We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I stayed here again for 10 nights last year (lucky me). It was even better than the previos time as there was bar set up in the corner of the foyer to watch the World Cup. The apartment was great and very quiet. Staff were very helpful and we often made use of the shuttle bus (be sure to book it ahead). Breakfast was adequate but I can imagine some people may want more. There is also now a bar at the poolside which was never too busy. It really is a place for a relaxing holiday and everywhere is a short taxi drive. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

I booked a week here for my family (couple plus 2 kids - 5 & 7) for a week in August and we got a very good deal at the last minute. 1 bed suite including full breakfast for the four of us for 169€ a night.

The suite itself was great. Very spacious with an almost full kitchen. Two flat screens and very comfortable beds. You could easily prepare simple meals and there was a ridiculous amount of crockery and a dishwasher. Very impresed with the standard of of the fittings and it was perfectly spacious for a family of four.

The hotel itself is actually only a small part of a larger condominium complex. Many of the apartments in the condo complex (which are not part of the hotel but share the pool) seemed to be unoccupied so it gave a slightly deserted feel. The pool area was great. Huge pool with lots of loungers surrounded by trees so you could really have privacy and peace. The kids loved the pool and there was plenty of space for them to explore the grounds in safety. The two attendants at the pool bar were really charming and friendly.

The only catch - total lack of service in the hotel itself. When we arrived on our first evening, we noticed that although there were two bottles of wine in the room which could be purchased, there were no wine glasses. This seemed strange given that it was otherwise so well equipped. I called reception and asked for two glasses to be delivered. After twenty minutes I called again. After another ten minutes they phoned me and asked me to walk to the bar to pick them up.

The breakfast service is very good and it is nice to sit in the gardens and take the food from the extensive buffet. But at lunch time and in the evenings they are running a skeleton staff and a basic menu. Service was terrible and I would not recommend that you eat here at all. There is no real bar area (only some sofas in the reception area and no real service). For this reason you need to be clear about what Vivamarinha is. It is not a full service 5 star hotel. It is an excellent and comfortable quality aparthotel with a great pool area which would be ideal for self-catering and for families. If you want a resort where you don't need to venture far then it would be a bad choice.

Car rental would be best but given the low cost of taxis in Cascais, not totally essential. There are many good seafood restaurants on the Guincho beach road close by (6 euros in a taxi) and lots of choice in Cascais itself (again 6 or 7 euros by taxi). There are plenty of options. There is a small supermarket in the Villa Bicuda complex close to Vivamarinha where you can pick up the essentials if you wanted to eat in the suite.

Would I stay here again? I absolutely would if I got another good rate and I wanted to use it as a relaxing base to visit Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon. I thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skotti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

great stay at this lovely hotel .... we got a good deal which made the stay even better ,,,, superb service ...everyone was very helpful .... lovely room ... very comfortable ... cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Went to this 'hotel' based on Trip Advisor revues and were not disappointed. The one bedroom suites were great, modern, large and very comfortable.

The ApartHotel is 5 star and has a great pool and spar, with good staff. Do not expect 5 star service in other areas such as food. Only one restaurant which serves breakfast and light lunches and dinner. Only OK quality but not expensive, apart from breakfast at 15 euros!

The staff were great, and even changed our suite to one with more sun in the morning.

Do expect a range of guests as the hotel serves a number of markets, business travel, leisure and a has a conference centre.

However even when there was one very large conference on for the first 3 days will where there, the hotel felt very quite in-spite of being full.

It seems good value if you can get a deal, the rack rate for a one bedroom suite (apartment) is over 450 euros per night, but we paid by booking via their web 175 euros per night!

So a great venue may which needs to define its offer a little more clearly, is it a hotel with suites and only one restaurant or apartments offering hotel like service in many areas?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGBCMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I just stayed here for 4 nights and first impressions were very good. After 16 hours of travel from Atlanta I was looking for a nice clean room and a comfortable bed and was not disappointed. We had booked a family suite and what a very nice room it was. 2 very good sized rooms, 1 witha huge king size and the other with 2 singles. A very nice kitchen and also a very nice family room, all very tastefully furnished in a very modern, contemporary style. There were 2 very nice bathrooms with everything you would expect. A very comfortable night was had. As I didn't have breakfast included in my package I decided not to buy the 15e per person breakfast and headed into Cascais for coffee and pastries. I don't know if they offered an a la carte menu, but wasn't prepared to pay $60 for 3 of us. Although I have no real complaint about the hotel, I would have thought this was more a 4* than a 5*. There was a very good spa on site, but no golf, tennis or any other activities on site. A lot of the surrounding hotels had all these things. yes, the room rate was very reasonable and value for money, so no reason to complain. The hotel was about 5 minutes drive from the town of Cascais where there are many good and reasonably priced restaurants. Taxi's are plentiful for those who don't want to drive. This hotel is really aimed at families and apart from the pool area the hotel was very quite and peaceful.
Overall a good experience and the lack of sporting facilities certainly wouldn't put me off from staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
3.8 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
4 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,252 reviews
1 km away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
367 reviews
2.5 km away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cascais Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cascais Resort

Address: Rua das Palmeiras | Quinta da Marinha, Cascais 2750-005, Portugal (Formerly Vivamarinha Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#8 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: €92 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cascais Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Cascais Resort boasts an enviable location on Portugal's sweeping Atlantic coast, just 30 minutes from Lisbon and 2 kilometres from Guincho Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Cascais Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivamarinha Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing