We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
US$268
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sol e Mar(Albufeira)
US$167
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$153
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alfagar Aparthotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Topazio(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
47
102
109
58
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
102
109
58
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolnoisy at nightlight sleepergood nights sleepshort breakcleaned dailybit datedpeace and quietsnack barnightlifefishermanseurostags
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

we stayed at hotel California for the Easter weekend. There was 4 of us who went in couples, we had a fabulous time. Although The hotel was dated it was very clean. the noise from the bars didn't bother us at all, and the staff were very nice friendly, and helpful. would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Ok, for a lads, hen or stag...This is not a lovely place!
Noisey at night, questionable fixtures and fittings.
We were sent to a double room 3 times, we had ordered a twin room.
Staff were most unhelpful and poorly presented.

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Stayed here three years ago, so thought we knew what was good and what wasn't. Nothing much had changed. We wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap. The hotel again fitted that bill. If you want a bit of luxury or peace and quiet, look elsewhere.

The rooms are still basic and functional, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We stayed on a room only basis this time as there are numerous excellent value for money breakfasts to be had within a five minute walk.

Overall, the hotel met our expectations and was good value for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Located in the noisiest, busiest part of town, with wall to wall bars competing for their music (often live) to be heard over and above their neighbours. Occasionally good music, usually average singer and backing tape blasting out crowd friendly sing alongs. Hotel in need of a bit of tlc, but the staff were fantastic and it really suited our group of golfers and boozers. Next time I would prefer a less in your face location.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neipenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Hotel is in a perfect location, near the bars, square and nightlife and also 2 minutes walk to the beach. yes there is a bit of noise so if you want peace and quiet its not for you. Staff are friendly. Rooms a bit basic and tired but its clean the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. The Hotel also benefits from a rooftop pool with a snack bar so can enjoy the late sun. I understand it has been sold from the end of October so maybe it is going to be refurbished.

Room Tip: Quieter above the 6th floor plus rooms have a patio/balcony
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Unsure3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews