We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Shanghai

Big Shanghai
Ranked #143 of 761 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$16
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lisburn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ok chinese restaurant close to paraiso de albufeira hotel. Food ok, prices ok, service hit and miss (better if you're a local and know all the Portugese waiters!!)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    122
    69
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We'd lloked forward to eating here after it was closed for refurbishment last year, but the food was greasy and just of average quality.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazamyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guia, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Went there last week ,been several times before , I think it's the best chinese in Albufeira 4 of us shared the speciel for 4 (60€)and it would have fed 6 , great food lovely selection and they even gave us a brandy after the meal FOC

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nadamais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best chinese ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Me and my bf stayed at the hotel paraiso next door to the restaurant in october 2011. So glad we found this restaurant we went there 4 times on our weeks trip. Waiters very friendly great service. Try the mongolian chilli beef its amazing served still sizzling in its pan!! I would go back to albufeira just to go to this restaurant!! :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selecta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big Shanghai. Big portions. Big value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Been visiting since they opened a few years ago. Close to Ondemar and Paraiso hotels. Modern roomy place which is always busy, but large (five Chinese, two Portuguese) staff means food is served quickly. All the usual Chinese favourites available in large portions. Large TVs at each end of room showing soccer (no sound, so not obtrusive).
We visit Algarve twice a year and always impressed that the two Portuguese waiters always remember us and welcome us back.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Shanghai also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Big Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing