We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
387
268
70
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
268
70
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspimenta pretaon site restaurantroof terracethe cliffsea viewwashing machinemain townnice resortpool areacleaning stafflovely beachself cateringminute walkexcellent holidayliving roomenjoyable stayfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here at the end of June. We loved the apartment which had two bedrooms and a large bathroom upstairs and a kitchen, living room, terrace and shower room downstairs. The maid left fresh flowers in the hall each day and always greeted us with a smile despite working hard in the heat for long hours. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The walk into town or to the beach was made difficult by the work being done on the pavements, unfortunate in peak season. The on site restaurant is very good but would be even better if it offered a menu del dia at lower cost as it is too expensive to use regularly. The views are lovely from the cliff path. We used the hopper bus once and the taxis often. They are very reasonable and plentiful. A restful and attractive resort.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank radnorrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Pestana Palm Gardens and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Everything you need to enjoy the best Carvoeiro has to offer. It is very close to the caves and some rather good restaurants are near by. The only negative is, the washing machine while convenient, did not work, but it is likely because
I am American and had no clue how to work it so our clothes got stuck and at 1am, no one was able to help. Also, we had to be in Faro by 9 am and no one was available to give us a early check out until 8 am this may not be an issue for most, however it was for us because we had a train to catch and missed it. However, overall it was a good stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Spledidferstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, we are very sorry to hear that you missed your train, we do arrange wake-up calls through our Security that can be organized by Reception for the day of your departure. We are also sorry to hear that you could not work the washing machine, instructions for all equipment are kept in the bottom drawer of the kitchen and as a responsible management we will ensure that this information is also on your arrival letter. We are very pleased to hear that overall you had a good stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the very near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Short break and stayed in a 2 bedroomed suite. Very clean, very nicely appointed on two levels. Unfortunately, there is no sound insulation between these terraced rooms, you can clearly hear every footstep and movement made by your neighbours on both sides, and there is certainly nothing to protect your ears from the ear splitting shriek of the seagulls nesting on your roof. Not a place for peace and relaxation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Manager at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens. Whilst we are pleased that you found our resort and staff pleasing, we are very sorry to hear that you were unable to have a restful holiday due to the neighbours in the properties next door and due to seagulls on the roof. We do regularly control the seagulls from nesting on the roofs but they are a protected species so we cannot eliminate them entirely but rather encourage them to stay on the rocks on the sea side. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.
We hope to be able to welcome you back at some other time in the near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Initial impressions of the resort are good as the accommodation blocks and pool areas appear to be freshly painted.

However there are areas that have not been maintained or painted including visible cracking of the external walls.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The large roof terrace in our accommodation was visually unsightly, unclean (bird droppings everywhere) with weeds growing all around the perimeter. The paint on the roof terrace walls was falling off as was the rough casting cracking and patchy.

The daily cleaning service was limited to the ground floor areas only, the mezzanine and roof areas were not touched.

There were further problems with toilets failing, shower screen leaking, fridge had to be replaced, cooker control labels missing, exterior door handles falling off, damp patches in bedroom, four separate daily instances of cockroaches in the living area, hallway and kitchen areas.

We were advised this is a very common problem on the site, although we had never experienced cockroaches before in Portugal. However four separate instances is not an acceptable experience.

Management advised that specialists had been brought in to deal with cockroach infestations, however no specialists were visible on site.

Children's play park is limited to very young children and is on the opposite side of the public road that passes through the resort making it unsafe for children to cross, even supervised.

There is no kids club only a face painter that visits for a couple of hours twice a week.

Pool area is busy with limited space around the pool.

The resort restaurant is expensive for families, €100 for 3 adults, no cover, 2 courses, 4 glasses of the cheaper wine.

A very tired resort, needs investment and some TLC.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank George0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Manager at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations once again. As referred in emails already sent last week, please rest assured that we will continue to do our best to improve in the needed areas. We have shared your feedback with all of our team and will strive to improve and achieve the highest standards of service. We look forward to your next visit. With our very best regards from the team at Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Its our third day at this great complex our apartment is on two floors with all the mod cons and plenty of room it is also very quiet of a night for a good nights sleep.The pool area is well laid out with plenty of new sunbeds at its side is a small bar for cool drinks and very nice snacks and main meal if needed their is also a small gym and tennis court.It is a ten minute walk to the main resort but be aware their is a lot of work taking place to the footpaths at present.The resort has many bars and restaurant's so there's something for everyone,you must do the boardwalk at sunset very picturesque. We are here for a week and would recommend these apartments and the resort itself for a fabulous holiday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPereiraPortim_o, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens. We are very pleased to hear that you are enjoying your holiday and have discovered the Carvoeiro boardwalk. We wish you a continued pleasant stay.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews