We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$356
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
LuxuryCollection
US$356
View deal
travelup.com
US$255
View deal
Expedia.comUS$355
Hotels.comUS$355
eDreamsUS$356
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
106
37
35
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
37
35
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corda cafe bedroom ocean suite champagne bar serenity spa status recognition f b o grill golf suites second home coffee machine well equipped kitchen hotel bar relaxing holiday pools toothbrush portugal relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Room, park and reception staff first class.
Except for a hole in a shower wall.
Perceived negatively:
Only 1 restaurant open. At Christmas time, a house of that rank should be able to afford more than one restaurant opening, even with low occupancy.
Unglamorous on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day, no festivity.
Room service too slow. We have waited "forever".
On the day of departure, unfortunately, there was no more the usual morning bag of water, even though we would have needed it.

Room tip: Ocean View, floor on top
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrHaihs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021


Dear DrHaihs,

Firstly, we would like to wish you a Happy New Year!

We would like to express our gratitude for the time taken to share with us your experience at the Pine Cliffs Resort.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the resort, accommodation and especially the service provided by front desk associates, thank you for your compliments, which will be shared with the team. We value your comments as it gives the opportunity to do Improvements and therefore, your comments regarding the restaurants at Christmas time and the room service were immediately shared with the management.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and for sharing with the Tripadvisor community.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in future.

Best wishes
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Is like a little town where you can do everything, from golf, spa, beach, restaurants... the hotel has everything. Special mention to Rui Brito for organizing our stay! The best the mirador for sunset and the spa is amazing, thanks to Vanesa from the spa she made the day of my girlfriend.

Date of stay: October 2020
2  Thank abcde026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Dear abcde026,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time taken to share you experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are glad our resort facilities have fulfilled all your needs as we are committed to exceed our dear guest’s expectations. Thank you for your kind comments!
We highly appreciate your compliments towards Rui Brito and Vanesa as they motivate us more to keep the hard work and dedication towards our customers.

We hope to host you again at our beautiful resort next time your travels bring you back to Albufeira.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Our 3rd time staying at Pine Cliffs... we jumped a quick trip when UK relaxes restrictions.

Located 30 minutes from Faro Airport, Pine Cliffs is a welcome luxury compound, almost a Leisure city.

The resort is observing a high level of Covid-19 protocols with masks required inside and all staff masked and cleaning. My family and I felt exceptionally comfortable/ safe.

The pools are still great, the spa is top notch and the many restaurants still serving great food. Prices are what you would expect for a luxury resort (8€ a beer) but the supermarket just before the resort can give you a chance to stock up on some basics and save a little cash.

Hotel staff are warm and helpful. In particular Julia at the front desk of Ocean Suites was externally helpful when we had to make some last minute changes to our logistics. This is the first class service you expect.

The property is Beautiful, the beach picturesque (and social distanced)... but if you are reading about Pine Cliffs you already know that.

This resort is still top class and highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DukeofNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Dear DukeofNewYork

It’s truly heartening to receive your feedback on Pine cliffs Resort, and we are so grateful to you for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you and your family felt comfortable and safe in our resort, especially during this unusual time.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Your comments are absolutely wonderful and they certainly award our main intent to provide the best stay ever to all our guests. We will surely share your valuable comments with our team in order to inspire them to keep their good work. Your compliments towards our Front Office Supervisor Julia are highly appreciated. Thank you!

We look forward to serve you again whenever your travels bring you to Albufeira.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020 via mobile

We are currently staying at the PC Ocean Suites celebrating our wedding anniversary.

First and foremost, the property is BEAUTIFUL. It's huge and the gardens are second to none. Same goes for the coastal location. The cliffs are stunning, the sunset beautiful. Everything is very well maintained. It's not crowded at all at this time of the year.

Still, the Pine Cliffs Resort manages to stay way below the expectations it cteates, considering it's sold as a "Luxury Collection" property and me having stayed at many of these during my travels.

Check-In was smooth, we only had to wait some minutes. Despite having booked a rate with an upgrade *and* being Bonvoy Platinum members, we received the exact room we booked. Although all categories were still available to book for our entire stay. But I know from my travels that Bonvoy status recognition isn't that great - so no offense taken.

The room is sold as a "Junior Suite" but honestly is just a regular double room for European standards. It's rather new, clean and in good condition. The bed is great! The finishing touches seem a bit cheap however, more like Melia or Moxy brand, especially in the bathroom. Same holds true for the whole Ocean Suites building. Maybe it's for Covid-19 reasons but it seems very sterile.

A true letdown however is the service rendered, in basically EVERY part of the experience unfortunately. My experience every day is that guests are a bothering factor to (most) associates and for sure to the management. Pine Cliffs consistently manages to get all the details wrong. I would be happy to say this only due to Covid-19, but my impression is that it's a structural problem after having experienced GREAT hospitality in many outlets around the Pine Cliffs.

Most F&B outlets of the resort are closed due to Covid-19. That's OK. Not OK is that the information they provide on
the "What to expect" website upfront is incorrect. Many outlets listed as being open there simply aren't during our stay like the Steak House or Clubhouse or Pool Bars. Those who are available offer mediocre service. I consistently have the impression to be a disturbing factor. The quality of food is not bad at all but price/value ratio is in total disproportion. The drinks are very good and priced fair though - but it's hard to get any if not during a meal. The "El Mirador" is a gem and the team was super friendly but that's about it.

The breakfast experience is hard to bear. Honestly. It's NOWHERE near any five star experience from choice of food or setting or service. Sure, many guests make it hard for any associate to stay positive with their "attitude" and Covid-19, yes, but we are missing many standards like waffles, fruit salads, fresh produce, juices or other basics. Again, the atmosphere is like staying at a Moxy for business.

Pool service is not offered at all. Despite stating otherwise in Pine Cliff's own app. You can grab your own drinks at Corda Cafe but that's it. Pools are technically open till 8pm. Sunbeds are removed and collected at 4pm already however which spoils any relaxation.

Sunbeds and service by the beach are not offered due to "weather conditions". It's 27° perfect sunshine blue skies. The beds at the top of Maré Beach Club are not available for rent for no reason although stated to be open until October. Maré also closes down at 6pm so there's no sundowner to be enjoyed by the beach.

Towels are rationed seriously. I got a "towel card" which limits me to one towel at a time. Additional "cards" which would entitle me to more towels to dry after a dip in the (non heated) pools come at a 20€ non-refundable fee. That's nowhere near a luxury experience at all.

I will be happy to update this review in case anything should improve but after the first five days the Pine Cliffs is not on my list to return to. A nice property is simply not enough if its hospitality does not live up to the promise.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank passportandpalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Dear passportandpalmtree,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for addressing your comments and suggestions, and for having taken the time to adress them personnaly to our Food and Beverage manager while staying with us.

Once again, thank you, and available to assist you whenever you wish.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

Let’s be honest, 2020 is not the year to expect perfection if you are fortunate enough to get away. We have just come back from 10 days at Pinecliffs - 3 at the Ocean Suites and 7 in the Golf apartments. It was lovely to see some familiar faces in the staff team and everyone was doing a fantastic job to keep everyone safe and happy in these difficult Covid times. As regular visitors it would be easy to talk about the things that we missed (zest, O’Grill, the hotel bar to name a few) but it’s better to focus on what we enjoyed and that was a relaxing break in the sun which felt 90% normal. This was down to the great effort by the staff working hard to support guests in the most challenging year and I struggle with some of the negative comments I read here. We experienced great service, great food and a truly relaxing break. We didn’t enjoy waiting for a table at the beautiful Mirador but surely that’s to be expected with social distancing and keeping everyone safe? We never waited more than 15 minutes and as always it was worth it for the beautiful location and drinks, all served in the cleanest environment with a smile. The garden service was also great and the new Pinecliffs Eats a fantastic addition - thanks Rute and the team It would be great to see this initiative again next year too. All in all, we feel fortunate to have enjoyed a lovely holiday and also to support Pinecliffs at what must be a different time. Well done everyone and we look forward to seeing you next year - hopefully without the masks

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ahotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuela Malveiro, Guest Services / Front Office at Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Dear Ahotelguest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your loyalty and for the time taken to share with us your experience at the Pine Cliffs Resort.

We are pleased to learn that our efforts to provide you with a pleasant and safe stay were truly appreciated, despite all the challenges that we are facing with the current situation. Thank you for your kindness, it is very rewarding to receive such praise!

We are delighted to learn that our new Pine Cliffs Eats service was up to your liking and we will make sure that your nice compliments about Rute and her team will be passed along all the team.

It will be an honor to welcome you back next year - hopefully without the masks!

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews