We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$242
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Welwitshia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
US$325
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$504
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$274
US$266
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Placid Village(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Colina Village(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$86
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
374
259
67
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
259
67
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspimenta pretaon site restaurantroof terracethe cliffsea viewwashing machinemain townnice resortcleaning staffpool arealovely beachself cateringminute walkliving roomexcellent holidayfamily holidaywell equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our fourth trip to Carvoeiro so know the area well. Being further out is fab, and the new pavement into town means walking in and out is easy. If you are happy with a bit of a stumble you can also walk down via the cliff 'path' and then take the boardwalk - at dusk / sunset this is stunning. The local beach is also really accessible and wasn't overly busy either. O Stop is not excessively expensive for ice-creams and drinks once there, and we booked a boat trip along the coast which everyone really enjoyed.

We spent 11 nights in a two bedroom townhouse. Accommodation was spacious and perfect for our needs, although a little tired in places. Aircon was effective and not too noisy.

The property was clean on arrival (although fridge still had previous residents food in there) but it wasn't cleaned again. We booked via Holiday Rentals so perhaps not the resort's fault, but regradless of the resort guide in the property saying it would be cleaned twice per 7 night stay, when I checked at reception I was told nothing had been booked. I found towels and sheets in a cupboard so swapped them mid stay, but it wasn't something I was expecting to do on hols!

On the plus side, fresh pool towels were an extra we weren't expecting.

The pool area isn't huge, and it was pretty busy at times - Aug school hols so expected that - and there are lots of rules about diving, inflatables, reserving sun beds etc. None of these are enforced. While relaxed about inflatables and diving (for parents to manage responsibly in my view), because the area is small reserving sun beds was a real pain. We frequently saw people unable to find somewhere to sit, but the reserved beds not being used - in one case four loungers were out of action for five hours!!! If the hotel enforced this, even just politely and once a day there would have been space for all - dissapointing.

Hotel and bar staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble. Many of the townhouses are privately owned so lots of people are frequent visitors, a positive endorsement of a consistent approach.

Overall, Pestana Palm Gardens is a solid, no frills family resort. It had everything we needed for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Simply delightfull. Amazing location, pleasant rooms, great facilities, attentive staff, wonderfull service, amazing everything. Special thanks to the staff for going that extra mile to make us feel at home :) Unforgetable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank cmpxdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our week's stay at the pestana palm gardens in a 2 bed townhouse villa. The villa was clean and comfortably furnished (cleaned and beds made every day). The swimming pool was within easy reach and there was plenty of space for all those who wanted to swim although sunbeds (as everywhere) were often fully used or "reserved". The complex provided towels for the villa and you could also get towels for the pool which could be changed every other day. There were lots of rules about swimming pool use (no inflatables, no diving, etc.) which everyone seemed to ignore and did not seem to be monitored.
We also used the tennis court and table tennis facilities (bookable in hour slots at reception with loan of rackets/bats and balls available for free) which were in good condition though my son's mood wasn't when he kept losing (not helped by the heat and hormones!).
We did use the villa more as a base to explore from and didn't spend much time around the site.
It was around a 20 minute walk into carvoeiro (up hill on the way back!) and about a 10 minute walk to the small beach (take note of tide times as the high tide means little beach available).
We had a couple of nights where it was noisy till late (midnight) with a DJ and a singer which wouldn't have been too bad but that the children's room faced onto the pool where the music was played.
I found the equipment in the villa quite old (washer, kettle, toaster, etc) and whilst it still worked, it wasn't as speedy or efficient as newer equipment - and the garden drying rack was quite rusty. Also the shower door for our downstairs shower just could not be opened or closed.
Air con was good and worked well. Didn't enjoy that the electricity went off when you went out (as key card was for the electric) meaning you couldn't leave the washer going or a phone charging.
Loved the upstairs dryer on the balcony where the air con output dried the clothes - great idea!
All in all, a nice quietish place to stay and a good base to use to explore from but quite pricey. Not somewhere to go if you want entertainment, kids clubs, etc.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens. We were very pleased to learn that you found our accommodation to be spacious, well equipped and clean and that you also found our Reception Staff to be helpful and friendly. We were however, sorry to see the low score given. We hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back on another occasion when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. With our very best regards.
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed in July (4 adults) in one of the townhouses/villas. They are really spacious and we had a sea view which was great. Very clean, our cleaner (can't remember her name) was brilliant. Every member of staff we encountered was really helpful - including one of the repair men who saw me struggling with the patio umbrella and promptly went off and got me one that wasn't broken without me having to ask. The pool and bar area are good - drinks are quite pricey we found compared with Carvoeiro itself. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we preferred to try more traditional restaurants as it was my first trip to Portugal. We hired a car and drove to the Intermarche just outside of Carvoeiro for food and drinks - it was really cheap compared to London and the supermarkets in Carvoeiro itself we found. Great produce, we got fresh meat from the meat counter and it was delicious, as was everything we got from there to be honest. Fresh nata also went down well. We loved Boneca restaurant, O Barco and A Masiqueira - we had great food in all of them. The fish was incredible there, I didn't think I really liked fish but Carvoeiro has completely changed my mind! I'd definitely recommend the Pestana Palm Gardens, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to learn that you and your family had a an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our facilities to be clean and spacious, we also appreciate your comments on our staff who do their utmost to ensure our guests have a nice stay. We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. With our very best regards,
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in one of the villas/ apartments with family. Five of us in total. Located about 10 minute walk from the centre. Taxi costs about 5 euro if you can't walk far. Nice, clean pool with generally enough sun loungers for everyone. Staff in bar friendly and cleaners have the room immaculate and they are extremely pleasant. Room cleaned thoroughly everyday with towels changed, beds made, villa hoovered , cleaned etc.... I would say Pestana is more for families rather than groups of friends. The beach is about 5 min walk from the villas and is quite small but there is a bigger beach further out that we didn't manage to get to. The food was really nice at the restaurant, it's not cheap but again was worth it. If your looking for somewhere lively and full of bars then it's probably not for you it's more tranquil and quiet.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 215emmajaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our accommodation and facilities to be good. We are also very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and pleasant.
We hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews