We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT up to expectations...critical details missing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

For a late night arrival, it is not unreasonable to expect signage for the premises of a major Hotel group, to be easily visible. Sadly a secondary lighted clear sign for the restaurant - which I was not acquainted with, detracted from plaques on either side of the entrance.In the split second to drive by, whilst the Hotels name is clearly obvious....IN DAYLIGHT ! - in the dark, the restaurant sign about 2-3m higher than the plaques on the entrance wall, draws the eye...and the entrance is easily missed !!
That said, the facility is excellent, classy.immaculate cleanliness in all aspects and comfortable. Staff are exemplarily friendly - as is the reputation of the Portuguese. Superb pool. Reception staff particularly commendable.

Room Tip: Our appartment - in common with many rooms,was overlooking the sea...really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Pestana Palm Gardens, we are pleased to see that you found our facilities to be excellent, classy and immaculate as well as comfortable and that our staff was particularly commendable. With regard to the signage, we have taken good note of your comments and have asked our maintenance department to find a solution to make the signage more visible. We do sincerely apologise for the difficulties you had in finding the resort. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the very near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our fourth trip to Carvoeiro so know the area well. Being further out is fab, and the new pavement into town means walking in and out is easy. If you are happy with a bit of a stumble you can also walk down via the cliff 'path' and then take the boardwalk - at dusk / sunset this is stunning. The local beach is also really accessible and wasn't overly busy either. O Stop is not excessively expensive for ice-creams and drinks once there, and we booked a boat trip along the coast which everyone really enjoyed.

We spent 11 nights in a two bedroom townhouse. Accommodation was spacious and perfect for our needs, although a little tired in places. Aircon was effective and not too noisy.

The property was clean on arrival (although fridge still had previous residents food in there) but it wasn't cleaned again. We booked via Holiday Rentals so perhaps not the resort's fault, but regradless of the resort guide in the property saying it would be cleaned twice per 7 night stay, when I checked at reception I was told nothing had been booked. I found towels and sheets in a cupboard so swapped them mid stay, but it wasn't something I was expecting to do on hols!

On the plus side, fresh pool towels were an extra we weren't expecting.

The pool area isn't huge, and it was pretty busy at times - Aug school hols so expected that - and there are lots of rules about diving, inflatables, reserving sun beds etc. None of these are enforced. While relaxed about inflatables and diving (for parents to manage responsibly in my view), because the area is small reserving sun beds was a real pain. We frequently saw people unable to find somewhere to sit, but the reserved beds not being used - in one case four loungers were out of action for five hours!!! If the hotel enforced this, even just politely and once a day there would have been space for all - dissapointing.

Hotel and bar staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble. Many of the townhouses are privately owned so lots of people are frequent visitors, a positive endorsement of a consistent approach.

Overall, Pestana Palm Gardens is a solid, no frills family resort. It had everything we needed for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Simply delightfull. Amazing location, pleasant rooms, great facilities, attentive staff, wonderfull service, amazing everything. Special thanks to the staff for going that extra mile to make us feel at home :) Unforgetable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank cmpxdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our week's stay at the pestana palm gardens in a 2 bed townhouse villa. The villa was clean and comfortably furnished (cleaned and beds made every day). The swimming pool was within easy reach and there was plenty of space for all those who wanted to swim although sunbeds (as everywhere) were often fully used or "reserved". The complex provided towels for the villa and you could also get towels for the pool which could be changed every other day. There were lots of rules about swimming pool use (no inflatables, no diving, etc.) which everyone seemed to ignore and did not seem to be monitored.
We also used the tennis court and table tennis facilities (bookable in hour slots at reception with loan of rackets/bats and balls available for free) which were in good condition though my son's mood wasn't when he kept losing (not helped by the heat and hormones!).
We did use the villa more as a base to explore from and didn't spend much time around the site.
It was around a 20 minute walk into carvoeiro (up hill on the way back!) and about a 10 minute walk to the small beach (take note of tide times as the high tide means little beach available).
We had a couple of nights where it was noisy till late (midnight) with a DJ and a singer which wouldn't have been too bad but that the children's room faced onto the pool where the music was played.
I found the equipment in the villa quite old (washer, kettle, toaster, etc) and whilst it still worked, it wasn't as speedy or efficient as newer equipment - and the garden drying rack was quite rusty. Also the shower door for our downstairs shower just could not be opened or closed.
Air con was good and worked well. Didn't enjoy that the electricity went off when you went out (as key card was for the electric) meaning you couldn't leave the washer going or a phone charging.
Loved the upstairs dryer on the balcony where the air con output dried the clothes - great idea!
All in all, a nice quietish place to stay and a good base to use to explore from but quite pricey. Not somewhere to go if you want entertainment, kids clubs, etc.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens. We were very pleased to learn that you found our accommodation to be spacious, well equipped and clean and that you also found our Reception Staff to be helpful and friendly. We were however, sorry to see the low score given. We hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back on another occasion when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. With our very best regards.
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed in July (4 adults) in one of the townhouses/villas. They are really spacious and we had a sea view which was great. Very clean, our cleaner (can't remember her name) was brilliant. Every member of staff we encountered was really helpful - including one of the repair men who saw me struggling with the patio umbrella and promptly went off and got me one that wasn't broken without me having to ask. The pool and bar area are good - drinks are quite pricey we found compared with Carvoeiro itself. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we preferred to try more traditional restaurants as it was my first trip to Portugal. We hired a car and drove to the Intermarche just outside of Carvoeiro for food and drinks - it was really cheap compared to London and the supermarkets in Carvoeiro itself we found. Great produce, we got fresh meat from the meat counter and it was delicious, as was everything we got from there to be honest. Fresh nata also went down well. We loved Boneca restaurant, O Barco and A Masiqueira - we had great food in all of them. The fish was incredible there, I didn't think I really liked fish but Carvoeiro has completely changed my mind! I'd definitely recommend the Pestana Palm Gardens, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to learn that you and your family had a an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our facilities to be clean and spacious, we also appreciate your comments on our staff who do their utmost to ensure our guests have a nice stay. We shall look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. With our very best regards,
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.2 km away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,637 reviews
4.3 km away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
771 reviews
1.1 km away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
200 reviews
2.1 km away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: €43 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing