We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
551
312
107
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
312
107
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman temple monk's cells beautiful cloister claw foot tub shower curtain sitting room converted convent breakfast and dinner public areas are historic hotel rooms are small recommend staying here orange trees perfect location superior room parked our car no elevator
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

In the middle of the old town, historic convent building renovated as a hotel! Comfortable, but remember that it is not new five stars hotel. The bedroom is small, the shower is tight, if you get a suite the living room has plenty of space and a beautifully decorated ceiling! If you are used to a conventional hotel, this hotel is not for you! Restaurant just Ok.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rachelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

My wife and I recently returned from a twelve day driving tour of Portugal that was booked by the Tours For You company. Along the way we stayed at six different Pousadas for two nights each. The Pousadas we choose included the Pousadas de Lisboa, The Convento de Evora, Mosteiro do Crato, De Santa Marinha Guimaraes, Hotel Vintage Porto and the Castelo de Obidos. We picked these hotels specifically because of their historical significance in history and the experience of staying in former castles, convent and monasteries. With the exception of the Pousada Convento de Evora all of the above provided exceptional reception, service, food and a qualify room of a historical nature.

I would like to share our terrible experience at the Pousada Convento de Evora to prevent this from happening to fellow travelers. Please note we are experienced travelers. We arrived at the Pousada Convento de Evora on October 6 around 1:30 pm. The room was not ready and reception suggested we have lunch at their restaurant. This was the start of our problems. The restaurant was full but we were given one of the last available tables. The person who served us was lthe restaurant manager. He was rude, no help in selecting food or wine and never returned to our table to ask how things were or to ask if we needed anything else. He had to redo the bill to reflect the Pestana discount even though we showed him our card at the beginning. The food was good an our bill totaled 68.40 euros.

When we return at 3:30 we were shown to our room. We had booked one of the four Standard Suites. The room was actually in the entrance hall directly opposite the reception. I went back to reception and asked if this was actually one of the Standard Suites and they said it was. It had little windows and looked more like a Holiday Inn then a Pousada. There was constant noise from the hallway and the tourists marched outside our wall. I was expecting a room that resembled their website description “The cells, which have been converted into cosy, modern and comfortable rooms, retain some historical points from other bygone eras”

We were never shown any other rooms and only after walking around the facility did we see the rooms in the Pousada that we should have had. The next day I spoke with the reception manager and asked about getting another room and described how horrible Room #9 was. She didn’t have anything to say except all other rooms were taken and I would have to wait until after 2:00 pm to see if another room if available. We went out to the town and returned at 2:00 pm. The lobby was full of people and no one left a message or said anything about changing rooms. Our room had been cleaned but trash was not emptied and with no new toilet paper. . I called the front desk to tell them of the situation. This room also had many small flying bugs which may have come from the sewage problem close to the hotel. This so called room should never be rented to anyone without them seeing it first. It is a disgrace that we had to spend two nights there at the expensive rate charged.

Two other things of note. First, on both days there were a bus load of OAT travelers numbering 30-40 who literally took over the hotel and the restaurant. This is one of the larger Pousadas so they can accommodate this group but other tourists will suffer.
Second, I did contact the Operations Manager of this hotel and also wrote to the Pestana group with no response. Was not able to upload pictures of our room in the lobby to this site.

Room tip: Do not let them give you room #9.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 115degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We have been to a number of different Pousadas and this one the staff went the extra mile to help, the young man on the reception desk even took our luggage to the room with out asking. The rooms are old cells of the monks, so quite small, but very comfortable. Breakfast was fine, the same as the other Pousadas

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coopper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

We stayed in Pousada Convento de Evora our first night in Portugal. It was a perfect welcome to the country. The staff was very helpful with our luggage. The suite was huge, comfortable and gorgeous. We loved it!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank rannm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Staff were friendly and helpful. Disappointed with the room which was claimed to be a family room but it came with two single beds with claim that a third bed could be supplied but that would have been a bit cramped to say the least. The location was however good with loads of interesting places to visit and also good restaurants to eat at.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Excursion14304105312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews