We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in all a good holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
bury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All in all a good holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just returned and the must say the place was great. Nice location for us as not in the noisy centre of anywhere but not too far from main bits. Around 5euro in taxi to new town and 7 to old town.
We were self catering, and glad of it. We ate on evening in the hotel and it wasnt great, no where near as much variety as I have experienced in other all inclusive places.
As self catering we were given a charge card to add drinks and snacks to the bill, which is very usefull. Surprised to see that lots of stuff wasnt included in AI like normal ice creams and slush so we found lots of people were AI and paying anyway??

The slide pool is good, our 3 year old loved it. He wasnt big enough for the big blue slide but the smaller orange slide he loved, even if he did find a novel way of getting to the bottom (its not slippy enough so half way down he ended up pushing himself to the end)

The reps are great, lots of fun and the the trips didnt seem over priced either.

The kids club was ok although our 3 year old didnt seem old enough to join in with some things and there was no way he was going to a kids club chocolate night at 9pm ??

The evening entertainment is very well produced and almost profesional acting and shows every night. My 3 year old wanted to dance tho and the disco finished early and he got a bit board of the shows so ended up in the play area which is very good too.

Some tips.

The hotel charges 50c to call a cab. Your mobile may be cheaper and also quicker. Get a service number and make sure nobody else nicks the cab. Get a number from a cab firm in the the town.

Trips are ok and no more expensive than local tourist info shops etc.

For a nice meal go in to old town and enjoy the street theartre. The clown who makes balloon models became my sons close friend and made his holiday memorable. The mime artist is very funny and made us all laugh and look out for kitty who appears on the corner later on.

For an english meal go to coconuts 2 in new town. Really nice english/irish bar and they have everything from weetabix and english sausage to chip butty and meals etc.

In the evening, if you have young kids who need to be worn out, go to coconuts 1 bar which is near coconuts 2 and is own by same people. A great night with shrek and fiona making an appearance for over and hour (they must have got very hot in their costumes) and they made sure that everyone was involved from my 3year old up to young teens and even mums and dads. They made sure my 3 year old who could do some of the games, actually got a go and helped him with it. Great night.

If you havent done it before - swim with dolphins, its great.

Check the beds, my son always woke up itchy but we were fine

All in all a good holiday for us

Room Tip: Email the hotel direct and ask for COLINA 1. COLINA 2 is ok if you want quiet and a hard walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwcwcwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    134
    55
    23
    16
See reviews for
293
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just returned from a one week holiday and had a great time. Went with my mum and my 9 year old son. He had a ball! There was so much for kids to do, morning, afternoon and night. He loved the Football Academy and the kid's club at night. The First Choice staff were always very helpfull and friendly and so were the hotel staff. Only a couple of slightly negative points - food - breakfast good, lunch ok, dinner a bit poor. Not much choice, but I still ate enough at every meal, but my mum and son struggled sometimes at dinner. Night time entertainment - definately fantastic for the little kids. First Choice entertainment team were very good at night, but was a little disappointed that they seemed to be on every night but one, so got a little repetitive. Don't think I would stay there again, but only because I would like to try another First Choice Holiday Village.

Room Tip: Definately better to stay in Building 1, that's were most things happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemcshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you have kids book this place its fantastic.
Its a Thompson Family choice hotel and they have got it 100% perfect.
We flew with them but didn't do their transfer as with kiddies the bus takes forever and the kids are already fed up travelling by then we booked a company we had been told about by my brother they are called yellowfishtransfers the kids were made up cos we got a minibus as there was 6 of us and it had a big yellow fish on it the kids thought it was the best minibus in the airport car park , we kept spotting their cars and mini buses around an about the town and the kids used to spot and count them when we went out.
The Reps met us at the hotel when we arrived and checked us and and took us to the room and explained where things were. And the next day did their welcome meeting thing which was good actually we learnt alot and we booked a water park and zoomarina,
The kids club was fab kids couldn't wait to get there every day and loved the reps who ran it.
The play area well i just wanted to get in myself lots of bright coluoured shoots and funnels ans slides , kept them quiet all day as well as the many friends they made of various nationalities which was also nice,..
We all had the best holiday and i highly recommend it if you have children..

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank patron_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Upon arrival at the apartments we were greeted by the friendly reps who were not scared to lift a case or two! Hotel is modern in appearance and very clean, and the local hotel staff were very helpful. The room was perfect, clean, spacious, although sofa was a little uncomfortable.
Pools were great especially Kids Splash Pool.
Possibly only downside was the food which wasn't the greatest but there was always something to take your fancy, the barbecue was fantastic on the Saturday!
The First Choice Reps were always prepared to go that extra step to help and nothing was ever too much trouble. Kids Club and Creche were brilliant with well trained staff with great sense of humour that the kids loved, especially Harry!
The entertainment team were fantastic with great material and great energy, every night was fun filled and very good fun.
Our 5yr old attended the football coaching and swim academy both of which I would recommend, especially the swim academy.
Overall a fantastic holiday that I would recommend to anyone with a young family!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I can't stay there again because First choice will be going All inclusive at this Village in 2012. I stayed here with my wife, (no kids ) in 2009 & 2011 on a self catering basis in block 1, but i like to laze around the pool in block 2, where there is less activity with the kid's, which is great for them in block 1, i have stopped & watched them laughing & having an unforgettable time, loud music being played around the pool in block 1, ok if that's what you want. so at least we can have a more adult time relaxing around the pool in block 2 with some kid's also enjoying themselves, great !..the apartment in block 1 i like because it is large, very clean & very quiet at night & away from the main rd. though that is not too busy, but bath towels too small ! this seems to be the norm now. good staff & 1st choice reps too..so in response to some negative comments here it has suited me perfectly....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algenon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#8 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.8 km away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
9.3 km away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#31 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
2.5 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.5 km away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing