We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation and meals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Serra da Estrela
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Great food and super comfortable and clean accommodations. Spectacular views. Friendly service. Knowledgeable and recommended activities and sites to visit in the area. Reception staff was very helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeannine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, Gerente at Pousada Serra da Estrela, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful. We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

The building and the park invite to quietness and calm. The indoor swimming pool is very nice and has good temperature. The food is tasty and the service high standing. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the Estrella park which is most beautiful and interesting.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cecile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, Gerente at Pousada Serra da Estrela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear customer,

We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

Once again we thank you for your comments which we will be passing on to all our team members and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This is a very impressive hotel building with a fascinating history as a sanitarium, caring for railway workers with tuberculosis. The garden area of the hotel is very tranquil with impressive views over the valley and it is stunning at night with all the towns and villages lit up. It has a nice pool with a steam room and sauna and a large bar area as well as a small bar serving the outdoor pool. The rooms are large and well appointed, housekeeping is very efficient and the bathroom was spacious. There was a good choice at breakfast with a number of regional cheeses and cakes and the fresh orange juice was lovely. The location on the edge of the national park is spectacular with windy mountain roads to test your nerve and driving skills. A very nice, large hotel which is very tranquil with attentive staff and a really nice place for a relaxing stay. Plenty of free parking and free wifi throughout.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simontk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, Gerente at Pousada Serra da Estrela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

Once again we thank you for your comments which we will be passing on to all our team members and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

One of the best hotels that I've stayed during my trip to Portugal! The breakfast is delicious, the facilities are accessible and very good! The staff was very attentive and sympathetic. They did everything to make our stay much better! I would love to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deboramacea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, Gerente at Pousada Serra da Estrela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

Once again we thank you for your comments which we will be passing on to all our team members and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Our group stayed her for 2 nights on route to the Algarve. The hotel is huge and is a lovely building. It's set high on a mountain side and has fantastic views from some rooms.
Our room had a seating area in one of the turrets and the views were great BUT there's hardly any view at all
From the dining room and the lounge bar area and lots of bedrooms because the large trees , evergreens, obscure it.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff very helpful.
The outdoor pool was VERY cold and the indoor not much warmer.

Rooms were nicely equipped, very clean and modern.
Bathrooms was very nice, and large.

It's a real shame the videos can't be enjoyed from the public areas inside the hotel because they are stunning.
A few years ago we stayed at another hotel
Just down the road from this and we spent most of the evening just sitting, drinking, and enjoying the views.
This Pousada would be even better if they made the views available without having to walk through the gardens.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, Gerente at Pousada Serra da Estrela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear customer,

We thank you for your comments and the time spent. It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

We have taken note of suggestions for improvement. Thank you for your opinion and we will take the suggestions into consideration. Once again we thank you for your comments which we will be passing on to all our team members and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covilha
2.2 km away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
244 reviews
8.2 km away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
1,039 reviews
0.5 km away
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
15.2 km away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
50 reviews
4.1 km away
Purala Wool Valley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Serra da Estrela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Serra da Estrela

Address: Estrada Nacional 339 | Penhas da Saude, Covilha 6200-324, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Covilha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Price Range: €74 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Serra da Estrela 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada da Serra da Estrela is located inside the Parque Natural da Serra da Estrela, in Covilhã. The breathtaking views are of snowcapped mountains or the greenery of continental Portugal's highest mountains at an altitude of 1,993 m. Inside the building, the walls are pristine white, the ceilings are high and the traditional tiles are original and have been restored. You will also see fabulous old iron-and-wood elevators. Visit this work of the renowned architect Souto Moura, who restored the main structure of the old Serra da Estrela sanctuary. At the Pousada, you will find a Spa with a sauna, Turkish bath and heated indoor swimming pool. In summer, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and take a stroll through the gardens. The Pousada offers free parking, a restaurant and a bar, a game room and a Kids Club. The rooms each have a flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi, all with elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Serra da Estrela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serra Da Estrela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing