We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay, EVER! ”
Review of Rising Cock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Cock Hostel
Ranked #53 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely vile place! Booked 2 beds for a friend and I (male) months ago only to arrive to be told they assumed we were a couple and put us in a double bed. When we complained we were told to ask "the other people to swap" with no apology offered and zero care for the fact that it's made us feel uncomfortable, especially because I know two other friends that booked the day before and both got single beds. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting with no toilet paper in one of them for over 12 hours. When you have a bunch of people with 3 bathrooms to share something like toilet paper should be provided! It was so loud and people gave zero concern that I was sleeping and jumped on the bed and spoke loudly and watched snapchat videos in bed at 5am. In the morning I booked another hostel with two nights left of my stay I was told I wasn't getting a refund because it was less than 48 hours notice. Absolute joke of a place where no one cares about their guests. Wish I could rate it a zero STAY AWAY AT ALL COST!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Rising Cock Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

The rising cock hostel has a big reputation for being the party place to stay in Lagos. Your stay at the rising cock is all dependent on the people (note: all Australians). We met a great bunch of girls which made the experience and the price worth it!

The vibes around the hostel are very relaxed and chilled. People are always coming and going and there is a pub crawl every night for everyone at the hostel.The staff are friendly (especially mumma!) and want your time in the hostel to be a huge party. The hostel is not too big so you feel at home but beds, sleeping spaces and amenities can be a bit disorganized. There is no air con in the rooms apart from the princess room (all females)!!

Stay here if you want to party!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Timanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Hereby Reviewing the Rising Cock Booze cruise. I have not stayed at the hostel!
1.) Booze cruise ended 1 hour early, no compensation was given.
2.) Beer was inadequately cooled, its not really fun to drink lukewarm beer in the heat. Staff brings beer on the boat warm and its put in a big water bucket with some ice to cool down. Obviously you cant cool hundreds of beers with one big bag of ice within minutes. 60 minutes into the tour the beers werent cold anymore.
3.) Not a cruise, boat is ancored a mile down the marina
4.) No dedicated soundsystem, just a speaker trolley that tour guides use. Overall low value for money. especially considering that the beer is a cheap discount beer. Should be priced around 30 EUR maximum and only really doable if you bring a cooler and some ice.

Management didnt fully respond & react to my request concerning a partial refund considering that the tour ended prematurely.

Giving two stars as the staff was nice and motivating.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing staff and place!! Can't fault a thing. Home away from home. Would highly recommend staying here because it's so welcoming and so much fun. Mumma crepes are the best thing in the morning and her secret tea!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Emmap1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Thoughout 6 years of traveling I stayed in dozens of hostels, few measure up to The Rising Cock. 'Mama' who runs it has a profound understanding of hostel hospitality. At breakfast she serves crepes, believe me the phrase," You can't have a crepe if you don't have a plate", will be of your best memories. Top marks for the staff, they care for customers, many of whom can be young (can't handle their drinks). The nightly bar crawl (about 2 blocks) is a smashing good time. When somebody needs help home, they are there. Not all places can say that. The rooms and beds are more than comfortable, I saw some of the other rooms and was impressed by the design & decore. There is ample storage lockers. The modern common area entices everybody in the hostel equally with loads of couch space. At the Rising Cock most people will introduce themselves to newcomers, you don't feel alone. I could go on, to sum up, if you go to Lagos, stay at The Rising Cock..."You can't have a crepe if you don't have a plate..."

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markthesolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 km away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#33 of 52 in Lagos
42 reviews
0.2 km away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#16 of 138 in Lagos
31 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa do Sol Algarve
Casa do Sol Algarve
#64 of 138 in Lagos
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Gold Coast Hostel
Gold Coast Hostel
#24 of 138 in Lagos
64 reviews
1.5 km away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#3 of 138 in Lagos
141 reviews
1.0 km away
Big Chill Hostel
Big Chill Hostel
#74 of 138 in Lagos
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Cock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Cock Hostel

Address: Travessa do Forno 14, Lagos 8600-632, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: €27 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rising Cock Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing