We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We came back last week after a fantastic 10 days holiday in Portugal. We decided to go to this hotel on a last minute deal, and we were extremely pleased with our choice.
The hotel is not near the beach, and it is about 5 min drive from Cascais, however we had no problem with that, as the value for money makes this hotel a great choice. We went there convinced we needed a car, after reading all the reviews, and in the end we realised that a car was actually not necessary. A taxi to Cascais was around 6 Eur, plus the hotel has a free shuttle to Cascais. We had no problem in booking the shuttle. The hotel also has a shuttle to Sintra, about 20 min drive. The restaurant is very good, and considering we had a look in the nearby restaurant of Quinta da Marina resort hotel, we can tell you that the restaurantl in the Vivamarinha is abolutely great value for money. The food is very nice and they have a nice selection of wines. Lovely breakfast as well, plenty of fruit, cheese, fresh fruit juices, pastries, mozzarela and tomatoes ( nice !) plus eggs, bacon, sausages etc.
The resort has a great spa as well, included in the price of the room, which is not often seen in other hotels. Steam room, sauna and a hidro spa were very pleasant after a day of visiting.
The shuttle from the hotel leaves you right in front of the train station in Cascais, very close to the center as well. From the station, it is very convenient to take the train into Lisbon, only 1,80 eur!!
Plenty to do in this area, totaly unexpected!
Cascais is such a lovely town, with many restaurants, museums ( free) and a nice marina. We tried all the restaurants in the center, we cannot decide which one is best, so just try them all. Probaly O Poeta and The Duke would be our favourites. Make sure you try the sea food skewers at The Duke!
Sintra: what a gem! We went there 2 days out of the ten we spent in Portugal, with the free shuttle from the hotel, and I have to say I fell in love with this place. Make sure you visit the gardens in the Quinta da Regalaira, probably the best place in Sintra. A tip: take a flashlight when visiting this place, you will understand why, cannot tell you as discovering this is part of the experience, and I don't want to ruin it for you. And of course you have to visit Palace da Pena. Just fantastic! We plan to go back and maybe spend 4 days in a hotel in Sintra.
Last but not least, the people working in this hotel are so nice, they make you feel at home, thank you everyone.
Great hotel, I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Get a room facing south east, so you have all the afternoon sun, it is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loves2travel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 229 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I'll start off by saying this is a very nice property and I'd probably come back here for a vacation or holiday. However, I was here for a weeklong corporate meeting and unfrotunately the Viva Marinha is severely lacking as a conference facility. To save you some reading time, I would give it 4 stars for vacation and 2 stars for business, so I split the difference in the rating.
PROS: Nice updated rooms, comfy beds, nice bathroom.shower, well kept
CONS: No wifi in rooms, a/c cannot be set below 19C (stuffy when it is mild outside), hardwire PC connection was spotty at best. Lobby wifi was SLOW and unreliable.
There was no wifi in the conference room we reserved for the week, and no attempt to get a hub set up (so easily done).
Food onsite was fairly good, although we usually had to send back one plate out of our group of 12 at our onsite dinners.
The property is way off the beaten path which is a shame -- you can't just walk to the beautiful nearby beachside path or the nearest town (Cascais, a very Malibu-type upscale town). You are slave to taxis or shuttles, although the property has bikes available.
Overall, I would probably try this again on personal vacation but definitley not for corporate retreats.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the ground floor so you can open the windows without dealing with the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pfreakingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights after a week in Praia D'el Rei. We picked it because of a decent offer from Voyage Prive and were not disappointed in any way. We had a lovely room, quite large by normal standards, with very good furnishings and fittings. And a small kitchen area with hob and wash basin which we didn't use. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of dishes (but don't be silly enough to expect a "full English"). The pool area was excellent with 2 large pools one heated and one not although in early Sept the cooler pool was just what was needed to cool off after a spell in the sun. I found the heated one too warm. Sun beds were comfortable with plenty of them. The young lady waitress at the pool bar was extremely helpful bringing drinks and snacks to your lounger. I would recommend you have a hire car if for no other reason than to see the surrounding country/seaside. All the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel has a wonderfully relaxed feel to it, so much so that it felt as if we were in a luxury retreat. The suites are extremely well designed to a high standard and come complete with all the amenities needed. The satff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the service was excellent all round. The pool is surrounded by the large green garden area, which helped it to feel secluded and private. The local area of Cascais is also very enjoyable with a number of restaurants and bars. Guincho beach is highly recommended. I will definitely be visiting Viva Marinha on my next visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just this week returned from a 5 night break here; we cannot speak more highly of this hotel; of all the helpful staff; the huge, beautifully decorated room with comfortable king size bed; the spacious bathroom and large sunny (in am) balcony; there was also a small kitchen area, which was useful. The food at breakfast was delicious and the choice was extensive. We remarked that even though the restaurant doors were open to the garden, there were no flies buzzing around and everything was remarkably well organised, as the waiters cleared as soon your plates were finished. The food in the Glass Terrace Restaurant in the evening was also of a high standard, beautifully presented, and again, delicious! It's a stylish hotel, very peaceful and set in stunning grounds; the pool area is well set out and refreshment bar serviced by an efficient and friendly young lady, who brought snacks to your lounger if you wished. Both pools were very clean but the heated side was still a liitle cool; a couple of degress warmer would have been pleasant, but did not stop anyone enjoying their swim. And If you like horse riding, then there are stables only five minutes walk away; you will be delighted with the Lusitano horses available to ride and the staff there are most helpful and friendly. We used the hotel shuttle a few times, which is best booked the day before, and tthe taxis around this location are not expensive, but you might possibly benefit from hiring a car if you wanted to explore further afield. This was our first adventure using Voyage Prive and they did not dissapoint. We will certainly go back to this hotel knowing that a warm welcome would be extended and be certain of a tranquil, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan502003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
3.8 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
4 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,252 reviews
1 km away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
368 reviews
2.5 km away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: €92 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing