We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed her Mid September - Can not find one single fault with it. Had a 1 bedroom apt - great size had sofa bed also. Kitchen area great big fridge freezer, hob microwave, and utensils. Very clean - staff in everyday.
Free Wifi in the entrance area. Staff really excellent. Pool area nice plenty of sunbeds, 3 pools. Snack bar at pool - didn't eat or drink there but it look ok.
There is a resturant there - we ate there a couple of nights - nice not over priced as they often are.
Beach was about a maximum 10min walk if your a slow walker. lovely little cove - you can walk a bit futher along if you want abit more happening but we were happy with the quiet.
Only thing I would say is that if you do not have a car you will have to take a taxi to eat anywhere eles it is a bit away from other resturants - we had a car so it was only 5 mins to where all the resturants were.
It is very quiet, and it is a less english that other places in the algarve (we were happy about this) but if your the type that is looking for a english breakfast and a irish pub on your doorstep then maybe this wouldnt be the best place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beijarflorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    79
    29
    23
See reviews for
189
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I have just returned from 9 days at the Estrela and I have to say after reading a lot of the reviews, allot of people made a lot of negative comments which were irrelevant to us!

We arrived at 12:30 and were surprised to find our room was all ready. This was brilliant as we had been up since 4am! We were able to just chill out for 10 mins before heading out to the beach! Praia da Vau beach is about a 15 minute walk down a long road. There are no shops or anything on the way which I wasn’t really expecting. The beach is fairly small but was lovely. When we were there the waves were really big so it meant everyone was sat right at the back of the beach so as not to get wet!

We had booked a studio and it was fine. Yes you hear people above you walking around in heels and moving chairs, but to be fair to the hotel they do ask you not to do anything like this! This is down to people above you! We hired a safe it was 30 euros for the week and we got 10 euros back when we handed in the key. Maids came everyday although sometimes not until 5pm.

We took taxi's everywhere. Praia da Rocha, Alvor and the Continente Supermarket are all around 5 euros. Praia da Rocha has got a fantastic beach. You can hire 2 sun lounges and a parasol for 10 euros for the whole day. Brilliant! There weren’t many British places which was a surprise to see! There are a few Irish pubs and also a Welsh Bar! We found that night time entertainment was limited. Yes there are a few late night bars and discos, but apart from people playing the guitar, there wasn't much else.

Alvor is worth going to in the evening, lots of lovely restaurants and bit busier. Look out for the free maps to show you where they are, it's a bit of a maze! We had better meals there then in Rocha, but half of the fun is trying out places!

One thing I would recommend is getting a taxi to the Aqua Centre if you would like to do some shopping. It cost us about 6-7 euros and was the best shopping available. There is a Jack Jones, H&M, Berskha, Pull and Bear, Mango and even a Primark! There is a large Jumbo supermarket here also as well as a few places to eat and I was grateful to find a jewellery shop which sold Camellia beads! (Which are cheaper then the UK!)

The reception staff are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and we met 4 of them. There is always someone there. There is internet available but you pay 1 euro for 12 minutes I think. Not brilliant, but then we didn't go on holiday to sit on the computer!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a clean hotel with friendly staff, a good size pool area and good size rooms. Yes the location isn't the best but we saw some of the other apartments in the centre and they are no where as nice! To be honest if we had stayed more in Praia da Rocha we properly wouldn't have gone into Alvor, and I am really glad we did.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the bar and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimmy2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I got back from Estrela do Vau yesterday and had a wonderful 7 night stay with a friend. We are both 26 but we wanted to stay somewhere relaxing as we needed a break! The hotel was mainly families and couples but I would suggest it is suitable for all ages / groups. It was not noisy at night at all and our room was air conditioned. The only fault was the creaky bed that woke me up every time I moved in the night!

From the minute we arrived, Paula, one of the reception team was so helpful - giving us maps of the local area and sharing her knowledge with us. The hotel arrange various day trips at quite good value- to the local markets, Zoomarine, Water Park and even as far as Lisbon and Gibraltar.

There is a spa and a gym in the hotel too - various treatments are avaliable at the spa but we only used the sauna, tiny indoor pool and the jacuzzi - 6 Euros each which seemed like a good deal and was a nice break as it was so hot outside! There is a computer with Internet access in the communal area (I'm not sure of costs) as well as books to borrow during your stay. There is entertainment in the hotel most nights but we didn't see any of it so can't comment on it.

The Outdoor Pool is pleasant enough - there are two larger pool and a smaller one for young children - but with the beach being so near we hardly spent any time there. There is a snack bar serving cocktails, ice creams, pizzas and light bites too. We stayed off season so there were plenty of sunbeds to go around but I can imagine during the school holidays you would have to get down to the pool early!

The beach is lovely - you can walk along when the tide is out to Praia de Rocha and there are plenty of bars / cafes with sunbeds for hire or you can sit on the beach for free. The sea was lovely and it was great fun to jump the waves when the tide was coming in.

There is a restaurant on site serving breakfast, lunch and dinner but we preferred to visit the local restaurants in Alvor as it is a small fishing town / village and there are lots of lovely restaurants serving fresh fish.

The apartment was spacious with air con in the bedroom, a balcony, a TV and was suited for self catering well - a kettle, microwave, hob and fridge are provided and the supermarket is less than 5 euros away in a taxi. There is also a mini market on site - it is expensive but handy for any emergencies! The shop in reception sells UK magazines and papers and stamps and postcards too.

Overall - the hotel / apartment was great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was a really nice apartment block to stay at, well appointed , spacious, and our balcony was large with a great view. Aircon in bedroom, also. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the cafeteria
served good fast food at reasonable prices, even made sandwiches on request if you wanted to spend your time on the beach. So, absolutely no problem with the accommodation.
However, to make it perfect, you would have to move the whole complex half a mile towards Praia Da Rocha, or Alvor. The Continente supermarket was a forty five minute walk away, on site supermarket limited ,and way too expensive. We would walk ,early on to take advantage of the shade, load up and get a taxi back. 5 Euros without tip, but one took us the long way round and charged 7 Euros! Buses are ok, and charge 1.50 Euros for all journeys.
Walk to the beach took about 20 minutes through pine trees, but seemed to take longer coming back, uphill! Beach is fantastic, an umbrella and two beds cost ten Euros, but be aware the beach bar does not serve food.
.
Would I come again, certainly, as long as the old pins are up to it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here in September and thought that the apartments were very clean and spacious with a nice view from a large balcony overlooking the golf course, which was shady in the afternoon - this was good as the temperature was a bit higher than we expected! The kitchen had most things you need for a little light cooking, which was all we wanted to do. There is no oven, but there is four hot plates, a microwave, kettle, toaster and coffee percolator. Hotel staff very helpful and available 24/7. Pool area looked very good - didn't use it as we would rather be on the beach. The snack bar was nice, good range of food and not expensive. They will also make sandwiches to take away - which was handy as the beach bar on Praia do Vau beach only sells drinks and snacks (crisps etc) and not food. The beach was around 10 minutes through the pine woods and car park and was absolutely beautiful. We walked to Alvor only the once as it is quite a way, but the buses run there every 20 minutes and cost 1.50 euros. Enjoyed exploring Alvor as it is not very big or built up and has some very nice fish restaurants down by the river. Also went to Portimao, but this is quite built up and a lot of the restaurants on the river front have closed, now only a choice of 5 or so. We did walk to Praia da Rocha lots of times as this is a very nice 30 minutes or so (at a gentle stroll) along the promenade. Had a few meals at the Safari restaurant - just lovely! Would return to these apartments as we both had a really good time!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mertonggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
1.6 km away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#21 of 78 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.2 km away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.9 km away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.2 km away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing