We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
135
277
197
125
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
277
197
125
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town pool area uphill walk up hill cleaned every day lovely hotel an update lick of paint main town hotel is situated bit dated public areas quiet location fresh towels just returned from a week relaxing holiday yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Room Tip: Need to take a kettle if you like a cuppa.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BelverBoavistaHotel, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Was booked into this hotel as part of an Air Transat package of 4 star hotels. Check in went smoothly until the desk clerk took us to a balcony off the nicely decorated lobby and pointed to a staircase behind the pool. He said your room is down that flight of stairs last hallway on the left. We took a very small elevator down 4 floors dragged our bags along a dark hallway, through the bar, across the pool deck and down 3 more flights of stairs to another dark hallway. Our room 006 was large, ancient, smelled of stale cigarettes, had twin beds instead of the requested double and had a view of drying laundry. The decor and furniture was shabby, tired and dirty. The beds were hard with thin old mattresses similar to those on a sofa bed. Both the AC and the advertised 'flat screen' television did not work on this 30+ degree day. The sliding door took all of a man's strength to move and the seals on the glass were broken so the view was obscured.
To use the refrigerator already in the room there was a daily charge of €2.50.
The linens and towels were old and threadbare.
This is no 4 star hotel in Europe this is the level an old Communist era 3 star in Cuba or a youth hostel.
Breakfast was fine but there is a distinct lack of seating and utensils, we had to sit outside at the pool and use spoons to eat..no clean knives or forks.
After this we attempted to move rooms or upgrade. The only available room was still under the pool deck, smaller than our original room but with a double bed.
At this point we checked out and found an apartment in town that was 100% better.
The only things this hotel has going for it is location and cheap prices.
Stay away.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthernguyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelverBoavistaHotel, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Ken,
First of all, our apologies for your stay did not go so well.
Either way, the room where you stayed is not that bad. It is part of a new set of rooms, modern and standard typology city view but you can see the sea too.
Of course we understand that there are customers who do not like the rooms to be below the Pool and the access stairs.
As Guest Relations Manager, I fully understand that there are customers who may not be satisfied with our Hotel and that there is nothing we can do to change their opinion.
But when you say that they ate with spoons because there were no forks or clean knives ... I'm sorry but I have to say that we never had a complaint about the cutlery being dirty.
On behalf of the Belver Hotels, thank you and our apologies.
Bianca Stella de Loureiro Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

I switched rooms as my original one had a horrible smell in the bathroom, the washhand basin was cracked, the tap was falling off and the balcony view was a wall. However, on being given a room in an annexe part of the hotel, the room was even worse. The stench in the bathroom was unbearable, I was not able to close the bathroom door as the catch wouldn't budge, it has taken me a week since returning home to get the smell out of my nostrils. The light fitting in the bathroom was rusty and the washhand basin chipped. The rain came into the room above the patio doors.Several guests had problems with their key cards, I went to reception at least 14 times with the problem, twice traipsing in the rain to get it resolved. Even on being given a new key card, or a re-calibrated one, on reaching the room, they didn't work, so back to reception again. I was informed that my room was one that had been renovated! The maid did a good job on cleaning the room and was pleasant, as were the staff in the restaurant. What was that stuff they gave to us at breakfast, as an apology for orange juice? There were not enough sunbeds by the pool area.
This hotel is completely worn out, repairs have been bodged, it needs a complete overhaul, it does not justify the 4*rating. I couldn't wait to leave The Boa Vista.

Room Tip: None, in my experience.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canterbury27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelverBoavistaHotel, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Hotel, we would like to present our apologies for the inconveniences that are reported in your review.
In fact, in those days we had some problems with the keys being demagnetized because of the mobile phones and the device that configures the locks also at the time of having suffered a malfunction - unfortunately they are things that can happen.
Anyway we would like to thank you for your visit and the compliments to our cleaning staff and most important...we really regret the inconveniences that have occurred.
Best regards.

Bianca Stella de Loureiro Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

I want to write only good things as the staff are so friendly and helpful, and the Hotel does have a charm.

However there are some issues. The Hotel is situated on a steep hill and the front reception is actually on the 4th floor. The back of the Hotel has 57 steps to the first floor, where the Swimming pool and dining room are situated. So despite being aimed at older people, it is not really suitable for the infirm.

The rooms are a good size and cleaned properly every day, however are tired and dated. As with most of the Hotel it needs a lot of work and TLC. We just did B&B and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice. I cannot comment on evening meals.

There are only around 3 dozen sun loungers and I suspect this could be an issue when the Hotel is full.

For all of the above, I like the atmosphere the Hotel generates, and enjoyed our stay. If I come back to Albufeira I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelverBoavistaHotel, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Alan,

We really appreciate your intention of writing only good things and no worries we are aware that those steps they are not suitable for some guests with older age and / or reduced mobility.
In this next season we would work on some renovations in our rooms and also we would get more new sun loungers.
What is important is that you enjoyed your stay and if you return to Albufeira...you choose us again.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again and thank you so much.

Bianca Stella de Loureiro Ferreira
Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

It's good points..Room comfortable,clean and warm with good maid service.
.The hotel in general was a throwback to the late sixties,everything dated shabby and worn round the edges,not worth the four star rating it boasts.The dining room/facilities is/are very poor with the chaotic and cramped layout,often no cups available,tea/coffee machine not adequate for guest numbers,very poor choice of breakfast (hot meal always bacon/chipolata sausages/eggs/toms or beans/mushrooms served only on 8"/20cm side plates.The steps halfway across the dining room are not condusive to safety when carrying hot food and liquid (especially for one with arthritic joints).
The evening meals of "haute cuisine" style mean a twenty minute wait.Anyone with gluten intolerance will have problems because the kitchen and serving staff had no real idea of the menu.
The oily scum line on the pool side meant we didn't use the pool.
Worst hotel we have ever stopped in,very disappointing,will not be going back

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterPnut W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelverBoavistaHotel, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Mr. Peter,

All we can say is that we're really sorry that your stay did not go as desired.
As Public Relations at the Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have reported to us.
It is important to remember that at the time of your visit we still had the Hotel completely full, and that's why you probably found the Restaurant (at Breakfast) very confusing as all the customers came to eat at the same time.
When we have all the guests having breakfast at the same time, it becomes more logistically complicated to serve our Customers.
Anyway, thank you very much for your visit and I am very sorry that you got this perception due to bad experience.
Best Regards.

Bianca Stella de Loureiro Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews