We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rising Cock Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Paula(Lagos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riomar(Lagos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montemar(Lagos)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
55
14
17
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
14
17
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooze cruisecrepescommon roomprincess roomhuge partypub crawl every nightown bathroomhome away from homemamapartyingnetflixportugalbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

A fantastic hostel located perfectly adjacent to the beach and night spots. The hostel is a quick walk to the best restaurants in Lagos.

The rooms are simple and clean. Ma, the proprietor, is a legend and makes fantastic crepes each morning.

This hostel also went searching for something expensive that I left behind and also posted it to me in Australia, for free! Could not recommend this hostel more with that sort of service.

The hostel is also a 15 minute walk away from the amazing beach displayed in this reviews pictures

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sam-91-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

If you want to meet people and experience the nightlife than you should stay here!
They organise free pub crawls every night, the staff is really fun!
In the morning you get free crepes and during the day you can chill in the living room or go to the beach. It feels more like being at home than a hostel.
You should be aware that 90% of the guests are Australian though ;)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank miri_h161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Best hostel in Lagos. Mama is an amazing host that cooks up pancakes each morning and helps you recover from your hangover. Really comfortable couch and netflix in the communal area for when you're feeling seedy from what is a pretty wild pubcrawl each night.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I'm not sure how I feel about this place.

The breakfast and Mama is definitely the greatest thing about this place. Every morning, Mama makes crepes and Tiki Tiki (some magical hangover lemon tea) in her kitchen. Everyone is crammed in there recovering from the previous night. At first it feels weird seeing a bunch of grown men in their late 20s calling this stranger "Mama" but you get over it. They organize pub crawls and booze cruise. The booze cruise was a sausage fest. If you are a large group (~8 people), request the "beach house" (in quotations because it's not actually on the beach, it's just an apartment a few blocks away from the main hostel). However, i'd be weary to accept if they offered it to you in a smaller group because they will put other people in there and if you don't get along with them then are stuck in an apartment away from everyone with people you don't mesh with. The best thing about said "beach house" is the rooftop terrace (see photo) the views are amazing.

The BIGGEST con of this hostel is that you have to keep quiet after ~10:30 or 11pm and they kick you out of the common areas at that time too. The staff then sends you to a mediocre bar across the street that is also owned by the hostel owners so that you can go spend your money there. One night we were hanging out on our rooftop terrace and a staff member actually came all the way to our "beach house" to tell us to LEAVE because we were making too much noise.

Room Tip: If you are in a large group, request the beach house (6 single beds, 2 double beds)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank esss k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

During my time there, Australians made up 80% of the hostel. I heard it basically becomes an Australian fest at the peak of summer so make that what you will.

That aside, I had a great room with strong AC. I heard not all rooms have AC so be sure to request for it. Bathrooms were clean and fine. If you're lucky you get a massive double bed all to yourself!

Common areas were great for socializing. Pub crawls held every night were great! Be sure to try Black Vodka shots at nah nah's across the road.

Special shoutout to Goby and the other girl with long, dark curly hair - you girls were the best! Oh and Mama of course!! She's awesome

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank rochelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews