We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Nice stay for a night. Spacy room, view on the swiming pool. This is a charming place.
Staff very nice and helful, good breakfast, I ask for a iron because it was not includes inside rooms. They gave it to me but not with an ironing table, it was a shame to iron in a bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SOPHIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear SOPHIE B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a real pleasure to share your positive feedback with the team today and to know that your stay was a great experience with the our gorgeous old historic building location and our great breakfast.

We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful place with so many History and have this amazing team, it's always nice to hear this is enjoyed and that we were able to offer you THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE.

When you decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind, we are looking forward to your next visit to our Pousada.

Kind regards,
Tiago Gonçalves
General Manager

PESTANA POUSADA DE VISEU & CHARMING SPA
THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

What would you think of a high class hotel who expect you to bring you luggage from your car, where, in the dining room, one has to ask three times for an aperitif or where it is necessary to enlist the assistance of the reception staff to get a drink from the bar. That is generally what I think of this hotel. The two good points are the reception staff who were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and the property which is beautiful and very clean. Jack from the UK

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jacktheeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Mr. jacktheeye,

Thank you so much for sharing your concerns about your last stay at Pousada de Viseu. In fact, it is based on the opinions and feedback of our customers and friends, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousadas de Portugal.

We work every day for our clients can have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us within the expected quality.

We regret your dissatisfaction, please be sure that we will do everything we possibly can to ensure that does not happen again in the future. Your feedback on our restaurant service is valued and has been taken into consideration, so it can be improved.

Kind regards,
Tiago Gonçalves
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Very nice historical building. The rooms are clean comfortable and very big, I would say twice the size of any average hotel.
Breakfast is very good.
There is free parking if you are going by care. Safe parking around the hotel.
We had some problems at the reception, as we arrived very late (after a wedding) and it was quite hard for the front office to give us the correct room, first they gave us a room that was occupied, which was very constraining… trying to get in a room where there are people sleeping!! But at the end everything was solved!
Besides this I would still recommend the hotel, I believe it was a one-time event.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andreagartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Luiz Gustavo P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a real pleasure to share your positive feedback with the team today and to know that your stay was a great experience with the our gorgeous old historic building location and our great breakfast.

We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful place with so many History and have this amazing team, it's always nice to hear this is enjoyed and that we were able to offer you THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE.

When you decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind, we are looking forward to your next visit to our Pousada.

Kind regards,
Tiago Gonçalves
General Manager

PESTANA POUSADA DE VISEU & CHARMING SPA
THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

It used to be a hospital but was completely rebuilt and since 2009 it’s a wonderful hotel. Never expected to find something similar in a small city like Viseu. Really impressive. I strongly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Luiz Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Luiz Gustavo P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a real pleasure to share your positive feedback with the team today and to know that your stay was a great experience with the our gorgeous old historic building location within walking distance to activities and historic center.

We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful place with so many History and have this amazing team, it's always nice to hear this is enjoyed and that we were able to offer you THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE.

When you decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind, we are looking forward to your next visit to our Pousada.

Kind regards,
Tiago Gonçalves
General Manager

PESTANA POUSADA DE VISEU & CHARMING SPA
THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was the best hotel we have stayed in in Portugal. The room was like an apartment with a living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs.. The food was good and not so expensive as it can be on a fivestar hotel. Safe parking around the hotel. The hotelreception was very friendly and helpful.
We can´t find any complaints at all. We could go to Viseu again just to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank christera586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, General Manager at Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear christera586,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a real pleasure to share your positive feedback with the team today and to know that your stay was a great experience with the our gorgeous old historic building location within walking distance to activities and historic center.

We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful place with so many History and have this amazing team, it's always nice to hear this is enjoyed and that we were able to offer you THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE.

When you decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind, we are looking forward to your next visit to our Pousada.

Kind regards,
Tiago Gonçalves
General Manager

PESTANA POUSADA DE VISEU & CHARMING SPA
THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viseu
1.2 km away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.2 km away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
103 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
51 reviews
40.1 km away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa

Address: Rua do Hospital, Viseu 3500-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Viseu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
#1 Green Hotel in Viseu
Price Range: €60 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viseu is located in central Portugal, in the city of Viseu, 5 minutes on foot from the Parque Florestal do Fontelo. It is located in the old Hospital de Sao Teotonio, one of the oldest hospitals of the city, that opened in 1842 and features views of the historic part of the city. This old hospital was completely reconstructed and adapted by architect Goncalo Bryrne in 2009. The hospital is an important landmark in the most peaceful city centre in Portugal. During your stay, you can enjoy the spa, where you can schedule massages and treatments, use the sauna, whirpool bath, gym and Turkish bath as well as a heated indoor swimming pool. For the youngsters, we offer the Kids Club in summer as well as the fantastic outdoor swimming pool. The Pousada also offers a restaurant, a bar, a very unique wine room, a cigar lounge and conference rooms. The rooms are spacious with balconies featuring great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Viseu Charming Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing