We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana Palm Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Very nice resort. Our apartment looked over the cliffs and sea. Very well equipped, with everything you could think of in the kitchen including a washing machine and airer which were useful as it was our second week in the Algarve and we had a few things to wash. apartments nicely set out so that they didn't overlook each other and ours had a nice patio with table, chairs and parasol. Small pool but clean and warm. small childrens pool at the side, nice play area for little children with good play equipment. We only ate in the restaurant once and the food was exceptional and good value for money but a bit on the expensive side for everyday. Recption staff were very informative. Beach approx. 700m along the road to the right as you come out of the resort. lovely sand, café, life guard. accessed down a lot of steps but you could go a bit further on and there were some parking spaces and a slope down to the beach. town around half hour walk but well lit and plenty of taxi. lots of restaurants and bars and another beach. In all really nice resort but probably need a car.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us, we are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our facilities to be good and thought that the apartments were nicely set out. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With our best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Just back after 8 days in this excellent hotel. Well kept, quiet,very comfortable rooms, immaculate gardens and fantastic on site restaurant (Pimenta Preta) for relaxed snack/lunch or posh evening meal. Very helpful staff

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank EddieGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant on site. We hope to welcome you back to Pestana Palm Gardens again in the very near future.
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A very pleasant entrance greets you, but the reception and restaurant are both reached by stairs which could be a problem for mobility impaired. I don't think this is stated in the hotel information. Having said that the reception staff are very helpful, especially Vera who sorted out an upgrade to a townhouse, as there was a problem on arrival with our confirmed booking and she also assisted us in booking a Tuk Tour which was great fun.
The townhouse was very well equipped and laid out, with plenty of storage space and hangers. It was all clean light and airy with very efficient air conditioning. The kitchen overlooked the pool area and had both a dish washer and washing machine. I don't think you would have any problems being self catering. There was a personal patio at the rear with large table and 6 chairs plus 2 sun beds and a parasol. Sea view when standing and from upstairs.
The pool is a good size and well maintained with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. There are nice grounds and you can get to the cliff path from the end of the drive. To walk into Carvoeiro it is best to use the road and new walk way. The local beach is a nice walk in the opposite direction.
We were half board which I don't think we would do again. The meals are provided by the Pimenta Preta Restaurant, nice setting over looking the pool from inside the first floor or at the pool bar. The staff are mainly very nice but the service can be quite slow. If you are half board the dinner choice is limited to two items for each course, which worked in the main. Otherwise you have a 25 euro per person allowance to use the full menu. The dishes are very tasty and have some good twists. We liked the fact you can also choose to have lunch instead the menu is good for that too and there are no restrictions. This outdoor area could do with more regular sweeping!
The breakfast was average, with the same choices provided everyday; sliced fruit, fruit salad, yogurt pots, 3 cereals, croissants, cake, cold crepes, custard tarts, toast and jams. Hot food was boiled or fried eggs, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, bacon and sausage; the temperature of these varied from stone cold to very hot depending on your luck.
We thought it was a nice mix of guests from families with pre-school children to retirees and mainly British, Irish and German. Most of the staff spoke multiple languages to some extent, we had no problem with communication.
There is a small gym and sauna on site but we didn't use these.
We don't usually return to the same place but if we did this would be on my list.
Thank you Pestana Palm Gardens for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MaryD0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and the facilities the area has to offer. With regard to the mobility impaired, we do not recommend Pestana Palm Gardens and have this indicated on all websites where possible. The resort was designed and built many years ago and the architecture of the resort regretably did not take the mobility impaired into consideration. As all units have stairs internally, we always advise that the resort is not suitable for those with walking difficulties. We hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.
With our very best regards
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We have stayed here twice. The Town houses are spacious and fully equipped. To have a washing machine on holiday is great !!! Close to beach but advisable to have a car to visit Carvoiero and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddie_StMaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to welcome back our guests and hope to continue doing so in the near future. With our very best regards, The Managment, Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were staying at the apartments and had two excellent meals in the restaurant. Good choice, great food beautifully presented and we were so well looked after by our waiter, Joao. He was friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and couldn't do enough for us. A real asset to a very good restaurant. We'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The apartments were fine but some in need of a refurb. This review is really about the excellent re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scotstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the opportunity to also try the Pimenta Preta Restaurant. We will of course pass on your comments and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the very ner future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.2 km away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,609 reviews
4.3 km away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
2.4 km away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
765 reviews
2.1 km away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: €28 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing