We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we travelled in july kids holiday .there is a thomas cooke entertainment tem here so was perfect. they took the kids every day to the club.
there is a new hotel section and apartments we were in the older apartments ,but they were very nice , nice grounds too with a apsolutly awesome cliff walk ..
the thomas cooke staff were brilliant in fact the thomas cooke flight was also great good space on board,. We didnt go for their transfer we used yellow fish transfers cos we no lots of people who use them and they were great actually , and cheaper than the thomas cooke coach which we were told took ages to get there,

Albufeira is a bus or taxi ride away and you can also get to olhos do agua.
great holiday we plan to go back as perfect for my kids

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

just returned after a 6wk stay at alfagar 2 .the apt was lovely,clean and spacious,enormous balcony.we were dissapointed though that not all facilities were open,of the 3bar/restaurants only one was open and sadly this was over run with cats,they were in the main bar ,behind the bar ,and into the kitchen. this is not good and put us off eating there not good standards.. also the 15min walk to the nearest bars etc is very hilly,you could catch a bus or taxi but if like us you are there for a longish time going back and forth perhaps twice a day every day the expence mounts up .portugal though is beautifull.

Room Tip: top floor or corner apt as they have see through balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HELPERStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

These are apartments are great value for money, really clean, excellent cooking facilities, the indoor pool is great when the weather isn't the best, I found all the staff really polite and helpful, although the entertainment was a bit poor, but we were out of season so expected it, I woul definitely go again. The only let down was no launderette on site, which I prefer with two young children, other that the facilities are excellent

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I travelled with my 2 kids aged 6 and 9 Aug 2011. We had a very large suite on the 2nd floor, large open plan kitchen and lounge with dining area. Very large balcony with 2 sun loungers and table with 4 chairs with an amazing view overlooking the resort and sea. The rooms were spotless and new, finished to a high standard. We wish our London flat was a spacious.

The kids pool was incredible with 2 water shoots (1 completely covered, the other open), 3 slides and various walk through sprays. We had much fun. The other pools were very nice too, we bought a lilo and happily floated around. There was also a kids club but we were too busy for that. Previous guests have left pool toys/floats so you can borrow them too.

We took an expensive excursion out to Slide and Splash but to be honest we would have been happier staying at the hotel kids pool as most of the rides where a bit too adventurous for my young kids and they only ending up repeating one or two of the rides. I think Slide and Splash is brilliant for kids aged 10 and up or for hotels without such a brilliant kids pool.

The kids and I thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and dinner buffet experience on the terrace with a very good selection of continental/Mediterranean style food. There were kids options but my kids preferred the more varied adults menu and frequently went up for more.

There is a nice pool side bar/cafe and another restaurant serving lovely lunches and dinners which was quite reasonable. There is a convenient minimart too on the resort where I bought stock for our packed lunches to the beach.

We really enjoyed the quaint beach with rock alcoves adjacent to our hotel and even enjoyed the walk to and from the beach (kids had back packs to help carry their buckets and spades etc). Takes about 10/12 mins from Alfagar II round the Alfagar I resort with spectacular views. The stairs down the cliff are spaced out so wasn't too taxing.

There was nightly kids entertainment and after music usually played for a while which I enjoyed listening to from my balcony whilst the kids slept.

Good local shopping areas a short taxi ride or bus hop away. The old town is worth a visit too. Very helpful staff indeed and good local international doctors too.

All in all we were very happy customers.

MJ from London

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor suite with fab view overlooking pool and sea horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved it here! If wanting a 2bed, make sure you ask for one of the corner ones with the wrap around balconies. Traffic noise was annoying, but it was probably only becuse it is so quiet where we live that it was more noticeable to us. Also the sliding doors to the main bedroom were very noisy, so after getting our baby to sleep of an evening, we then had to spend another 5 minutes sliding the doors ever so slowly back so they didnt wake her up with the noise! great play areas for kids, very clean and fabulous views. The cleaner let herself into our apartment one afternoon tho, and when saw we were there, let herself back out which i thought was very strange. It had already been cleaned and she had no cleaning things with her. all in all, we really enjoyed it here. So much so we came back the following week for another stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spanishwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.6 km away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.7 km away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
2.1 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,437 reviews
1.4 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: €36 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing