We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the countryside!”
Review of De Steenen Haene

De Steenen Haene
Ranked #13 of 134 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We were a party of three: two of us visiting from Canada and one a resident of Belgium who booked us here on the recommendation of her friend. It was a lovely evening so the host (owner) suggested we have our cocktail on the patio outside by the garden. Such a lovely suggestion! When our meal was ready we were led to our table inside where a wonderful Belgian feast awaited. We had ordered some Belgian specialties which were delicious but in addition to that, they produce on site almost everything they prepare in the kitchen. So everything had the additional flavour of "local" farm-to-table.
The owner/hosts are (rightfully) extremely proud of their restaurant and have published a book (in Flemish) with many of their recipes, photos etc.
This restaurant is located about a 5 minute drive outside of Ieper (Ypres) and is well worth it. The countryside is beautiful and - what's 5 minutes??

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We visited De Steenen Haene whilst staying for a few nights at B&B Vijverhuis, Zillebeke. Having gone past a few times we decided to make a booking for our last evening meal in the area. Having looked at the menu I thought it looked a little pricey, but decided to book all the same. I'm pleased to say we were certainly not disappointed!

We decided not to have starters as we had had a picnic during the afternoon. All four of our party ordered rib of beef for our main - medium to rare. We also ordered a bottle of house white and house red. Very nice indeed!

Whilst we were awaiting our meal, we were first brought an appetiser of lovely bruschetta with cream cheese and a finely chopped tomato salad. Then, as the chef started to grill our succulent beef on the open fire in front of our table, we were provided with a really nice in-house made pate, puffed pastry pin wheels and air dried ham. We were really pleased that we hadn't ordered a starter!

Service and attention to our needs was exceptional!

When our rib of beef arrived, it had been cooked perfectly, certainly to our liking and sliced to show a smokey outside with succulent pink meat - served with crispy chips and salad. We really enjoyed our meal and would certainly recommend this dish to other meat lovers.

Whilst the bill, including coffees and drinks for four persons came to around £200, we might have thought it a little expensive. However, the pre-drinks, appetisers, wine, beef and level of service were excellent, we certainly felt that this had been a very special evening out and well worth the price we paid.

Thank you to all at De Steenen Haene!

We will certainly call again in the future.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank GarryCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

A beautiful restaurant just outside the town of Ieper in a wonderful setting.
A warm welcome upon you arrival and shown to your table in a well laid out
and pleasant restaurant.
The staff were very pleasant and attentive to all your requirements.
Excellent food and very well presented so congratulations to the chef.
A good selection of various foods to suit all tastes.
This was a very impressive and enjoyable evening.
We certainly will be returning again in the near future .
Thank You

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobierita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Excellent restaurant with extensive menu and a wide choice of selection of wines and drinks. I would recommend it strongly when you are visiting Ieper as it is worth the little trip.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank karelblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I had a business dinner with Kiwanis Ieper. Fantastic Flemish menu: steak béarnaise, pommes frites and salad, good wine. Exquisite taste. Lady of the house, the chef and staf as usual high professional standard, giving you a posh feeling. We had dinner in the bigger restaurant room with all equipment available for a presentation. High standard interior with a huge chimney depicting wood carved hunting theme, one feels back in time in first class restaurant. This is a fine restaurant, well known by locals. If you are looking for a place with high standard menu and for value for money outside Ieper center, this is a place to go.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank conrad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Steenen Haene also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Steenen Haene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing