We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
401
103
38
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
103
38
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club family hotel kids area main restaurant o terraco children play hangout area great with kids a lovely family holiday baby bath meal times toilet seat bean bags great hotel for families guest relations younger families amazing facilities
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Professional and welcoming staff, beautiful rooms and surroundings, great pool area and lots of help with keeping kids occupied. The hotel provides regular shuttle transport into Cascais which is vibrant and rich in character.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaCLobo, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at Martinhal Cascais and for your preference.
We are happy that you enjoyed our staff, surrondings and services.
We really hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Had a wonderful 2 week stay in the Martinhal with our two boys, James and George. Plenty of facilities for the kids and even though it was high season, it never seems busy and this greatly helps the chill out process (none of the towel on the sunbed at 8am syndrome). There is a big playground which has gated access and plenty of bean bags to lounge around while the children play.
There are 3 pools, pool hangout (big outdoor pool), indoor pool and another pool which is covered by a big "bubble" and was always very warm.
There are 2 restaurants for evening meals, the M Bar (more casual) and O Terraco (more of a fine dining experience) and for both you can have your dinner while the children play. Some nights for an extra charge there are kids discos which last for 90 minutes and you can have dinner in peace.
During the day, there is a very good kids club and on certain days, there are additional activities such as lego camps (for a small charge).
Cascais is only about ten minutes away and has many nice restaurants (Marisco and Pateo do Petisco in the Cascais market both stand out) and Capriciossa near the beach (great for pizza and pasta). We had thought about hiring a car but glad we didn't as we were quoted over €500 and an Uber to Cascais was only €5 each way and worked very efficiently.
We also went to the Oceanarium in Lisbon which was a great day out. Uber was about €40 each way but it could be done cheaper by getting Uber to Cascais and train to Lisbon though it would take much longer to get there.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very spacious but to be honest, we did not spend much time there and the rooms in the main hotel are very nice. Villa are a 5 minute walk from the main reception.
Finally, a special word of praise for Monica the Customer Services Manager who is always available to deal with any issues and ensure any problems are quickly ironed out. Also, the staff in the various restaurants and bars are so friendly (particularly Alessandra, Sara, Nuno and Joao). We both had birthdays during our stay and it was nice to be surprised with a cake on the day!
Would definitely recommend (particularly for children up to 8/9 years of age).

Room Tip: Villas are very nice and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MusicFanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaCLobo, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely and kind review! It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you and your family loved your stay and enjoyed some of the secrets of this beautiful area. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is always a privilege to do so. I will pass on your kind comments to Alessandra, Sara, Nuno and Joao.


Looking forward to welcoming you back again, plus high fiving James and George :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Great hotel for young kids (up to 10), with a lot of stuff onsite for the younger ones; and great activities nearby for older kids (surfing, bike rides etc.). The Staff are very friendly and kid focused, the playgrounds are fenced off with card access only. There are swimming pools (both heated and unheated) with excellent service.

We stayed in one of the Villa's on the site, these are very well fitted out (pretty much everything you would expect in a self catering apartment) and come pre-fitted with stair guards. They are actually outside the hotel and are near the public road - so need you to be careful with the kids. The good part if that you have your own parking spot outside your door if you have rented a car.

From a food point of view, the breakfast is pretty much the standard european buffet. For lunch and Dinner, the restaurant in the playground is good and was our kids favourite - they also do takeaway. There is a good restaurant for Adults although the menu didn't change much. There is also a bar in the hotel which does light snacks...and will provide you with a free fill for your bedtime milk bottle!!. We also used the nomenu.pt delivery service to call in deliveries of different food, it was efficient (the person answering the phone had great English so it was easy) and the food was varied.

From a transport point of view, the hotel is about a 10 minute cab ride from Cascais, the hotel has a shuttle which is free at certain predefined times - or else they can call you a cab (although we also used both Mytaxi and Uber which work reliably in the Lisbon area). The fare to Cascais ranged from €6 to €8; the taxi's only take 4 people at a time though. On balance, I would probably rent a car next time since we went into Cascais quite a lot during the days (usually to get the train into Lisbon to see the Zoo/Oceanarium etc.). The train from Cascais to Lisbon took about 40mins and cost €5 return, to get from the train station in Lisbon (Cais de Sidre) to other locations (Zoo/Oceanarium) we took the bus (€1.85 fare everywhere); a tuck tuck (€20 to the Zoo...and an exciting ride!!) and taxi's. The hotel also arranged a trip to the Dino Parque at Lorinha which is about 75 minutes drive north of Cascais. It was expensive but the facility was there if you didn't want to drive.

All in all we had a great time and will be back, the hotel is priced at a premium because of the focus on children but it really shows in the quality of the services and the friendly nature of the staff.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank lmigeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaCLobo, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

I would firstly like to thank you for your wonderful review regarding your time here with us at Martinhal. We couldn't have asked for a better review! We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to make such an impression.
We have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have another memorable stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay here!! Perfectly combines the fun for kids and fun for adults. The hotel is spotless, all very modern looking and with beautiful spaces to be in. The only ‘negative’ is that even though food in the hotel is absolutely delicious, it’s very very expensive. So if you are not full board, it could end up costing you a lot for food.

Besides from that, loved it !!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CaroMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaCLobo, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at Martinhal Cascais and for your preference. We are happy that you enjoyed the kidsclub.food and our services.At Martinhal we are continuously looking at ways to improve, therefore your comment is highly valued and has been presented to Management.

We really hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We had a wonderful stay in Martinhal Cascais.
Our first vacation with our 2 boys (6 months & 20 months) started really well with the shuttle service from the hotel. The very friendly and helpful drivers was waiting for us at the airport. The Mercedes minivan had the appropriate chairs for our boys.

The room in the hotel was nice an large enough for a vacation with our little ones. It was stuffed with the demanded baby item, like baby cots, bottle sterilizer, nappy bin,... (free of charge).

The food was very good.
(Every place to drink or eat had the appropriate chairs for the kids.)
(The people from the kids club that accompany the kids during breakfast and lunch did an amazing job)
The wine & drinks were high quality.
The staff was very friendly. (first hotel wel all the staff was so friendly) Also the kindness towards the kids was amazing.
Our oldest had a vacation full of joy. (there was so much to do during the day)

Overall I think the way Martinhal created a formula to have a nice vacation as a family is one of a kind!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaCLobo, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review following your recent stay with us which we were pleased to read.Your words speak for themselves really and have given the entire team a big boost. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve and to create lifetime memories to all our valued guests.

We look forward for another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews