We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family hotel in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here in early september and had a great time. Rooms are spotlessly clean and staff are very friendly. I agree with others that All inclusive guests are treated as second class citizens particularly at pool bar. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and waterslides. Food was varied and plenty of choice. Evening entertainment was very poor and would have been better just with background music. Nothing else to do in the area without getting in a taxi and they are hard to find. Fine if you are on all inc but next year it will be self catering only. we would have gone back next year if all inc but not for self catering as the location isnt great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just returned from a lovely week in the Alfagar. We were all inclusive and thought the choice of food was great. Every thing we tried was really tasty especially the meat balls!!! The food is really fresh with plenty of choice, especially in the evening. We were there with our 11month old son and he was made to feel so welcome by all the staff in the restaurant. The cocktails in the red bar are great too (as special every evening). I only have a few negatives, the choice of snacks for all inclusive guests at the pool bar is very poor, after all we have paid up front. The entertainment wasn’t great, but started late so if you wanted peace and quiet - it was great. Also, the bed are extremely Hard!!!
This is an amazingly clean hotel and we couldn’t believe how late some of the cleaners work and bless them they worked really hard keeping the place tidy. If you want a nice relaxing, quiet holiday this complex does all that. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a lovely complex, well recommend.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun on the Balcony, obvisouly you need to be east facing. These rooms (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Myself and my partner have literally just returned from the holiday we stayed for a week all inc. I'll begin with the very few good points about this hotel. The apartments themselves are very nice. They are spacious with a living area, kitchen, bathroom and seperate bedroom. We also had a large balcony overlooking the sea and pool area. The other saving graces are the televisions in the apartment have english channels with sports and bbc and ITV, which believe me you will be grateful of. The last good point is they have san miguel on tap which they serve you in large chalices. And now for the rest. The food is absolutely appalling, it is recycled food day in day out. It is a very small buffet selection. Breakfast isn't too bad as they provide you with an omlette station which is freshly made. Lunch was vile! For example on one tuesday the theme was chinese of a chewy pork in a sweetcorn sauce which later made an appearance on the lunch menu on friday looking over stewed and with a layer of skin forming over it. The lunch consists of recycled uneaten crap from previos night and nuggets and chips and pizza. The dinners were themed every night with chinese, mexican, english etc etc one night they were serving tikka masala with yorkshire puddings!! And suprise suprise although we were in portugal they never served any portugese food!? If you like nuggets and chips for 7 nights a week you will be fine, but if like me and my partner you wanted to try some portugese food I strongly suggest you search elsewhere or go to a restuarant in the old town. The service at the Alfagar is disgraceful for some reason if you are all inc you are treated with a begrudging effort by all the staff like there being good to you by giving you a drink even though they seem to forget you paid £600 for this privilege! Not once did any of the staff make us feel welcome or engaged in any conversation with us or asked us if we was having a nice time. If you asked them for a drink they simply grunted at you and got you a drink.myself and my partner are a young couple in our 20's with no children, and I can say this doesn't bode well for any couples who are young with no children as the staff seem to treat the over 50's and the families with much more respect than us even though we all paid the same!!! I found this particularly rude and discriminative. The entertainment to sum up is sheer tragic, most nights there is nothing at all, no music in the background just the clanking of cutlery and kids crying. And when they do provide entertainment it is karaoke from a man or woman which again is poor. I highly recommend if you do decide to stay at this hotel that you go out and explore what little there is to explore. It costs roughlt 6 euro in a taxi to get to albuefuria and there are some decent restaurants and bars here. Unless your happy to sit round the pool all day, eat nuggets and chips and be bored by the drone of karaoke on the night do not go here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emily2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel was very new and very very clean. The staff were constantly cleaning so it made for a very comfortable stay. We were all inclusive and I have to say that it wasn't a very good idea, we were made to feel that we were getting something for nothing. The pool bar was the main place that you felt like you were not at all important. There were different choices for AI guests, even down to the fact that if you ordered a coffee we got it from a different machine to the paying guests. The food overall was very disappointing but I hear that next year they will not be AI inclusive so I suppose it doesn't matter anyway.

The entertainment was terrible. They had karaoke one night a week and a man and woman singing another night. We had a magician which was awful and a reptile show another night which was so low key you didn't even notice it was there. The other nights there was absolutely nothing, not even any background music. It was very hardgoing of an evening, we have two children, 13 and 10 and if they hadn't made any friends our holiday would have been a nightmare.

This is a very small hotel with only one restaurant and one bar, where you did have to queue to get a drink.

If you are looking for a very quiet holiday in extremely clean surroundings then book this hotel, but if you want a little more from your holiday (a bit of fun and laughter) then do not go here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, big and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here with my Wife, Daughter and Granddaughter in early September and we all had a really great time, nothing really could be faulted. Our one bedroomed apartment was huge and spotless. Spent most of our time around the pool, the beach is lovely but a long trek for a three year old. Meal times were fine with hardly any queuing and the food was good even with my fussy Granddaughter. All staff were pleasant and helpfull but i must mention Carlos & Ricardo who were absolutley wonderfull and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.6 km away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.7 km away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
1.2 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
2.1 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
1.4 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: €22 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing