We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star you must be joking!”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“4 star you must be joking!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I went away for a week with my friend just to relax. When we reached the hotel the foyer looked nice, and the reception staff were very polite. We booked a twin apartment. On arrival to it we found we had a double bed. We asked to move, and we did. However we were told although you book a twin room you are not guaranteed it. The apartment was clean and spacious.Breakfast was by far the best meal of the day. Lunch and dinner was fish mostly pork or chicken. we had red meat once in our weekly stay. Always chips carrots and brocolli. Sometimes pasta or noodles. The salad bar and dessert counter was very limited. All food was repetative to the point of being predictable. It was always cold. Spirits were only served between 6pm and 8.30pm. This is when dinner is being served. You were not allowed to take drinks from the bar to the dining hall. There were no fresh fruit juices, only squashes. Wine and beer were served all day. No snacks at all. That is not all inclusive! When you go to the bar there is often nobody to serve you. We waited 15 minutes for a drink, and gave up. Lots of people did the same. When we questioned the manager about limited spirits etc we were told it is because it is winter.There is no indoor pool or gym which is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The description also gives the impression you are only 10 or 15 minutes walk away from everything. That should read in a cab. A taxi there and back will cost 20 euros, or just over. The bar was awful. It is dark even during the day. The entertainment consisted of a manager operating a stereo system each night. One night it was english music Then it changed to portuguese for an hour, then back to english. The next night it was a 15 minute reptile show, and stereo music. Next night was the stereo again, and an hour of bingo. Next night it was a music quiz for an hour, and yes you guessed it the stereo again. Next night was no entertainment. Then on Friday it was Tony on guitar. I have to give him credit he got people up dancing, and was entertaining. If you have children there is absolutely nothing for them to do. No ice-cream or snacks for them. Despite the description there is no daytime entertainment for them either. Overall a very big disappointment! This hotel is badly misrepresented as 4 star. I travel alot, and this is the worst 4 star hotel i have ever been to! We will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank kerry085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    411
    236
    99
    54
See reviews for
458
286
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After reading other peoples reviews on the Luna Alpinus, i'll admit i was disappointed and slightly scared of going on holiday! But when we got there we were really pleasantly surprised (myself and my boyfriend went for a long weekend in Feb 2012) and so am writing this FAIR and honest review as your everyday full time working 21 year old woman.

When we got there the receptionist was pleasant and helpful - explained clearly about the all inclusive guidlines and also gave us a map of the surrounding area. After reading previous reviews saying the receptionist was a moody cow i was a bit apprehensive, but the one that served us was fine!

The room was MASSIVE, considering it was only 2 of us we had a big double bedroom with lots of wardrobe space, a chest of drawers and a desk and big mirror, the bathroom had a hairdryer which i was pleased about and a bath and shower over the bath. Then we also had a large living room and kitchen area with everything you could need apart from a microwave really! Had a TV and stereo etc, and also a balcony. We had poor views but we werent really bothered as werent planning on staying in hotel for long!

The bar was fine, although i should point out we went in low season so can imagine it would be quite crowded and busy in summer! The drinks i think may have been slightly watered down...and spirits were only available inbetween 6 - 8:30 but it just didnt really bother us that much, we could still get drunk!

The food i saw was a massive issue in other peoples reviews, but i was actually quite pleased with it;
Breakfast - scrambled/fried eggs, baked beans, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, fruit. salad (bit odd) and there was some cereals and plenty of breads and jams etc if you didnt want a cooked meal. And a variety of fruit juices/tea/coffee. Odd thing was that there was also spaghetti and rice on offer (trying to get rid of last nights i think!)
Lunch - we were never in the hotel to try lunch but i think it was pretty much the same as dinner...
Dinner - some form of grilled fish, some form of grilled meat (chicken or beef), chips, a lot of salad type things, pasta. rice, veg, fruit, desserts. and plenty of soft drinks and barrels of red or white wine and beer.

it was fine, if you're going all inclusive then what do you expect? plus we saved loads of money by not eating out except on the last evening.

Most of staff were very nice, one seemed a bit moody but i only think its because i was looking for it after reading all the reviews! Wouldnt have noticed otherwise.

The walk to the beach was about 15 mins and a pleasant one, anyone who complained about that is just pure lazy! And the beach was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Theres a lovely walk you can do from there to Albufeira and it was great fun. We even managed to get a couple of swims in. Wouldnt let kids in the sea alone though as the current could be quite strong for a child.

The hotels location itself isnt bad, on the way to the beach you get to a square full of snack bars and pubs and gift shops, but i wouldnt suggest going there for a proper evening meal, probably best to go to a nearby town like we did. Albufeira strip (for those who want to go clubbing like us) is about 8 euros in a taxi and the hotel book the taxi for you.

All in all we had a great time, we didnt spend a massive amount of time actually in the hotel but the time we did spend there it was very nice and i think deserves 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Booked this last minute for myself , husband and 3 year old grandson. Didnt expect too much considering how much we paid for the all inclusive package. Food was garbage and had to buy in food and drink for my grandson.The only meal worth talking about was breakfast. Lunch consisted of meat fish pasta or rice with salad.and chips. No sauce for pasta. The same choice for dinner.Asked for blackcurrant juice for my grandson and told that they didnt have any but he could have grenadine with water,Grenadine is not a cordial or suitable for a 3 year old. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is spotlessly clean but the catering lets it down badly. On the secong night we were asked to leave the bar at 11.10pm as they were closing. We still had drinks on the table. Closing time is stated as 12. Seems they make the rules as they go. Snacks are advertised as being at 5pm. When we and other people arrived for them we were told that they donot do snacks in the winter. Spirits all inclusive is only between the hours of 6 and 8.30pm. Soft drinks wine and beer available all day.Certainly wont be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Chesterfield UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I booked a so called studio but was allocated a one bedroomed apartment with full cooking facilitie and a massive lounge area. It was well maintained and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Spurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hello.. I just wanted to leave my review on the Alpinus Apartments which I have just got back from. 10 of us and a 6 month old baby went, we was all just after a break from the mad xmas rush.. which is what we got. We didnt expect too much as we didnt pay too much (which is usually how things go?) The hotel I personally would call a 4*.. the rooms are huge, you have a big room with sofa's and they pull out into a bed, a kithen bathroom and bedroom- massive! perfect over the summer months I guess if you was self catering, they had all the right facilities to accomodate this. All inclusive is beer and wine (which is very nice) 11am-11pm.. you are aboard and you have got to remember there wine and beer is different to what we are used too, the sprits were from 6pm-8.30pm ish.. we was not aware of this when we booked but wasnt too bothered, we stocked up on duty free and added to our soft drinks which we didnt hide and the workers didnt seem bothered so everyone happy. Breakfast was nice choice of egg scrambled or fried (although not very freshly) lovely bread beans, horrible garlic sausage's.. but again I expect different as you are away.. there was always a choice of meat and fish and a beatiful salad cart with sauces, for lunch and dinner and your usually chips etc. Food was VERY tasty!! and I have been to lots of all inclusive's and would say this was the nicest in taste. We was only there 5 days so I guess if you was there longer you would want more but for us was perfect, everyone of the 10 people I went with was happy with the food and we had some fussy eaters with us too...

The bar in the entertainment room was the only bar open and was very small so we had to que from time to time, but people were friendly and relaxed as you would expect. No big deal.. we took our drinks up to our room most nights and done a quiz as was quite loud in the bar area and a mix of rowdy drunk people .. but they r on holiday soo allowed to over do it :) room was cleaned by maid twice in time we was there.

There is a lovely beach about 10min walk away which is so worth a visit, ask at reception and she will give you a map.

We went into Albufeira one night the younger ones and had a good night, cheap drinks music.. we was celebrating a birthday great fun was quiet as not peak season.

if you have any othe questions feel free to message me.. just wanted to let u all know its really not tha bad at all.. just go and enjoy a cheap break :)


xxxxx

Room Tip: All rooms are huge and the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank lon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.6 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
1.8 km away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
6.0 km away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing