We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Charming Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MLKM55
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Charming Home”
Reviewed 25 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019
1
person found this review helpful

This home is everything it says in the description and more! The setting is spectacular. Margarida was so accommodating and easy to work with. A basket of fresh bread, butter, and jams awaited us! Milk and juice too...everything we needed to start our vacation. It’s a short drive to Furnas so terrific location. Great place for long walks, bike rides, or kayaking. Our stay couldn’t have been better and I would love to return someday. Thank you Margarida for a fabulous stay!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABCambrid...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019
3
people found this review helpful

This house is even more lovely than the pictures show. There is plenty of space for a family to stay in and the location right next to the lake is magnificent. We felt very lucky to be staying there. There are delightful gardens which we had a key to access after closing, and it was very special to take our evening walks through them, seeing peacocks, a waterfall and impressive plants and trees. The town of Furnas is close by and also you can walk round the lake to the hot springs. At Furnas you can bathe in the warm iron-rich water in the Parque. We also drove to Sete Cidades which took about 1hr15 and was well worth the trip. I would highly recommend this house for a family holiday on Sao Miguel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleen S
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful 5 night stay on the lake.
It's a country palace on the lake really. The pictures hardly capture the beauty.
Three times the space needed for a couple, in an amazing location.
My only feedback is that it is advertized as " Breakfast included" which guided our choice of accomodation.
On the first day there was a welcome basket of bread, jams and cheeze, most of which I can not eat. There were no daily breakfasts.
So the claim of providing daily breakfast is not entirely accurate.
That changed the planning of our days from what we origninally imagined.
I would have chosen differently had I known ahead. Perhaps this aspect could be worded more acurately ?

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Nov 2018
Dear Coleen,

Thank you for your kind words about our accommodation, it was a pleasure to accommodate you both.
Regarding the breakfast information we are really sorry for the misunderstanding, normally the local products basket is a surprise and not a meal. The website were you booked had a wrong description and we have already fixed it.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to see you again in Casa dos Barcos or Casa da Lagoa.

Best regards,

Team Casa dos barcos and Casa da Lagoa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christusr...
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 13 October 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved Casa dos Barcos! Staying here felt like we were king and queen of a palace! It is so close to the lake that you can hear the water lapping up on the shore which is so relaxing. The stars are amazing and you can see them out of the beautiful huge windows in the house. We took a walk in the garden (which we held the keys to) in the evening when it was closed to the public...it was so peaceful and beautiful in there! We walked all the way to the waterfall (about a half hour walk) and it was so worth it! You could literally spend hours in this garden. The Chapel of our Lady of Victories was so beautiful. We were able to enter it twice with the help of Sylvia. Such a blessing. Also, the kayaks and bikes that were there for our use were so much fun and added so much to our stay. When we arrived Sylvia greeted us and showed us around the whole place. She was wonderful! So were Fatima and Margarida! They made us feel so welcome. Everything was so clean in the house. It was such a gift to be welcomed with a huge basket filled with delicious bread, cheese, jams and cookies from the town of Furnas which is just a short drive from Casa dos Barcos. In the town there was a beautiful Church (Our Lady of Joy) in where we were able to attend Mass twice! On Sunday the Church was packed! We also enjoyed the hot springs which were less than 10 minutes from Casa dos Barcos. You can get to so many amazing places within 10 minutes from the house, but we could have spent all our time right on the property and never got bored! We didn't want to leave! Can't say enough about this awesome place! Hope to bring our family here one day!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stlouisbl...
st. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An experience not to miss”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were met at the house by Fatima, at 10:00 as she knew our flight arrived early that morning and she thought we might like to rest a bit. Really thoughtful and greatly needed! She greeted us with a basket of freshly baked breads, tea and jams. What a treat!
Later in the day she gave us a tour of the church located in the botanical garden. Its an amazing place. My husband, daughter and I hiked to the waterfall, the garden is breathtaking.
The house is wonderful. The ceilings are high, windows are huge and they look out over the lake which is directly outside the house. The views from the house are spectacular.

The rooms are spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Coffee was provided so we could start each day with a fresh pot of coffee.

Our favorite part was walking in the botanical garden each day. It was so magical. We loved the fern garden, it felt as though we were in Jurassic Park. The house has bikes and canoes available for the house guests. If it had been warmer we definitely would have gone out on the lake.

Fatima was gracious and helpful. Don't miss your chance to purchase a magnet of the house. It is a photo of the house and lake, a great remembrance from a wonderful trip.

Thank you Fatima and Margarida for opening up such a wonderful house to visitors like us.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the botanical garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you for your testimony to the Casa dos Barcos. Our greatest satisfaction is to know that our guests felt comfortable and willing to return.
It was a pleasure for us to have your family in our house! Hope see again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.