We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
US$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/21
Booking.comUS$298
eDreamsUS$298
PricelineUS$313
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
227
131
43
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
131
43
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel superior room wedding portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2020

As usual, I always start with the positive:

- The hotel is beautiful and with a breathtaking view of the sea
- Lovel, perfectly manicured gardens
- The bedrooms are spacious and well-appointed. The bedrooms are huge and comfortable. Although the sheets are soft and clean, they are not cotton. You feel immediately the coarse and heat of the synthetic mixture.
However, the hotel is reaching its seventh year and refreshment is badly necessary.

The personnel is kind and charming. Going out their way to meet all your needs always with a smile. A characteristic of the Portuguese people which is highly appreciated. They were also liberally kind and amused by our cats.

Location, couldn't be better.

However, the base aspect of this review is truly bad. Since I have a serious chronic illness and, my 8yo son was virally triggered asthma, we haven't left our home since March. Both I and my son are high-risk patients and have a high possibility to die if we get infected.

But the delivery of our new house was two weeks late, so we had no choice but to stay in a Hotel. This hotel had a stamp of a pandemic safe hotel so we deemed it safe enough. When making the reservations I informed about our health issues and we requested a strict protocol for cleaning our room.

However, since our original 'cat room' was reserved on Friday 9th October so they changed us to a room in front of a lovely garden, with a view to the sea and a lovely balcony to sit in the afternoon and watch the sea.

What they did not inform us was that there was a wedding taking place in the garden, with guests standing literally, 10 meters outside our bedroom. Besides the guest, there are also photographers, musicians and catering service. I counted a total of 30 people and only the service people are wearing masks.

While I do not mean absolutely anything about race, the wedding is making composed by Asiatic people, so it is people who probably have travelled recently.

We feel extremely vulnerable and scared. So as beautiful as this hotel is and as kind as its personnel is, management should have followed the gathering reunion measurements that are in place currently.

Most important: the should have informed us that there would be such a concentration of people in the hotel so we could take the decision to stay in this hotel or choose another.

In a less important note, I took 4 of my special (for pain) pillows. I informed the service people that I had those pillows and asked to just change the pillow cover but leave the pillows in the room. These are Siberian goose down pillows that cost 300 Euro per piece. All they told me is: We didn't see anything.

So, it pains me to give such a low rating to this lovely hotel, but putting guests in risk is absolutely unacceptable.

Room tip: I can't recommend a hotel that puts its guests in danger.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank he333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2020 via mobile

Spent 5 days at this gorgeous hotel and would certainly return. Small boutique hotel. Large room with fantastic view and attractively furnished throughout hotel.
Was perfect peaceful retreat after several hectic days in Lisbon.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 629cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room with king bed and sea view located in the rear building with a lovely courtyard. It included a half board so we received both breakfast and dinner at quite a reasonable price. The room was huge with a large bedroom, bath and living room/dining room. Three balconies but the larger one was off the living room facing the ocean and it included two lounge chairs and a table/chairs. The food at the restaurant was superb. Breakfast is a plentiful buffet and dinner was off the menu. We stayed four nights and everything we ordered for dinner was wonderful. Staff were super nice and helpful. Beautiful location within walking and driving distance to other restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shelbylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senhora_da_guia, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Shelbylou,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We particularly thank you for your very kind comments and recommendation. Your thoughtfulness in writing is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cascais.
Yours sincerely,
Sílvia Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

A very beautiful hotel right on the ocean. Views were stunning. Rooms were extravagant. Decor was exquisite. Food in the restaurant was delicious.... breakfast & dinner. The only complaint we had was the that the staff in the bar/restaurant were not very helpful, nor pleasant, nor courteous. They seemed very unhappy & not interested in going out of their way to assist..... not what tourists want to receive. The front receptionist was pleasant but not very knowledgeable about Cascais. She sent us out for dinner to a restaurant that was closed & did not know much about guiding us to Sintra & the castle Pena.

Room tip: A room with the view of the ocean.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senhora_da_guia, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Ona M,
Thank you for sharing your kind opinion on TripAdvisor following your stay at Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel. We are very satisfied to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the view from your room, the décor and the food from our Restaurant. However, we regret to hear that our restaurant team did not stand up to your expectations. We assure you that we well noted your disappointed with the negative aspects of your stay. Rest assured we will use your constructive feedback to improve our service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully soon.
Yours sincerely,
Sílvia Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is nicely situated at the seaside in a nice looking, though somehow outdated building. Service is substandard though. Limited attention by the personnel from the start. We were on honeymoon and there was no attention for this either. Even not a small card on the room. This characterises the hotel; you are a number and they will not go the extra mile that makes the difference. The same lack of service is seen in the restaurant; during dinner staff is not in control of the restaurant; they do not see when you are ready to order, when you want the bill,... only half of the tables gets salt and pepper on the table which should be standard. Steak with bearnaise sauce is on the menu but the chef clearly is not aware what bearnaise sauce is about. Several tables complained about that. At breakfast again An adequate service is missing; whereas I believe in theory coffee was served at table we had to service ourselves all the time. Milk for the coffee was not presented either. This hotel could easily be upgraded if the details would be taken into account and if management would be more on top of this... put the client first and make the client feel serviced... that’s what a real 5* hotel is about!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wouter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senhora_da_guia, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Dear Wouter W,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and sharing your constructive comments, which contribute to the improvement of our services. We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. We assure you that we were unaware that you would be on honeymoon. The only information mentioned at your reservation was a double bed, which we provide. We truly sorry if you got the wrong impression on our staff. We are hopeful to welcome you back in the near future and rectify your impression of the Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel.
Yours Sincerely,
Sílvia Freitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews