We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodations on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at this for a few nights during the month of August.
Room was a nice size and very comfortable.
The hotel is situated on the beach which was great considering most hotels in Albufeira require long walks to get to the beach.
Breakfast was included and they offered a great selection.
The hotel has a couple of bars onsite and is fairly tranquil and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great outdoor locations for a nice night out

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is very gratifying for us to read reviews from guests, and especially from those that enjoyed everything about their stay as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    600
    219
    67
    30
See reviews for
704
795
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We enjoyed a 3 day break at the real santa. The Location was great, right on the beach. and the room was comfortable, although the carpets could be cleaner, and the sea view we paid for was blocked by a plant.

Breakfast was great, and we ate from the a la carte menu in the evening, and we enjoyed all our meals. i was disappointed with the kids menu, it was typical chicken nuggets and chips etc.

The kids enjoyed the kids club despite being the only kids in there.

We would like to go back to visit the real santa when it is a litle busier

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bas020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you and your kids have had an enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We hardly receive feedback from children and therefore we were especially pleased to learn that yours had a good time at the Realito Kid’s Club. It is a pity though, that they were the only children in the Realito. Outside the normal school holidays, the number of children in our Resort is quite low, but since you are planning to revisit us during a busier period, we are quite sure that the number of children will also be higher and your children will be able to play with other kids and make new friends at the Kid’s Club.
During the high season, we also have an increased choice of meals for children, since we do not only have the regular Kid’s Menu, but also have a special Buffet for children available in the main restaurant. But, even during the low season, we are able to offer alternatives to the Kid’s Menu, which we must agree is a typical Kid’s menu with standard dishes, which unfortunately are the most requested ones. We tried to offer other, healthier options in our very first Kid’s Menu, but the demand for these dishes was so low, that we had to adapt our Kid’s Menu and include the standard dishes, as Chicken Nuggets, Fish Fingers, etc. . However, we can always prepare other dishes, as long as they are ordered in advance. Just contact our Executive Chef or Headwaiter, who will be pleased to assist you.
We are sorry if the carpet in your room did not seem to be clean. Pease be assured that all our carpets are vacuumed and washed regularly. Unfortunately, there are stains that cannot be removed, even though we tried several products and techniques, but we are very pleased to inform you that the carpets are gradually being replaced. We also regret that you were not completely satisfied with your sea view, which honestly surprised us. The Hotel building lies only a few metres above the Santa Eulália Beach and there are no major obstacles between the building and the beach, therefore all rooms designated as sea view should offer a relatively unobstructed view. However, if you prefer a room located in another area or floor, please do mention it during your next booking and we will try to have your request and preferences in consideration.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel hit the spot. It's a modern, expansive and smart resort located overlooking a beautiful stretch of pristine beach and bordered by forestry about 3 miles from Albufeira. The resort as a whole is immaculately tended to and clean and there is definite sense of quality throughout. The reception and lounge area features an impressive vaulted ceiling, certainly befitting a five star hotel. Reception leads off to large sun terraces and decks with comfortable seating and several immaculate swimming pools .

The rooms are clean, substantial and good. We paid extra for a sea view room and to my mind this was essential. We visited out of season in early March. Whist the weather was superb (sunny and mid 20s .C every day), it could get a little windy towards the end of the afternoon. Having the sea view balcony was invaluable because we benefited from the last of the sun and the sea view whist remaining sheltered from the sea breeze.

Our package included breakfast and access to the spa area which is normally chargeable. The breakfast was great and included cooked options as well as cold meats, cheeses and fruits all of good quality. As a previous reporter mentions there also sparkling wine available as part of the buffet. The salt water spa pool is lovely as a really nice place to pass the time.

Hotel service was friendly and efficient throughout, as you would expect from a proper five star hotel.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first evening and I wasn't particularly impressed by my meal. It could have been an off night and I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt as my girlfriend really enjoyed her meal.

Most days we had lunch at the hotel's beach bar/café. A very nice selection of fayre is available here including some excellent deserts. I recommend the Chocolate Crepe which includes, chocolate ice cream, vanilla ice cream, whipped cream and melted chocolate sauce. The prices here are keen and the service and the beer both excellent.

In summary, this hotel is a class act. It's worthy of five stars and thoroughly surpassed my expectations. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We really appreciated your detailed and comprehensive review of our Resort, its services and facilities, and are very glad that you have had a perfect stay with us.
It is especially gratifying to learn that we were able to exceed almost all your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not able to surpass them when it came to your evening meal. Our aim is to provide memorable experiences in all our outlets and we sincerely regret that on one occasion we only achieved this goal partially, with your girlfriend’s dinner but unfortunately not with yours. Our Executive Chef has been informed and we assure you that we will try our best to provide a high quality service and meals at all times.
Thank you once again for your input and for recommending the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back, maybe not only for a weekend, but for a relaxing holiday with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hi

My friends and I have read the very promising reviews here and have booked one of the hotel apartments for 3 nights in April. Our flights arrive at Faro airport around 10am. We are wondering whether you have any baggage service where we can drop off our baggage on arrival, have a tour in town and check in in the evening?

I've heard a lot of great things about the sea view. Do we get this option on arrival for our apartments and is there for selecting rooms with better views?
also can you please confirm the price of the breakfast, as our booking does not have breakfast included. I look forward to your reply

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Myz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Although it is not a review, we are very happy to respond to your queries, but if you should require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us directly through the email or contacts provided above or amendes@hoteisreal.com.
We have a luggage room, where you can store your luggage, but depending on our occupancy on the arrival date, you might even be able to check-in immediately to your room. Please send us your reservation details and if we have availability, we will try to have your apartment prepared before the regular check-in time.
Unfortunately, there is no option on arrival for sea view, as none of our apartments overlooks the sea. The only accommodations with sea view are traditional hotel rooms and Suites located in the Hotel main building. At check-in, it is usually not possible to chose the view as sea view rooms are a separate room category, which usually sells out first. It is therefore not recommendable to rely on an upgrade at check-in. It is however possible to choose the room categories in advance, during the reservations process, as all hotel rooms with sea-view are designated as such and can be booked.
The price for the breakfast, if booked at the restaurant or in-house, is €20 per adult. Most of our partners however, offer special rates for breakfast if it is booked in advance by the time the room is booked. Please contact us through the mentioned contacts for advice on changing your booking to Bed and Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is a 5 star hotel without any pretentiousness. The price of drinks/food are very reasonable. The staff are very attentive. The view is unreal. I would definitely recommend a sea view room. They have a balcony and are worth the extra money. The hotel is a short walk (5 minutes although at an incline) from other restaurants (a slightly tackier area but with more options to eat/ drink). The breakfast buffet is superb, execellent selection of food in a nice bright room. The facilities in the hotel are very good with a childrens club, indoor and outdoor pools, choice of self catering apartments and hotel rooms and spa. I would most definitely return to this hotel. The venue for a wedding is stunning, there is a fabulous terrace that overlooks the sea for either a civil ceremony or coktail hour and there is a great room for the reception after the meal. It is a nice sized room whereby a smaller crowd wouldnt look lost and its very modern. The hotel is more authentic than the likes of the sheraton and less pricey!!

Room Tip: pay more for the sea view-well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dublinsdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the view, the quality of the service and the facilities.
Judging by your comments, you attended a wedding in our Resort, or maybe you were even the bride or the groom, and we would like to thank you for recommending our Resort for weddings. We know how high the expectations are when it comes to wedding celebrations and it is therefore especially gratifying for us to learn that that you were impressed with our Resort and especially the venues, the Sea’s Lounge and the Le Club, their view, location and even decoration.
Thank you once again for your comments, which we really appreciated and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.2 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.6 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.5 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
2.3 km away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
14.7 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing