We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
401
275
72
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
275
72
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pimenta preta on site restaurant roof terrace the cliff sea view washing machine main town cleaning staff nice resort minute walk into town pool area lovely location nearest beach self catering living room excellent holiday enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We have stayed here twice. The Town houses are spacious and fully equipped. To have a washing machine on holiday is great !!! Close to beach but advisable to have a car to visit Carvoiero and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddie_StMaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to welcome back our guests and hope to continue doing so in the near future. With our very best regards, The Managment, Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were staying at the apartments and had two excellent meals in the restaurant. Good choice, great food beautifully presented and we were so well looked after by our waiter, Joao. He was friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and couldn't do enough for us. A real asset to a very good restaurant. We'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The apartments were fine but some in need of a refurb. This review is really about the excellent restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scotstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the opportunity to also try the Pimenta Preta Restaurant. We will of course pass on your comments and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the very ner future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

For a late night arrival, it is not unreasonable to expect signage for the premises of a major Hotel group, to be easily visible. Sadly a secondary lighted clear sign for the restaurant - which I was not acquainted with, detracted from plaques on either side of the entrance.In the split second to drive by, whilst the Hotels name is clearly obvious....IN DAYLIGHT ! - in the dark, the restaurant sign about 2-3m higher than the plaques on the entrance wall, draws the eye...and the entrance is easily missed !!
That said, the facility is excellent, classy.immaculate cleanliness in all aspects and comfortable. Staff are exemplarily friendly - as is the reputation of the Portuguese. Superb pool. Reception staff particularly commendable.

Room Tip: Our appartment - in common with many rooms,was overlooking the sea...really nice!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Pestana Palm Gardens, we are pleased to see that you found our facilities to be excellent, classy and immaculate as well as comfortable and that our staff was particularly commendable. With regard to the signage, we have taken good note of your comments and have asked our maintenance department to find a solution to make the signage more visible. We do sincerely apologise for the difficulties you had in finding the resort. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the very near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our fourth trip to Carvoeiro so know the area well. Being further out is fab, and the new pavement into town means walking in and out is easy. If you are happy with a bit of a stumble you can also walk down via the cliff 'path' and then take the boardwalk - at dusk / sunset this is stunning. The local beach is also really accessible and wasn't overly busy either. O Stop is not excessively expensive for ice-creams and drinks once there, and we booked a boat trip along the coast which everyone really enjoyed.

We spent 11 nights in a two bedroom townhouse. Accommodation was spacious and perfect for our needs, although a little tired in places. Aircon was effective and not too noisy.

The property was clean on arrival (although fridge still had previous residents food in there) but it wasn't cleaned again. We booked via Holiday Rentals so perhaps not the resort's fault, but regradless of the resort guide in the property saying it would be cleaned twice per 7 night stay, when I checked at reception I was told nothing had been booked. I found towels and sheets in a cupboard so swapped them mid stay, but it wasn't something I was expecting to do on hols!

On the plus side, fresh pool towels were an extra we weren't expecting.

The pool area isn't huge, and it was pretty busy at times - Aug school hols so expected that - and there are lots of rules about diving, inflatables, reserving sun beds etc. None of these are enforced. While relaxed about inflatables and diving (for parents to manage responsibly in my view), because the area is small reserving sun beds was a real pain. We frequently saw people unable to find somewhere to sit, but the reserved beds not being used - in one case four loungers were out of action for five hours!!! If the hotel enforced this, even just politely and once a day there would have been space for all - dissapointing.

Hotel and bar staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble. Many of the townhouses are privately owned so lots of people are frequent visitors, a positive endorsement of a consistent approach.

Overall, Pestana Palm Gardens is a solid, no frills family resort. It had everything we needed for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Simply delightfull. Amazing location, pleasant rooms, great facilities, attentive staff, wonderfull service, amazing everything. Special thanks to the staff for going that extra mile to make us feel at home :) Unforgetable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank cmpxdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews