We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
12
11
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
11
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews furnishings property suite bed city
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Positives:
1) Central
2) Character
3) Well priced (€75,00)
4) Internet available everywhere, even in the courtyard

Negatives:
1) Breakfast.......
2) Nice old gentleman, but maybe a touch intrusive.
3) Not knowing that you have to ring a doorbell to get attention, and don't ring it before 2 pm as Frank must be having his siesta, and he was not a happy cat as we rang it at 1:30 PM, but this changed later on when we arrived at 3 pm

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wolfing49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Two couples visited for one night, one receiving an en-suite with two single beds and the other an ensuite with a double bed and parlour. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms well fitted out but not luxurious. There are two sets of stairs (no elevator) to reach the bedrooms.The location is central within the walled town, and although metred parking was easy to find very close to the property that may not be the case at the height of the tourist season. The property was hard to find because there is minimal signage, simply a small brass plate mounted high on the wall, and it is necessary to ring the door bell to alert the proprietor of your arrival. Breakfast was a minimal 'continental' with the cheese and cold meat seemingly counted out as rations per person. The proprietor 'hovers' around the breakfast table, even commenting to one of our group how little he had eaten! Mosquitos buzzed us all night, and revelry in the streets was disturbing into the early morning hours. We enjoyed this hotel because of its location, history, fascinating and eccentric antique furnishings, and strong WiFi (free). We found the proprietor a bit intrusive, but others might find the interaction a bonus. It is good value, and we would recommend it if you have read the reviews and understand what you are getting.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaCassaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The property is very well located, being very close to the centre of Evora. There is limited garage parking available by phoning in advance. The host is a very hospitable and you get a real sense of welcome from the gentleman, who also owns the property. The property is charming with a real sense of history, we choose a suite which was spacious and clearly reflected the splendour of the past. Breakfast was tasty and I ordered a boiled egg that was freshly cooked each morning. An enjoyable stay with a good host.

Room Tip: We choose a suite , it was very spacious with bath,shower and twin washbasins.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 77surrey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

This hotel is a lot of fun. The owner has lots of stories about his family. Interesting furnishings and great location. The hotel is a little shabby, worn carpets,stained shower curtain but still a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I chose this hotel because the pictures showed the local culture in the furniture and details and it got generally good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is a site in its own right. As others have noted, it is in a very old, family-owned house that the owner will be happy to tell you about. It has the patina of an old home. The furniture is antique and gracious. The bathrooms are marble, and showing a little age but well cared for. I slept well in the bed, better than in many more modern hotels. But the real plus of staying here is a sense of being in the community, not set apart from it. I saw the owner next door, kidding with a waiter, and walking down the street. The location cannot be beat,just up a side street from Praca de Giraldo and another short jaunt to the Roman baths, the Temple of Diana and the Catedral. And he steered me to three excellent restaurants I did not find on Trip Advisor or other sites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaye1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews