunning grounds; the pool area is well set out and refreshment bar serviced by an efficient and friendly young lady, who brought snacks to your lounger if you wished. Both pools were very clean but the heated side was still a liitle cool; a couple of degress warmer would have been pleasant, but did not stop anyone enjoying their swim. And If you like horse riding, then there are stables only five minutes walk away; you will be delighted with the Lusitano horses available to ride and the staff there are most helpful and friendly. We used the hotel shuttle a few times, which is best booked the day before, and tthe taxis around this location are not expensive, but you might possibly benefit from hiring a car if you wanted to explore further afield. This was our first adventure using Voyage Prive and they did not dissapoint. We will certainly go back to this hotel knowing that a warm welcome would be extended and be certain of a tranquil, relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan502003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Fabulous hotel, secluded private location. Approx 5 miles into Cascais town. Taxis are cheap but you may need a rental car if you wish to check out the local beaches and sights. We had a beautiful suite in the hotel, complete with mini-kitchenette and balcony. As it was our wedding anniversary, we had a lovely 'gift' left in our room, chocolate truffles and port wine. Lovely touch and much appreciated. Dinner in the Glass Terrace restaurant was very tasty - the house red wine was great value too!!
Staying in this hotel is obviously not cheap but a nice treat. The lack of WiFi was disappointing however. It is possible to purchase internet access but it is very expensive. There is a laptop in the hotel foyer which was always in use. It's my only complaint though!
Lovely pool, definitely the perfect location for some rest and relaxation!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews