We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short stay”
Review of Hotel Sol Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sol Algarve
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for short stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Only stayed one night but were made to feel very welcome. Very friendly and welcoming reception, eager to help. Room very clean and beds comfortable. Deceiving from the front of the hotel as set in a side street and only looks quite small. There is a beautiful courtyard in the middle of the hotel with plants and a fish pond. Lovely area to sit in.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_JohnBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    184
    101
    30
    12
See reviews for
65
205
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel was ideally located for us: in central of Faro, easy walking distance to the bus terminal, to the quaint railway station and a bus ride to airport! Roos are nice and staff were very helpful especially in relation to places to visit. We loved the small café’ which serves simple but wholesome meals. Being on a strict budget, it made things easier for us as we didn’t have to hunt around for good meals (however, breakfast is included in the room rates) Really great place to stay: warm, comfortable and not expenseive for the service we got!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amiera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were surprised to have such a terrible experience based on the previous positive reviews. The only reviewer that accurately portrayed our experience (tripadvisor) was from a few months ago, who supplied the most recent photographs. The location is desolate, dark and derelict, even during the day. On arrival, the receptionist was away from his desk. After a substantial wait (for low-season) we were gruffly given the key to our room. Wifi is not available throughout the hotel (as advertised) but only available in the public area. The room was grungy, damp and smelly (as it was late and due to the rudeness of the receptionist we didn't ask for a room change). The shower was mouldy, and the hot water would not work (10mins of the hot tap and still cold). Leaving the hotel to get dinner, the receptionist demanded our room key (to look after), and after we declined (passports/computer) we were told that it would be a big problem for us if were to lose the key... (very threatening). On return, our sleep was interrupted every 5 mins by the sound of a generator. The breakfast that morning was decent but we were watched like a hawk by the hotel manager to make sure that no food was removed from the dining lounge. We have stayed at many hotels throughout Portugal and Spain and were pleasantly surprised by all of them but this one. This was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed at and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs, would not go back if someone paid us. You would get a better hotel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolAlgarve, Owner at Hotel Sol Algarve, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Firstly may we apologise for drawing your attention to the notice that asks clients not to remove food from the breakfast area to consume outside the hotel premises. We recognise that this is the source of your displeasure.
We agree that the location has become very run down. Designated a Conservation Area none of the buildings may be demolished and are therefore being abandoned. We are awaiting the Town Council to carry out improvements. However, we must disagree with every other element of your comments as, over the last few months we have carried out a lot of maintenance work which would render your comments unjustified. Your views however, did prompt a surprise visit this week, by the local Health Authorities. This Hotel passed their thorough investigation with flying colours!! We are awaiting their written report to submit to Trip Advisor in order that the unfounded comments be removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

have discovered that Hotel Sol Algarve and Residencial S.Algarve are the same place!. Apparently the fiscal authorities required that it be reclassified (upgraded) to Hotel. Anyway, I always enjoy getting to Faro and have a couple days rest at the hotel, before heading up North. The place is very welcoming and someone I met there actually remarked that the staff are always smiling. I would say that maybe this is indicative of a happy environment and I think it does affect the guests. Mind you I am here only in low season, so am unable to comment on how it is when it is really busy in high season. I was allocated one of the smaller doubles in the front and noted that quadruple glazing (ie two sets of double glazed doors) had been installed. This certainly made a difference as I had, several years ago, experienced noise and I think some other guests had also commented on it in the past. A small cafe' has now been added and that is superb as it saves going out. Each lunch time a small dish of the day is prepared (€4.00 for a meal, drink-incl.glass of wine - and a coffee!!). The problem is that it is also quite popular with the local office staff and so, if you want to eat lunch at the hotel, guests should order at the beginning of the day. I did this and took my lunch on a tray into the courtyard with the yellow umbrellas. That is really lovely, especially when the fountain is on. I would agree with one review that the televisions are dated and hard to see as the screen is quite small, although the owner has said that he will replace most of them during next year.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed out of high season only and at the discretion of the owner. If you want lunch at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova_girlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed here for one night before going to Lisbon for a few nights. It is located really near to the train and bus station which was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel plus the price was excellent value too. Good budget hotel suitable for all age groups. Our room price included a continental breakfast which was lovely.Free wifi was available also. Rooms are basic but have everything that you need. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Sol Algarve.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,561 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
946 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.4 km away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
164 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Algarve

Property: Hotel Sol Algarve
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 52, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol Algarve 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Sol Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Algarve Faro
Residencial Algarve Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing