We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
14
28
24
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
28
24
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This hotel is quite away from the coast but this hotel is a very friendly place with the staff able to speak English .The hotel owner cooked us a beautiful dinner in his huge restaurant where we were the only ones, amazing

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

My wife and I booked this hotel not knowing it was a few kms from the heart of Aveiro and were pleasantly surprised. Although somewhat difficult to locate and a bit out of the way, it was worth the visit.

The parking directly in front of the facility was ample and the gardens and fruit trees were most inviting...good first impression!! The facilities are perfect for the budget consciencious visitor, especially with breakfast being included in the hotel cost. The breakfast selection was excellent and everything was fresh.

Check-in was very easy and our room was average, but very clean. We had a small balcony over looking the garden where we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner. Unfortunately, the pool was closed during our visit.

The on-site restaurant was a very pleasant surprise as well. We were there on the weekend and people kept arriving for dinner, so we decided to give it a try. By the time we wandered over, the place was absolutely packed and there was a most talented musician who had the place absolutely rocking!! We opted for the set meal which came with wine, refills, desert, coffee, etc. Service was excellent. When the bill arrived ,we were certain there was a mistake and asked the wait staff if it was correct. We were assured it was...what a bargain. great food, good wine and entertainment at a very low cost!

Although this hotel is a bit out of the way, it is worth a visit for all the memorable reasons.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived just after mid day...happy to find a disabled parking space available. The entrance to the hotel was a pretty garden with flowering trees and a fountain, the reception staff spoke excellent English and check in was speedy. We had reserved three rooms, the first, a large queen bed on the ground floor to the rear of the hotel, no view as such but clean and neat with small t.v. and bathroom. The second was on the second floor to the rear of the hotel, twin beds, small balcony, t.v. and bathroom, very clean and equipped with toiletries. The third room was on the front of the hotel, overlooking the flowering trees and fountain, twin beds, t.v.with plenty of English speaking channels and bathroom. The shared areas of the hotel, were clean and tidy with Portuguese/Spanish decor. The gardens and the pool area were, pretty, clean and well kept. Just to mention, the on site restaurant...as we were later arriving, unpacking etc. we wanted a light lunch before going out to the pool...the meals on the menu were rather heavy for what we wanted, so after explanation, the staff and cooks prepared us a lighter lunch of omelette and salad...big thanks there, we then went on to enjoy a few lazy hours by the pool. Breakfast was quite busy, seems most people eat at 9.30a.m. to 10.00am, there was plenty to choose from, bread rolls, ham, cheese, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, coffee, orange juice. I would suggest eating a little earlier if you like to start the day off with a little less hustle and bustle. We will be sure to stay again at this hotel when next in the area. You do need a car as it is some distance from Aveiro central.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead of time and ask for a room facing the garden /fountain area...though the one we had was twin beds...not sure if there are queen beds on any of the front facing rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iamtullahlula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I visited our son in Spain for Christmas, and while there we planned a three day trip to Portugal. We enjoy beach towns at any time of the year and Aveiro is one of those special places with a great beach for surfing. My son and I are surfers and this beach has several good breaks with nice sandy bottoms. Even though it is winter, there are many good shops still open, so when we were not at the beach, there is plenty to see and do. We read reviews about this hotel on your site, and decided to give it a try--good choice : ). Being winter, the hotel was not full, so we really got to experience some good quiet time. When we first drove up the the hotel, it was decorated beautifully for Christmas, and in the evening the lights were just perfect. The room was big, and the bathroom huge, with a double sink and shower with full tub. I can see where this hotel is really set up for families because the extra beds were bunk style and our son really enjoyed sleeping in one--made him feel like a kid again. In the warmer months there is a big outdoor pool, indoor game room, ballroom and on-site restaurant. With our stay came a breakfast. The owners live on site and they gave us the name of a great restaurant close by for dinner. I will share that on this review as it was wonderful. The name is AbiloMarques. It is one place you must try if you are in the area. This town, hotel, and restaurant will always be a great memory of Portugal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The biggest difficulty is finding the hotel… even with Garmin! But once you found it, it is an honest place. Situated in green garden, enough parking, honest rooms a nice swimming pool and the breakfast is included in the morning. You NEED a car to stay here as it is a bit outside Aveiro. Once you have the place correct, then you are quickly in Aveiro center.
The hotel has a rather big restaurant in the other building; however it was closed in the evening. Not clear what was the reason? The person in duty recommended us a restaurant not far away aprox 2 à 3km “Abilio Marques, rua da Capela Bom suce Aveiro. Local but good food well served and honest in price (we paid for 2prs wine bottle included 45 €)
Breakfast is served in the residence building and honest.

As other person on Tripadvisor had also difficulties to find as we did, this could be a help:

-Note on the card /brochure you get there are GPS coordinates mentionned:
N40'35"30 W8'37"10
-The hotel is in Quinta do Picado, Rua do sol. E.N 335 between Quitas and Quinta do Picado

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews