We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$229
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$281
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$295
US$235
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Solaqua(Albufeira)
US$196
US$157
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
609
391
60
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
391
60
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred barsea viewself cateringindoor poolfootball pitchold townkids clubfamily holidaygreat family hotelsun loungershuge balconyonsite shopmini marketwhole complexpools are greatgreat holidaymin walk
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just returned from a lovely week in the Alfagar. We were all inclusive and thought the choice of food was great. Every thing we tried was really tasty especially the meat balls!!! The food is really fresh with plenty of choice, especially in the evening. We were there with our 11month old son and he was made to feel so welcome by all the staff in the restaurant. The cocktails in the red bar are great too (as special every evening). I only have a few negatives, the choice of snacks for all inclusive guests at the pool bar is very poor, after all we have paid up front. The entertainment wasn’t great, but started late so if you wanted peace and quiet - it was great. Also, the bed are extremely Hard!!!
This is an amazingly clean hotel and we couldn’t believe how late some of the cleaners work and bless them they worked really hard keeping the place tidy. If you want a nice relaxing, quiet holiday this complex does all that. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a lovely complex, well recommend.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun on the Balcony, obvisouly you need to be east facing. These rooms (although the face a partially constructed hotel that was never worked on while we where there) are also shielded from the entertainment noise at the complex. South facing look over the main complex including pool / bar. West ones get the late eveing sun and aer also shielded by noise (the hotel is almost a W shape)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Myself and my partner have literally just returned from the holiday we stayed for a week all inc. I'll begin with the very few good points about this hotel. The apartments themselves are very nice. They are spacious with a living area, kitchen, bathroom and seperate bedroom. We also had a large balcony overlooking the sea and pool area. The other saving graces are the televisions in the apartment have english channels with sports and bbc and ITV, which believe me you will be grateful of. The last good point is they have san miguel on tap which they serve you in large chalices. And now for the rest. The food is absolutely appalling, it is recycled food day in day out. It is a very small buffet selection. Breakfast isn't too bad as they provide you with an omlette station which is freshly made. Lunch was vile! For example on one tuesday the theme was chinese of a chewy pork in a sweetcorn sauce which later made an appearance on the lunch menu on friday looking over stewed and with a layer of skin forming over it. The lunch consists of recycled uneaten crap from previos night and nuggets and chips and pizza. The dinners were themed every night with chinese, mexican, english etc etc one night they were serving tikka masala with yorkshire puddings!! And suprise suprise although we were in portugal they never served any portugese food!? If you like nuggets and chips for 7 nights a week you will be fine, but if like me and my partner you wanted to try some portugese food I strongly suggest you search elsewhere or go to a restuarant in the old town. The service at the Alfagar is disgraceful for some reason if you are all inc you are treated with a begrudging effort by all the staff like there being good to you by giving you a drink even though they seem to forget you paid £600 for this privilege! Not once did any of the staff make us feel welcome or engaged in any conversation with us or asked us if we was having a nice time. If you asked them for a drink they simply grunted at you and got you a drink.myself and my partner are a young couple in our 20's with no children, and I can say this doesn't bode well for any couples who are young with no children as the staff seem to treat the over 50's and the families with much more respect than us even though we all paid the same!!! I found this particularly rude and discriminative. The entertainment to sum up is sheer tragic, most nights there is nothing at all, no music in the background just the clanking of cutlery and kids crying. And when they do provide entertainment it is karaoke from a man or woman which again is poor. I highly recommend if you do decide to stay at this hotel that you go out and explore what little there is to explore. It costs roughlt 6 euro in a taxi to get to albuefuria and there are some decent restaurants and bars here. Unless your happy to sit round the pool all day, eat nuggets and chips and be bored by the drone of karaoke on the night do not go here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emily2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel was very new and very very clean. The staff were constantly cleaning so it made for a very comfortable stay. We were all inclusive and I have to say that it wasn't a very good idea, we were made to feel that we were getting something for nothing. The pool bar was the main place that you felt like you were not at all important. There were different choices for AI guests, even down to the fact that if you ordered a coffee we got it from a different machine to the paying guests. The food overall was very disappointing but I hear that next year they will not be AI inclusive so I suppose it doesn't matter anyway.

The entertainment was terrible. They had karaoke one night a week and a man and woman singing another night. We had a magician which was awful and a reptile show another night which was so low key you didn't even notice it was there. The other nights there was absolutely nothing, not even any background music. It was very hardgoing of an evening, we have two children, 13 and 10 and if they hadn't made any friends our holiday would have been a nightmare.

This is a very small hotel with only one restaurant and one bar, where you did have to queue to get a drink.

If you are looking for a very quiet holiday in extremely clean surroundings then book this hotel, but if you want a little more from your holiday (a bit of fun and laughter) then do not go here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, big and clean
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here with my Wife, Daughter and Granddaughter in early September and we all had a really great time, nothing really could be faulted. Our one bedroomed apartment was huge and spotless. Spent most of our time around the pool, the beach is lovely but a long trek for a three year old. Meal times were fine with hardly any queuing and the food was good even with my fussy Granddaughter. All staff were pleasant and helpfull but i must mention Carlos & Ricardo who were absolutley wonderfull and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Alfagar ll from August 17th - 1st Sept, and we found it was a great hotel.
The rooms are huge, clean and modern with a seperate bedroom, and the children slept in the lounge area on two seperate sofa beds.
The food was varied, and there was always something nice to eat. They had themed nights ranging from Mexican-Italian, also there was always a carvery. I found breakfast and luch to be the best meals.
The pool was lovely, and the children enjoyed the waterslides, and indoor pool.
The only downside of the holiday was the evening entainment, or lack of it! It was repetive and poor, ranging from Karoake to parrot/reptile to bad singers.
Next year the hotel is not all inclusive, it's only half board or bed and breakfast. I noticed that there are a couple of supermarkets in the area, but hardly any restaurants,(in walking distance) so you could be stuck for choice of where to eat..
We done a few trips, I can recommend Zoomarine,a great dolphin park. and the 4x4 Jeep safari. We also went to Aquashow, which is a theme park/waterpark. This park was very busy approx 1 hour wait per ride. We found the waterslides dated, and I feel this day out wasn't value for money.
All in all it was a great hotel, and we would go back but a shame it won't be all inclusive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelalewis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews