We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
311
206
25
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
206
25
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink piano bar main canal pastry loved this hotel great hotel a real gem superior room ovos moles elegant hotel breakfast buffet fish market a wonderful stay polite staff each evening blackout curtains main sites
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Two nights and absolutely nothing to complain about. Rooms were plenty big enough, comfortable and well sound proofed. Every one very helpful with anything we wanted. You walk out on to a busy bit of street but as the hotel is at the end of the main street this really had to be expected. There are quieter more open places a short walk away but this is a tourist destination so there will be a lot of people.
Breakfast was good with a nice selection of products.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlieWallace59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A quirky hotel with themed rooms and a piano bar with a pianist playing on Friday and Saturday. It overlooks the main canal and is very convenient for shops and restaurants. Parking can be difficult but we were lucky enough to be there at the weekend when parking on metered spaces was free from 20.00 on Friday until 09.00 on Monday. Perfect for us.
Would happily stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank royandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Sometimes TripAdvisor reviewers are perverse - why on earth would the previous reviewer expect a city centre hotel on a compact site to have "quiet outdoor seating"... and the welcome drink he bemoans was available at any time when the hotel bar (quiet) was open. Other reviewers complain about the lack of hotel car parking - when, if they read the hotel's literature, they might have discovered that their parking fees would be paid by the hotel. This is a well turned out and comfortable hotel right in the middle of the tourist area which itself is in the centre of a busy city. It's clean, well appointed and the rooms are well sound proofed - although the street and canal outside the hotel do become very quiet at night. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Feckenhamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in August and Aveiro was a very buzzing little town. The hotel was in a perfect location and the two on duty receptionists were very helpful parking the car. We arrived early and were very disappointed to learn that after a long day travelling the hotel offered absolutely no outdoor space to relax, in fact, the only place you could sit was either the bar area or the room, a huge shame when the weather was so lovely outside. We were not offered a welcome drink until much later on in the evening, and this was given grudgingly by the bar man. There was very poor tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was suprising as the hotel had gone to the trouble of monogramming their bedding, towels, china, etc. Also, there was not bottled water in the rooms. The following eveing we went into the bar and mentioned this to the bar man, Emanuel, who was extremely rude and offensive and very loud. We mentioned this to the staff the next morning and they advised us that there was no Manager on site (very suprising for a 4 star hotel) Upon returning to the UK I have messaged the hotel and had no response. I would not stay here again. Such a shame for the sake of a little personal attention to detail.

Room Tip: don't stay here
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank carole18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Positives: The location is the real draw here. Right outside the main tourist area and the canals, and near many restaurants makes it perfect for a visit to this interesting town. There is even a shopping centre close by for wet days.
Room was a large corner (upgrade) with 4 windows lots of light - very effective black out curtains too - decent furnishings, very clean and well equipped standard interior bathroom.
Breakfast is generous with fruit salad and fresh fruit to choose. Some cheeses with jam, no less than 8 sweets, all looking fresh and local. Coffee a bit varied...

Negatives:
The real annoyance is parking. There are 5 hotel spaces outside but these were always full and unavailable. The other spaces nearby were also full and given the volume of tourist and other visitors in the town, it is a problem. Weekends are very busy and Sundays allow free parking so less of a problem but you have to keep an eye on it. Metered spaces only up to allow 2 hours which we used the night before giving us peace of mind. The Hotel did offer " to help" but we never found out what that meant!
The WiFi signal in our room was poor except near the door; shame as when connected, the speed was great. TV choices limited if that matters.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and high up
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_fool_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews