We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steaks”

Restaurant Captain Cook
Reserve with
Restaurant Captain Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 129 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The restaurant is bright and clean. The staff are very friendly.
The main reason for my review is the steak! Wow, amazing.
Don't be put off by the slightly 'immature' decor, the food and staff are great

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear mr. Tim,

thank you soo much for this fantastic comment. We appreciate it :)

Looking forward to see you back ☺️

Kind regards,
Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We were looking for a veggie/vegan restaurant in Ypres for our daughter's birthday meal and came across the Captain Cook. We certainly were not disappointed in any respect. We booked a table at short notice, the restaurant was a very short walk from the Menin Gate and the staff could not do enough for us to make the evening a success. The choice of food was excellent and well presented and not too expensive. All in all we would definitely revisit this restaurant and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is visiting Ypres. They also had other food for non vegetarians.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Well hello..

So glad to read this fantastic comment..
Thanks a lot for your appreciation,
we did this absolutly with the bottom of our heart.

I wanted to say something to you all on this evening but unfortunatly i didn't had the chance because i had a lot of work to do.
When i saw you all, sitting and laugh together, talking and enjoying your evening.
A warm and kind family, woww... i was a bit touched because this lovely mood of you all.

Stay like this, you are such a wonderful family ❤️

Thanks to visit us and again mang thanks for this amazing comment..
Send my regards to them..

Happy New Year ☺️

Kind regards,
Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is an ideal place to eat after watching the Last Post ceremony. We were able to book on the night (in December) and food is very good. The staff and kitchen are well used and organised to cope with the nightly 8.15 rush and are very friendly.

Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Dear mr. Peter,

thank you so much for the fantastic compliments ☺️

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stumbled in to Captains Cooks as it was the first restaurant we came to after parking the car by the city walls. We were not disapointed. The food was nice and reasonably priced. Many diners had checked in for an earlier meal so they could be finished in time to walk up to the Menin Gate for the Last Post Ceromony at 8pm.
The restuarant is on the main street half way between the Cloth Hall and the Menin Gate, making it ideally placed for an after dinner walk either way.

Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear customer,

i want to thank you for your kind comment and compliments.

Looking forward to see you back ;)

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

A good restaurant which in my experience delivered the best Flemish stew. Other dishes were well received by the rest of the family.

Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear mr. Alan,

thank you so much for your friendly comment :)
I'm very glad because you loved our Flemish stew, and your family enjoyed their meal as well..

Looking forward to see you back..

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Captain Cook also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing