We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in a premium villa with sea view at the Pestana Palm Gardens, there were 5 of us in our party, and the word I use to describe the Pestana Palm Gardens is perfection. From the moment we arrived to our departure every staff member we meet was friendly, professional, polite. They dealt with all our needs efficiently. The villa was fantastic, set over 5 floors so plenty of space for our family, the kitchen is well equipped; large fridge freezer, washing machine, iron and ironing board, dishwasher, microwave....basically anything you needed. There is plenty of space in the dining area for 6 people to eat, the sofa bed was a good size and comfy, there is an outside eating area too with sun loungers if you want a bit of piece from the pool area. The accomadation has 2 showers and 2 toilets, 1 bath. Both the bedrooms are a good size, then the final floor, the roof terrace...wow what a sea view and peaceful place, again with sun loungers and clothes airers, so your washing dries in next to no time, also again an eating area for 6. The maids cleaned every day apart from Sunday's, changed the towels and the linen regular. The air conditioning in the villa was good and easy to control, the wifi was also good, the villa had 2 TVs, not that we used them.
The pool area is lovely plenty of space and we always managed to get a sun longer and believe me we are not early risers!
We didn't have breakfast in the restaurant but we had a few lunches and evening meals, all the food was first class and served by professional friendly staff.
The location of the accomadation is good, you are on a gorgeous beach in 10 minutes walking down a not too steep road then steps down to the cove, we did the cave boat trip from this beach which we felt was great value for money 20 euros per person for an hour. The town of Carvoeiro is a 20 minute walk down hill which has a pavement and is quite a gentle walk some flat bits some slightly steeper bits but we managed it with the kids aged 8, 11 and 16 without too much moaning! Or if you fancy a slightly longer but more scenic walk then use the boardwalk which is lovely especially at sunset.
The Pestana Palm Gardens also has free use of tennis courts, table tennis and a gym which we used throughout our stay.
I would like to thank all the staff at the Pestana Palm Gardens for making our holiday perfect, thank you.
Anybody reading this review don't hesitate to book a holiday here.

Room Tip: Our villa was G77 and to us it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 529amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff to be pleasant and professional. We are also happy to hear that you took advantage of doing the cave boat trip whilst you were here, it is a fun trip to do.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you and your family back again in the very near future, in the meantime, our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here at the end of June. We loved the apartment which had two bedrooms and a large bathroom upstairs and a kitchen, living room, terrace and shower room downstairs. The maid left fresh flowers in the hall each day and always greeted us with a smile despite working hard in the heat for long hours. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The walk into town or to the beach was made difficult by the work being done on the pavements, unfortunate in peak season. The on site restaurant is very good but would be even better if it offered a menu del dia at lower cost as it is too expensive to use regularly. The views are lovely from the cliff path. We used the hopper bus once and the taxis often. They are very reasonable and plentiful. A restful and attractive resort.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank radnorrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Pestana Palm Gardens and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Everything you need to enjoy the best Carvoeiro has to offer. It is very close to the caves and some rather good restaurants are near by. The only negative is, the washing machine while convenient, did not work, but it is likely because
I am American and had no clue how to work it so our clothes got stuck and at 1am, no one was able to help. Also, we had to be in Faro by 9 am and no one was available to give us a early check out until 8 am this may not be an issue for most, however it was for us because we had a train to catch and missed it. However, overall it was a good stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Spledidferstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, we are very sorry to hear that you missed your train, we do arrange wake-up calls through our Security that can be organized by Reception for the day of your departure. We are also sorry to hear that you could not work the washing machine, instructions for all equipment are kept in the bottom drawer of the kitchen and as a responsible management we will ensure that this information is also on your arrival letter. We are very pleased to hear that overall you had a good stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the very near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Short break and stayed in a 2 bedroomed suite. Very clean, very nicely appointed on two levels. Unfortunately, there is no sound insulation between these terraced rooms, you can clearly hear every footstep and movement made by your neighbours on both sides, and there is certainly nothing to protect your ears from the ear splitting shriek of the seagulls nesting on your roof. Not a place for peace and relaxation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Manager at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens. Whilst we are pleased that you found our resort and staff pleasing, we are very sorry to hear that you were unable to have a restful holiday due to the neighbours in the properties next door and due to seagulls on the roof. We do regularly control the seagulls from nesting on the roofs but they are a protected species so we cannot eliminate them entirely but rather encourage them to stay on the rocks on the sea side. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.
We hope to be able to welcome you back at some other time in the near future.
With our very best regards
The Management
Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Initial impressions of the resort are good as the accommodation blocks and pool areas appear to be freshly painted.

However there are areas that have not been maintained or painted including visible cracking of the external walls.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The large roof terrace in our accommodation was visually unsightly, unclean (bird droppings everywhere) with weeds growing all around the perimeter. The paint on the roof terrace walls was falling off as was the rough casting cracking and patchy.

The daily cleaning service was limited to the ground floor areas only, the mezzanine and roof areas were not touched.

There were further problems with toilets failing, shower screen leaking, fridge had to be replaced, cooker control labels missing, exterior door handles falling off, damp patches in bedroom, four separate daily instances of cockroaches in the living area, hallway and kitchen areas.

We were advised this is a very common problem on the site, although we had never experienced cockroaches before in Portugal. However four separate instances is not an acceptable experience.

Management advised that specialists had been brought in to deal with cockroach infestations, however no specialists were visible on site.

Children's play park is limited to very young children and is on the opposite side of the public road that passes through the resort making it unsafe for children to cross, even supervised.

There is no kids club only a face painter that visits for a couple of hours twice a week.

Pool area is busy with limited space around the pool.

The resort restaurant is expensive for families, €100 for 3 adults, no cover, 2 courses, 4 glasses of the cheaper wine.

A very tired resort, needs investment and some TLC.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank George0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_PPG, Manager at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations once again. As referred in emails already sent last week, please rest assured that we will continue to do our best to improve in the needed areas. We have shared your feedback with all of our team and will strive to improve and achieve the highest standards of service. We look forward to your next visit. With our very best regards from the team at Pestana Palm Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.2 km away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,636 reviews
4.3 km away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
771 reviews
1.1 km away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
199 reviews
2.1 km away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: €43 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing