We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aqualuz is just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #7 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aqualuz is just fine”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for week in Sept 11. Worst bit of the trip... coach transfer from Faro, went round the houses and back! 2.5 hrs (but you get what you pay for and that's not the hotel's fault)!Day time arrival and immediately upgraded from studio to larger apartment as hotel was pretty full. It was one of the previously maligned corner apartments but to be honest it was perfectly Ok for us to go back to the room and not have the sun blaring in, when you've been wandering around in it all day. Facilties in the room were Ok; could have used more kitchen tools, decent tin opener, kettle, maybe some better glasses, but these are fairly incidental. Only real issue was with a somewhat intermittant TV reception on certain channels...one minute it's tuned in, the next its 'the signal has been lost'. Air con worked a treat. We looked at a few other hotels whilst in Lagos and it's difficult to see where you would achieve a better combination of good accommodation alongside a quiet but easliy accesible location. Gym was Ok too and they didn't have the annoying habit of charging for its use (unlike others we've been to). Even spin classes were included. We will return (to Lagos and this hotel). Very good holiday, perfectly timed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor better than 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank training68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    286
    84
    17
    14
See reviews for
242
255
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed in the Aqualuz with my husband for a week at the start of Sept, when we arrived we were given room 204, we werent impressed, it is right on the end of the walkway so everybody can see right into your balcony and room, no privacy whats so ever, we had to keep our curtains closed all day, we asked to be moved but they were fully booked. Drinks and food in the complex were a bit pricey, compared to the prices 5 minute walk from the hotel. On a good note, the place is spotless, cleaners came in every day. Loved Lagos itself, loads to see and do.Great cocktails in the Zanzibar, €3 upto 12.00am. You have to try Nanabahs resturant, food is fab, its a real releaxed place. I would definitley go back to Lagos but I'd be looking for a differnt place to stay.

Room Tip: You have no privacy at all in room 204, not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SineadAK2008Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Briefly the hotel did exactly what it says on the tin. Choice of accommodation in Lagos isn't plentiful.

Good spot with kids, and kiddie club very nice, although a bit slapdash ie no signing in or signing out. Yes the pools are cold which doesn't matter when the sun is out, but once behind a cloud you really feel the chill in the pool.

The beds are very very hard. That is a fact!.

We arrived in the evening and first impression wasn't great as the restaurant near the pool is a bit sad, but the resort grew on us over the 2 weeks!

Reception staff efficient, not overly friendly but then I don't go on hols to make friends with the staff.

Room clean but certainly basic. Kitchette very basic. Bring towels for pools. Not sure if we didn;t have kids whether we'd go here.


ps lol we were also in room 242! which is probably one of the worst rooms in the whole hotel, as several people have stated the balcony is tiny and does not get one ray of sunshine the entire day. II have a feeling though that the living space might be slightly larger than other rooms, but I could be wrong.

Room Tip: Use the underpass to get into town, less than 10 mins walk. And 3euro back in a taxi, well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Our third time to this hotel. We were put in room 242 which as a previous reviewer noted is one of the worst rooms. We were right in the corner and got very little sun and the balcony was tiny! We asked for a kettle and got it three days later, had no wine glasses in the kitchen and it wasn't as clean as previously. Staff were rude, especially the head man on reception and don't think we will return. While we were there there was an incident where a child got hurt by a shower screen falling off and his parents were very disappointed by the hotel's response. They seem to be a bit blaise about the hotel's popularity and considering we have been there more than once could have displayed better customer service. Still good things about it though, pool area good, kids club ok (needs better signing in/more structure though), rooms cleaned daily etc. Would not go back though...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived here at 2am from our transfer from Faro.
The reception greeted us by name as soon as we got through the door.
We got into our room to find out we'd been upgraded. Apartment is massive so very pleased.
It's a ten minute walk to the beach but I'd recommend buying your own umbrella from a shop before hand - much cheaper than hiring a lounger at the beach.
Wifi in the hotel is fast provided you're by the pool or in reception but costs 25 euros for the week.
I'd recommend getting a taxi to Linda Bar one evening to have dinner on the beach.
There's a gym a bit like virgin active attached to the hotel but we forgot to bring trainers - it's free to use once a day if you're staying at the hotel.
Breakfasts are good - buffet style cereal and sausages eggs etc so worth opting for.
Very happy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynamesnotdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
1.8 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.4 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.6 km away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Property: AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing