We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to leave.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Juliana

Mature gardens and poolside area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature gardens and poolside area
Private pool and attractive large gardens Spacious and airy modern living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Mature gardens and poolside area
Private pool and attractive large gardens
Spacious and airy modern living area
Fully equipped kitchen
Centiannes Beach 5 minutes walk from Villa Juliana
Shaded poolside dining area
Poolside meals and night time swimming!
Poolside master bedroom with en-suite and whirlpool bath,and dressing room
Poolside double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Twin bedded room with extra beds and TV - Ideal for the kids!!
Gated private villa with gardens with secure parking and security system
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TurkishMi...
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My wife and I found Villa Juliana very different from other villas and apartments we'd rented over the years. It is the first we've ever rented in which we felt at home. The furnishings and decor throughout were of a very high standard, giving it a personal and homely feel. The bright colours and the many pictures on the walls in every room gave it an ambience many others lack.

The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean with great showers and plenty of hot water. The lounge & dining area was spacious and well appointed. The kitchen was a revelation. It was stocked with every utensil and device you could possibly need for a holiday stay - in fact, you could live in the villa and not need to buy a single thing!

Although it was too cold to make use of the pool we did spend a good deal of our time sat outside on the various patio sets and sunbeds provided. With the villa set in its own grounds we felt safe and secure and found it very relaxing.

One vital piece of equipment gave us complete peace of mind - a manned alarm system. I managed to set it off on my first foray into the villa (so I know it works!) and the manned part of it came into operation to verify that we were bone fide entrants and not burglars.

We both fell in love with Juliana and we had serious considered claiming squatter's rights. :-)

We were just two but it'll sleep six without a problem and the bedrooms are far enough apart to give you some privacy if you require it.

We shall definitely return to Villa Juliana.

Michael Crane
16 January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't fault any of it, we liked it all.
Liked least: Going home. :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia H
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, well equipped, perfectly positioned villa”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Juliana, was all it said in the advertisement, and more.
The location is close to the clifftops with amazing views, and some lovely scenic walks. The large garden is absolutely lovely, and perfect for children. We had the pool heated, a real bonus in October.
The villa is modern, light, airy and spacious. The kitchen very well equipped, even a chip pan and breadmaker!
The 2 doublebeds were kingsized and really comfortable.
A wonderful late holiday, with lovely weather as a bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting out in the garden with a drink in the evening
Liked least: Cant really think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plain Basic and a Learning Experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my family and the villa is just basic. A bit far from the main town area. The television reception was fuzzy and some nights we heard dogs barking for many hours. One or two nights maybe ok but not for every night while we stayed. Some of the steps around the property were somewhat dilapidated but I am not sure if this would contravene Portuguese health and safety laws. The beds were not comfortable. The toilet blocked on one occasion. For what we paid we could have got something much better. Next time we will thoroughly examine a villa to stay in than just rely on glossy photos. A learning experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather
Liked least: Beds, steps, toilets and night noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
This review is distinctly unfair.
The 2 main double beds are king sized divans, and both brand new for last season. They may be a little firm, but most clients have expressed a preference for a firmer bed.
The TV reception is not fuzzy. As advertised it is a service via SKY dish.
The villa is far from rustic, and as can be clearly seen from the advertisement photos, is modern and open plan.
The villa is a little way outside Carvoeiro, but very close to the beach. All as advertised.
I cant comment on dogs barking throughout the night. It is not something we have experienced, and no other guests have complained of this.
The only valid complaint is that because of very high temperatures last season, we suffered from inexplicable tile cracking, and we had to have builders called in in order to make emergency repairs, both for safety and aesthetic reasons.
The vast majority of guests leave very complimentary comments in our comments book.
This client left NO comments whatso ever. Nor did they make any complaint or comment to our managing agents, who would have attempted to address any complaint with the client, there and then.
I do not accept this complaint as being justifiable or balanced and reasonable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, level of equipment and barbecue
Liked least: Some noise (music) from nearby hotel but only occasionally.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$300
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing