We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$252
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$152
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$181
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$181
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$253
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$429
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$17,113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
55
15
17
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
15
17
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooze cruisecrepesmama makesevery morningcommon roomprincess roomhuge partypub crawl every nightbar crawlown bathroomhome away from homeshort walkmammapubcrawlpartyingnetflixportugal
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

The rising cock hostel has a big reputation for being the party place to stay in Lagos. Your stay at the rising cock is all dependent on the people (note: all Australians). We met a great bunch of girls which made the experience and the price worth it!

The vibes around the hostel are very relaxed and chilled. People are always coming and going and there is a pub crawl every night for everyone at the hostel.The staff are friendly (especially mumma!) and want your time in the hostel to be a huge party. The hostel is not too big so you feel at home but beds, sleeping spaces and amenities can be a bit disorganized. There is no air con in the rooms apart from the princess room (all females)!!

Stay here if you want to party!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Timanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Hereby Reviewing the Rising Cock Booze cruise. I have not stayed at the hostel!
1.) Booze cruise ended 1 hour early, no compensation was given.
2.) Beer was inadequately cooled, its not really fun to drink lukewarm beer in the heat. Staff brings beer on the boat warm and its put in a big water bucket with some ice to cool down. Obviously you cant cool hundreds of beers with one big bag of ice within minutes. 60 minutes into the tour the beers werent cold anymore.
3.) Not a cruise, boat is ancored a mile down the marina
4.) No dedicated soundsystem, just a speaker trolley that tour guides use. Overall low value for money. especially considering that the beer is a cheap discount beer. Should be priced around 30 EUR maximum and only really doable if you bring a cooler and some ice.

Management didnt fully respond & react to my request concerning a partial refund considering that the tour ended prematurely.

Giving two stars as the staff was nice and motivating.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing staff and place!! Can't fault a thing. Home away from home. Would highly recommend staying here because it's so welcoming and so much fun. Mumma crepes are the best thing in the morning and her secret tea!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Emmap1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Thoughout 6 years of traveling I stayed in dozens of hostels, few measure up to The Rising Cock. 'Mama' who runs it has a profound understanding of hostel hospitality. At breakfast she serves crepes, believe me the phrase," You can't have a crepe if you don't have a plate", will be of your best memories. Top marks for the staff, they care for customers, many of whom can be young (can't handle their drinks). The nightly bar crawl (about 2 blocks) is a smashing good time. When somebody needs help home, they are there. Not all places can say that. The rooms and beds are more than comfortable, I saw some of the other rooms and was impressed by the design & decore. There is ample storage lockers. The modern common area entices everybody in the hostel equally with loads of couch space. At the Rising Cock most people will introduce themselves to newcomers, you don't feel alone. I could go on, to sum up, if you go to Lagos, stay at The Rising Cock..."You can't have a crepe if you don't have a plate..."

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markthesolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Arrived at the rising cock hostel mid-day to the sound of someone throwing up in the bathroom by the lobby, and the smell of moldy cheese and laundry that never dried correctly. Also was greeted by a slideshow of college kids motorboating each other and blacked out drinking. got to our 4 person room and the entire area smelled terrible, the lockers were not nearly big enough to hold any belongings. Internet barely worked.

we immediately went to lunch and booked another hotel. When leaving, we were surrounded by staff members that were surprised that we would leave. We didn't have the heart to tell them that the entire place stunk. Can only imagine what the night would have been like.

Room Tip: don't book here unless you are 20 years old and love the smell of vomit
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmb3893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews