We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best self-catering accommodation we ever stayed in - have already booked for next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Spent two weeks in Vilabranca in August. This was our 1st visit and it certainly raised the bar in terms of accommodation abroad - huge two-bedroomed apt with loads of space for 5 of us, full self-catering facilities, excellent cleaning service, very pleasant reception staff and spotlessly clean swimming pools and complex. Location is great as it's within 15 minutes walk of Lagos town and two beaches but it's a lovely quiet residential area at night so no noise! Also, the complimentary bus service to town is great if too tired to walk. Taxis are also very reasonable, €3.90 seems to be standard rate. We have already booked to return next August. Would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 493 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed at Vilabranca for 1 week with my children aged 12 and 14. It was excellant. The rooms are spacoius and clean and it was possible to self cater, not like many places i have stayed abroad. There was a full size cooker in the apartment and all utensils that you could possibly need.
There are 2 pools. We choose the smaller as it was quiter. At last a hotel where there's not fight for sunbeds even in August! Whatever time of day we went to the pool there was room for us. The bar staff were lovely, couldn't be more helpful and very polite.
It is very quiet and no kids clubs but that suited us fine. There is a courtesy bus to the town and to the beach.
There are 2 supermarkets very close by both of which are well stocked and don't miss the croissants from Super Eureka.
We were taken to our room on arrival which also makes a very pleasant change.
All in all nothing negative at all. Went to the Splash and Slide waterpark which can be pre booked to include entrance and bus and the bus picks up at the stop opposite the hotel. We paid 67 euros for the 3 of us all in.
You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucestershireSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

we are just back from our first trip to Lagos and the Vilabranca. We travelled with our 3yr old and 15mth old and couldnt have had a more pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly, we had a great apartment on the ground floor as requesed and it was perfect.. Fully walled so very safe for the kids as we were a bit anxious about them escaping to the pool. Lovely peple staying there. Very pleasant seemingly mainly Irish crowd. We stayed at the smaller pool and preferred it. Reception were very helpful as were the cleaning staff . Shuttle bus handy to go down town in the evening.They will also book you a taxi and cabs are about 3.50 and very plentiful. Will definitely return to Vilabranca.
Only complaint would be that the apartment has no kettle and it did have a slightly musty smell, but it was very clean.
We walked to Praia dona ana beach but it wasnt convenient with the kids/buggy etc as to many steps, but a much better one is porto dos mos, about 15 mins walk and there is a little restaurant there that will call you a taxi to come back. Much easier and lovely beach if you have young kids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jx2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We booked a one bedroom apartment for myself my husband and five year old boy. I had emailed a couple of days before our departure to request a room in quiet location with a pool view. It was my husband's birthday and they arranged for a bottle of wine to be left on the table upon arrival with a card, which he was very surprised and happy with. First impressions I didnt think our one bedroom was huge as other reviewers had mentioned, I did ask if there were any other apartments available but they were fully booked.
As previous posters mentioned the kitchen has all the mod cons, except a kettle. We ate in the apartment for breakfast and lunch most days.
There are two swimming pools in the complex we used both but preferred the smaller one.
There was some entertainment in the bar, one night we went in here and they were ok.
There is a free bus that goes down in the evening time at 6.45, we had been to Lagos the previous year but not to these apartments so on the first night we got the bus down to the old town.
We only discovered on our last day there was a short cut to the old town so a suggestion would be if the driver when dropping people down let them know this as we just walked the route the bus took most nights
Taxi's were a bit hard to get we waited one night 25 mins and decided to walk, coming home was never a problem.
There are two close by supermarkets, they did lovely fresh rolls every day. There is also a bigger supermarket about ten mins walk straight across the road from the complex called the Intermarche. Its a bit of a walk on the way back if you have alot of bags.
We went on a boat trip to the Grottos and caves, it was just over an hour and was very enjoyable, cost was €25 for the three of us.
We ate in the Triangulo restaurant just down the road at the roundabout twice, had the chateaubriand and it was to die for! mmm
Also ate in Do Cais on the Marina, very nice meal, Little Italy for pizzas. There are probably too many restaurants to choose from!!
I also heard people talking about Fernandos for steak this was just located between the fish market and the petrol station.
We also hired a car for the last four days and parking wasnt a problem in the complex, we went to Zoo Marine and Alvor, very well sign posted.
There are two beaches near by we went to Praia Dona Ana thought this was a very relaxing beach although you cant build sandcastles as the sand is too heavy!
The reception couldnt do enough, my ipod went dead and I needed it to be charged on a computer and they did this no problem. If you wanted them to book anything this also was never a problem. We hired a safe for the week and the cost was 12e.
A couple of things I would recommend would be to put on another bus service run down to the town at 7.45pm, I know its not too far to walk but sometimes with children its nice to have the option.
Secondly there was no kiddies club but alot of children, something they could look into.
All in all a very well run complex, very clean, friendly staff I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicklowlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was our first year in the last six, staying at an apartment complex instead of a hotel. I was very impressed with the level of cleanliness and the professionalism of the staff. We stayed for 2 weeks and I don't have a single complaint about the Vilabranca apartments. The one bed apartment we were allocated for our stay was huge and spotlessly clean. It had all the appliances one would need on holidays; even a coffee maker! There are 2 supermarkets located across the road which was very handy. It is ideally located for the beach, with Praia Mao an easy 15 minute walk when you turned left at the gate, and Praia D'Ana a 15 minute walk to the right. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
3 km away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
368 reviews
2.3 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
0.8 km away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#17 of 53 in Lagos
176 reviews
1.6 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: €37 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing