We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ethelhild...
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of wonderful room, super clean, only a few blocks from Ypres square, must stay here if in the area. The owners went the extra mile when we needed help with our rental car. Lovely old building but modern everything with lots of hot water for showers. There are steps to walk up to the bedrooms but that was not a problem for us. Very convenient to shops, restaurants and bakeries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, clean, room, owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jansalway...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Merveilleux!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well what a gem! Photos don't show the vast space abacus house has to offer! The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and believe me I'm fussy! Beds so comfortable were close to being put on my roof rack (if I had one! :-) lol) There is everything you need to self cater! I can honestly say this is the nicest house I have ever stayed in, very homely! But if that wasn't enough, Menin gate and Flanders museum along with the beautiful market square just a few minutes walk! Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely owners Johan and Christine, I can't thank them enough for making my 50th birthday weekend unforgettable! Thank you Johan!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannyjill...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in central location”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I, together with our husbands, have just returned from taking our 85 year old mum on a trip to Ypres. In view of her age, we felt a private house would suit us far more than a hotel. We were not wrong. Abacus House was centrally located and in easy walking distance to the Menin Gate, the shops, bars , restaurants and Cloth Hall (in Flanders Fields museum). The house itself contained everything you could possibly need. The rooms were well furnished and decorated. The bathrooms were huge. The kitchen well stocked with equipment. We took some of our own provisions so we could make our own breakfasts and picnic lunches (most of the sites/museums did not have cafés). Tyne Cot and Paschendale museums were our favourites. I would give Hill 62 a miss (unless like us you wished to see Sanctuary Wood). It's privately owned and not good value for money. In all, a wonderful trip and a fabulous house. N.B. Our deposit was returned to our bank before we had even arrived home. Thanks to the owner, Johan, who was extremely helpful before and during our visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beth_char...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful House - Perfect”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here at the end of November for a long weekend with a large group of family aged from 21-79. We've been to Ieper a few times before but this was the first time staying in Abacus House and it was lovely. The house is beautiful, well furnished and was a great base for our trip - the bathrooms and bedrooms are stunning.
The location is perfect, about a 3 minute walk to the main square in Ieper where there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We didn't cook whilst we were there but the house had everything you needed and more for you to cook and the Belgium beer left in the fridge ready for your arrival was a lovely touch. Parking was also easy, with Johan giving us tips on where to park if you the space in front of the house wasn't free. Johan and Christine ensured we had everything we needed for a lovely weekend and could not have been more helpful. Can't find anything to fault with Abacus House, it was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smacHull
hull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“elegant town house”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and three friends stayed in Abacus House for three nights whilst cycling to the First World War cemeteries and memorials in the Ypres area. We found it to be very comfortable and well decorated with all the facilities you would need. Whilst we did no cooking, everything you would need is available all of which are modern and clean. The location is perfect, being in the centre of town within a 2 minute walk of The Menin Gate and the main square. Our bikes were stored in a secure courtyard to the back of the house.. outside but no real problem in Summer. Perfect for families or groups of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house and location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing