We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
241
473
126
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
473
126
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel free parking minute walk nice pool city centre buffet style breakfast room old town underground garage reasonable size two night stay the river enjoyed my stay quiet room air conditioning common areas visiting coimbra
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This is a really good hotel. Very pleasant helpful staff. Our twin room with a river view was good. Not that the river view was particularly nice, overlooking the railway. The room 612 was a decent size with an OK if a bit dated bathroom. What made this hotel better than most town hotels was the excellent outdoor pool and a great spa. Buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Location of hotel is OK a 20 minute not really nice walk to the old town.
Coimbra itself other than the old Cathedral I was not really impressed with. Struggle to walk anywhere in the old town trying to dodge the cars in the narrow streets and some areas are very run down and scruffy.
This lovely hotel was our saviour in a disappointing city.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaSeqqueira, Gerente geral at Hotel Dona Ines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comment on Trypadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Dona Inês Coimbra

Helena Sequeira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

I really liked fast checking, comfortable room and good breakfest... Just the weather was not so ood to go to the pool (one of main reason to book this hotel was the pool ;))

Free undeground parking is as well good benefit.

Hotel is easy to find wit car, walkdistance to the city is 10-15min

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaSeqqueira, Gerente geral at Hotel Dona Ines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comment on Trypadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Dona Inês Coimbra

Helena Sequeira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We spent 1 night here and were very impressed, staff were lovely, pool was great, breakfast was good and it was close to the old town centre. I would have 1 concern if traveling with small kids, the windows in the bedrooms are an accident waiting to happen the way they open out without any safety catch.The ac was not fit for purpose either, made all the right noises but never cooled the room. These things aside we were more than happy here and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dunnangallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaSeqqueira, Gerente geral at Hotel Dona Ines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Greetings from Hotel Dona Inês

We would like to thank you for taking the time to place a review about your recent visit to Coimbra.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that the staff was committed to ensure that you had a pleasant one.

Rest assured that I will share your comments with our Team.

Sincerely,

Helena Sequeira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Nice service, nice management, decent value for money but I was a little disappointed that the rooms were a bit too small (although the beds were very comfortable, be prepared for 2 single beds put together, this is how they do it most of the time here in Portugal). The room and bathroom were clean but, as I stayed during a heat wave, the air conditioning on the top floor was having difficulty cooling the room (but I found out that air conditioning here in Coimbra is not their priority, it's not often as necessary as during this heatwave); to have the room to 22 degrees C it took almost 20 hours. However, the pool is great, deep and luckily at times partly shaded (you would need it during the heatwave). The gym is open 24 hours, another rarity. So, if amenities are important to you, staying here is a better choice than going to the more expensive, next door hotel. All in all I was happy here. Nothing fancy, but decent all around. If you come over during a non-heat-wave days, you will be fine. Don't expect a luxurious room but the mattresses were more comfortable than in the more expensive luxury hotel next door!

Room tip: higher floor better
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julestopbuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaSeqqueira, Gerente geral at Hotel Dona Ines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good Morning,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your friendly review and at the same time for the helpful assessment of our hotel.

It is very pleasing to know that our strong service concept was evident during your stay as our daily efforts are geared towards creating the quality atmosphere and bespoke service you experienced. We are also very grateful and motivated to receive your constructive feedback as we are always open to suggestions on how we can improve our services on a daily basis to satisfy our guest's wishes and provide an even better service now and in the future.

Thank you once again for your detailed description. It is nice to know that you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Helena Sequeira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We were more than happy with this hotel. It was clean and our room was a reasonable size on the fourth floor with pleasant views over the river.

Check in was achieved quickly and pleasantly with staff making useful suggestions for our stay. Breakfast was included and was a good selection for a two night stay. Good size bar with extremely friendly bar man.

Free underground car parking a bonus.

The hotel is a short 15 to 20 minutes walk to the historical centre which makes it ideal for visiting Coimbra.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenaSeqqueira, Gerente geral at Hotel Dona Ines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Greetings from Hotel Dona Inês

Thank you for your notes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Coimbra and took good note on your comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon in Coimbra.

Kind regards

Helena Sequeira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews